We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

1 River Central Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
1 River Central Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 1 River Central Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 50: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Hostel is good for budget travellers. Rooms are ok, aircondition works well, bathrooms are clean. Hot water is available which is a bonus. Breakfast is included which is okey too. Staff are all helpful and quite friendly. If the owner of the hotel, spend more money in fixing the lounge area at the rooftop, then I think, the hostel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank 3801divina
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future. The rooftop has already been fixed after your review. More 

Charly-Sur-Marne, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Its great home far away from home,i feel comfortable in this hostel,i always stay in this hostel whenever i go in manila,i think i stayed here 7 times and i really like this place.Friendly staffs ,last time i stay here with my little daughter, free breakfast and wifi..stay in this hostel and u will feel like home.. merci

Helpful?
Thank Billois_M
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future. More 

San Fernando, La Union, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My original plan is to stay just for 4 days but I never felt so home that's why i keep extending my stay for a total of 9 days...I give excellent rating first on the location its very accessible and very near to places that I wanna visit.Second is the staff, they let me feel so at home, very friendly,warm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miz A
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

i stayed there at 3 days and it was awesome and very nice hostel, they has friendly staff, good room and you will having fun of being a guest because you will meet other people that you make a memory that you will miss it so much.....:) and if you are a first timer in Manila, the staff will accompany... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mahadera Q
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future. Looking forward to hearing your wonderful voice again. More 

Beijing, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I feel strange that the ratings were so nice there. I stayed for 1 night. So noisy in the room and a 4-bed room only supplied one plug. How the guys charge their electronic products???On the other hand, the air condition was controlled by the staff, it was so cold at night but I cannot change the temperture.

Helpful?
Thank Summer F
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. It is unfortunate that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. probably due to language barriers. As for the aircon you could have at least advise us cause we would certainly lower the temperature for you. More 

Makati, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I'm staying here till a few days, very nice hostel , friendly staff, good room with fresh air con and comfortable bed! Good to meet people from everywhere and filipinos, share cultures, and have fun ! Not far from Rockwell center, and the shopping market, and traditionnal places of Makati. Good little experience after one year in Australia and before... More 

Helpful?
Thank Camile C
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future. More 

cebu
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed there for 4 days and it was awesome, from the airport you take the shuttle bus and drop off to the Taff station at the back of Mcdonald and walk up straight to take MRT for 12 pesos only, drop off at guadalupe station, and exit to the right side going to Guadalupe, at the back of Jollibee... More 

Helpful?
Thank cebugadie
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Cool Place,good service and facilities.All staff friendly and have service mind.Good for value of money.Next time at Manila i will stay here. Location close to MRT Guadalope. can walk to Makati area in 10 minute.

Helpful?
Thank T2Ubangkok
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Good place, close to the city center, good service and complete facilities :) When i stayed here i met some new friends from other country that was very happy and fun! This place near to the mall and also to MRT station, so if you guys will be going to Philippines and confused to find some inn or hostel, 1... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChiniJuanda
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future. Im glad you met some new friends in our hostel that is one of the nice thing in staying in a hostel. More 

Davao City, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed at the hostel for 5 days and it was like home away from home and even better, seriously. They entertain/accommodate their guests very well, especially the sweet and friendly ate Lourdes, the fun and bubbly Juan and most of all the fierce yet charming ate Hilda. :) The rooms where clean and it has a private curtain for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ohmissyoung
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future. More 

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
1.2 km away
Red Planet Makati, Manila
1.2 km away
Lokal Hostel
Lokal Hostel
#8 of 46 in Makati
65 reviews
1.2 km away
Our Awesome Hostel
Our Awesome Hostel
#9 of 46 in Makati
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Our Melting Pot
Our Melting Pot
#3 of 46 in Makati
299 reviews
1.1 km away
Z Hostel
Z Hostel
#1 of 46 in Makati
274 reviews
1.3 km away
MNL Boutique Hostel
MNL Boutique Hostel
#4 of 46 in Makati
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
1 River Central is a new 22 bed backpacker hostel in between the lively city life of Makati and the mighty water of the Pasig River. Highly accessible from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 1River Central is just a 20 minute taxi ride away. This 4-story hostel has 5 cozy shared-bedrooms for 4-6 guests in each room. Bathrooms are shared in each floor. Rooms generally split men from women but special arrangements may be allowed if booking the entire room. Each bed has its own safety deposit box and a cabinet that can fit a backpack. 1 River Central offers free WI-FI and free breakfast to all its guests. From 1River Central one can explore the city in so many ways as taxis, jeepneys, buses and the Metro Railway Station are just a few minutes away from your doorstep.• 5 minutes walk from Rockwell’s Power Plant mall one can find a mix of specialty brands, both international and local, a supermarket, lifestyle retailers, specialty boutiques, themed restaurants and state-of-the-art cinemas. • 5 minute taxi ride will bring you to Greenbelt, a three-hectare park punctuated by cascading landscapes and carefully-chosen water features re-imagines the typical mall with a roster of prominent and world-class retailers, restaurateurs and entertainment operators.• 15 minute drive is Greenhills Shopping Centre, a mecca for discerning shoppers. Bargain hunters can have a shopping galore experience from clothes, shoes, electronics, accessories, home wares and many more.• 5 minute taxi ride is Makati Avenue where night life never stops until the wee hours of the morning. • 5 minutes by jeep is the depot for the Pasig River ferry that can bring guests to Old Manila/Chinatown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1 River Central Hostel

Address: 1109 J.P. Rizal | Guadalupe Viejo, Makati, Luzon 1121, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Price Range: €9 - €21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 1 River Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 River Central Hostel Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 1 River Central Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from 1 River Central Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not sure as I did not really see all the rooms, stayed in a room with 2 bunk bed, its good,aircon works well”
 of 5 bubbles 3801divina, 7 Sep 2013 | Read review
“rooms at 2nd and 3rd floor are nice and spacious..”
 of 5 bubbles miza2013, 9 Aug 2013 | Read review
“everything are perfect. Just bring your own towel”
  • inside of the bed space room
 of 5 bubbles cebugadie, 20 Jun 2013 | Read review
“all rooms have A/C with private curtain.”
 of 5 bubbles T2Ubangkok, 20 Apr 2013 | Read review
“the rooms in the second floor was great and rooftop was so relaxing at night :)”
 of 5 bubbles missingPnasoMuch, 16 Sep 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay