We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Skaneateles Inn on 20

Booking.comUS$112*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Skaneateles Inn on 20
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Start your review of Skaneateles Inn on 20
 Click to rate
Thetford Center, Vermont
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Inviting, unobtrusive and practical lodging when visiting Auburn, Skaneateles and the eastern Finger Lakes region of central New York state. Returning for fourth time this July. Quiet, yet conveinently located near Skaneateles and Owasco lakes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BicycleDay
Ottawa
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We quite liked our stay at the Inn on 20. It was charming, cozy, and had really friendly, accommodating staff. Though there's not much to the motel, I can attest that the beds are quite comfortable, the rooms are warm, and there's even a little food put out in the rooms to greet guests when they arrive. We found reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorthernWanderlust
Susan D, Owner at Skaneateles Inn on 20, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review for us. We hope to see you again soon! Sue

Foxboro, Massachusetts
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We booked a few nights for a winter getaway to Skaneateles - thrilled with this small Inn just a few moments from downtown. The room was spacious, with attention given to the small details. We found our room to be very clean, quiet and really just what we needed for our romantic getaway! We spent time shopping and relaxing downtown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelSue1122
Susan D, Owner at Skaneateles Inn on 20, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and your time in our beautiful area. Winter is a perfect time to come to Skaneateles and the Finger Lakes....it is beautiful yet not busy, and you get the benefit of off season rates. Hope to see you again! Sue

Fort Mill, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Let me start with the pillows...BEST PILLOWS EVER...along with a very comfortable King mattress!!! In addition, there was a lovely basket of snacks and fruit in our room which was just perfect after a long drive. Sue Dove, the owner and innkeeper, was wonderful and helped make sure that we had everything we needed as we had a busy schedule...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ritatrenti410
Susan D, Owner at Skaneateles Inn on 20, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! A good night's sleep is so important when you are traveling. I am glad you were comfortable. Thanks again for staying with us!

Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We were in Auburn for a banquet and awards dinner . We called ahead for two rooms and one with s small dog. We did pay extra for the dog. The rooms were clean, warm, and welcoming. Staff was very helpful. Rates are very fair. The location was great, and some it is right on Rte 20, very easy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K F
Susan D, Owner at Skaneateles Inn on 20, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Inn. We find more and more people are traveling with their pets. We are glad to have them, and have a big back and front yard to let them run. We do have to charge a fee for the pet due to the extra work of super cleaning...

Andover, MN
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I recently drove my daughter from MN to NH for an internship. We left on New Year's weekend and planned to stop two nights along the way. The second night we planned to stay at the Skaneateles Inn on 20, to avoid the traffic on Hwy 90 and see more of NY. However, the traffic during the weekend was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gibbscorner
Susan D, Owner at Skaneateles Inn on 20, responded to this review

I am sorry you are disappointed with our cancellation policy. However, it is clearly stated on our website and in our confirmation letter that we have a 48 hour cancellation policy. I appreciate that you try to patronize small businesses. However, being a small business I try very hard to treat all my customers fairly. I hope you can understand...

Oswego, New York
Reviewed 16 December 2016

We were there for an overnight for a wedding and looking for a "nice" place but reasonable price I found the Inn on 20 and gave them a call. The staff is excellent and very friendly and welcoming. The room was spotless and neat and had everything you would need or want. Micro, refridge, TV. I would definitely recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank linda h
Susan D, Owner at Skaneateles Inn on 20, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable, cost-effective place for people to stay in our beautiful Skaneateles/Auburn/Finger Lakes area. I hope you have a wonderful holiday and thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review! Sue

Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Came upon the Skaneateles Inn on 20 by chance driving through the Finger Lakes Region. Very friendly, room was very comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated. We were minutes from downtown Skaneateles. Great stay ! Will definitely be back :-)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marlobarlow22
Susan D, Owner at Skaneateles Inn on 20, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to having you stay with us anytime! Sue

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Old style motel just over the county line. This was a fun stay, great location. Room was comfortable and the owners/staff extremely nice and super attentive! Oh, and reasonably-priced for the Finger Lakes region. Enjoy your stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarksTwoCents
Susan D, Owner at Skaneateles Inn on 20, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the kind words and for staying with us!! Hope to see you again soon! Sue

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Booked two night stay for a wedding we were attending nearby. The owner left the room open for us but also offered to wait until we arrived after business hours to check us in. We stayed in room 21 it isn't attached to the main building. It was nicely decorated and very clean. It had a king size bed my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tara D
Susan D, Owner at Skaneateles Inn on 20, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having all of you that attended the wedding. I am hoping with all the rain we had the last 2 days, it is going to take care of that sulfur smell of water in the seasonal building. That building is on a separate well and when we had the bad drought this summer it hit a...

36 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.7 km away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
694 reviews
8.4 km away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
8.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
1.3 km away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
89 reviews
2.5 km away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Locally owned 18 unit Inn on 3 manicured acres just one mile west of the village of Skaneateles, and 4 miles east of the City of Auburn. Extended stay rates available. Clean, comfortable, and cost-effective! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skaneateles Inn on 20

Address: 4239 E Genesee Street Rd, Auburn, NY 13021-8210 (Formerly Colonial Motel)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Price Range: €98 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skaneateles Inn on 20 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Skaneateles Inn on 20 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Skaneateles Inn on 20 staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Skaneateles Inn on 20 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book well in advance/”
BicycleDay, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms would be fine! The inn overlooks picturesque Strawberries Fields Farm with country store gift shop (on Sweet Treat Trail).”
ritatrenti410, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All one level, so not a problem if you have trouble walking or other”
721lindah, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Even though this hotel is on a main road, there was no traffic noise in the room”
zarchsandi, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“In the winter, might be better to get an inside room vs an end unit because it gets pretty cold up there!”
SueM342, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$112* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$112
Hotwire.comUS$112
Hotels.comUS$112
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates