We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge

Save
Share
Via Pizarro and Via Congresso Arriba, Isla Taboga 0832-2565 Panama
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (62)
Dining (43)
Room & Suite (43)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Taboga
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Quiet Oceanview Hillside Eco Lodge Rooms plus Apartments. Tropical Garden Pool. Ocean view from external balconies plus large tropical garden at the edge of Taboga village and alongside an ancient forest, a 3 minute walk down to the shore and 5 to 10 minute walk from beach. The forest is excellent for bird watching. A great option for digital nomads. Offering the best of both worlds! ocean view from the exterior balconies and beside a lush tropical forest - (rooms have exterior shared balconies, one suite has ocean view from the living area). Relaxed Eco lodge, comfortable and clean air conditioned individual rooms, as well as apartments, all with local TV & WIFI. Ideal quiet vacation spot to relax for 1 day to 1 month. Located on the laid back Pacific island of Taboga just 30 minutes from Panama by ferry. Artisanal Pizza offered daily. Beach Restaurant by reservation offering delicious food by local chef. Activities include: Beach, boat trips, fishing, snorkeling, kayaking, hiking, nature tours, walking tours and more. Visit us and truly relax with the Cerrito family. Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge, Taboga Island, Panama.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool with view
Restaurant
Boating
Canoeing
Babysitting
Children's playground
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 2 more
129Reviews2Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 64
  • 31
  • 13
  • 14
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jbzgirl73 wrote a review Sep 2012
Ormond Beach, Florida79 contributions64 helpful votes
We stayed at the Hotel Cerrito in August 2012. Making the reservation was simple and communication was excellent. We booked the mid level room because the description described the room as having on demand hot water. When we arrived at the island we were greeted at the dock by a Cerrito employee. He had arranged for a "taxi" to take us to the hotel. While the distance was not great it was helpful because the Cerrito sits up on the hill and the walk up is steep. We were given an upgrade upon arrival and put on the top floor suite. It had 2 rooms, a shared bathroom, a kitchenette and private balcony with hammocks and chairs overlooking the ocean. The view from the hotel is beautiful. The rooms were simple yet nice. One room had 2 twin beds the other a queen size bed. The
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
Helpful
Share
Response from RanchitoCerrito, Owner at Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge
Responded 12 Sep 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review. Its true that many people coming to the tropical islands like Taboga do not expect hot water, however we do have an on demand hot water system. The gas tank was being changed which is why it did not work when you first arrived. This is an environmentally friendly system as it only heats what you use and since there is a water shortage often on Taboga we are very careful with water usage. The second floor room is the favorite, for its gorgeous sea view and outdoor hammocks on the balcony. We do have hot water systems in 3 of our 4 first floor rooms now. They have been installed since last year. Thank you again for choosing us.
Read more
EllieWharton wrote a review Jul 2012
Panama City, Panama47 contributions21 helpful votes
My husband and I just spent a wonderful day at Cerrito Tropical. It was my birthday and it was truly a marvelous place to spend a special day. The rooms were clean and comfortable; the staff, friendly and inviting; the food is the best on the island. We also met other interesting travelers from different parts of the world so it made for an even more interesting stay. We live in Panama and it is always nice to find an alternative place for R&R. We highly recommend this place when you travel to Panama. The owner, Cynthia, is professional and truly on top of her game.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
Helpful
Share
Nina B wrote a review Jul 2012
Madison, Wisconsin, United States74 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed in early July at Cerrito after researching a place to fish. Taboga quickly came up as a fishing town and we arranged with Cynthia, who was great at answering emails, a trip with a local fisherman. The boat ride to the island is nice but you have to purchase your return ticket at the same time. The island was lovely, beautiful architecture and flowers. We were greeted by a taxi driver right away off the boat (you will laugh at the drug-sniffing cockerspaniel security check) without having even set up transportation. Our room is as described and we had no major complaints except a lack of hot water, but you don't go to Panama for hot water. We ate lunch there which was good, as well as breakfast the next morning, which was also very good. The B&B itself is
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
Helpful
Share
Response from RanchitoCerrito, Owner at Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge
Responded 26 Jul 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for choosing us! We try to be proactive with our guests. We wish you had mentioned the hot water because you were in a room with hot water, we could have checked on it. We have an on demand system and sometimes it requires a simple adjustment. We have a map in our office with 3 hiking trails, as well there are a couple of on- land tours available. A walking tour, and a trip to the top of the mountain by truck. There are also kayacks available at the beach for rent by the hour. Regarding nightlife on Taboga, its true we dont recommend the discoteque to anyone, and there is no nightlife beyond dining, chatting with other guests, walking along the beach, playing cards or board games. During special events such as carnival, or fiesta days there are open air discos all night long. Regarding the fishing review, your comments are being taken into account and are being addressed by the boat owner. Your guide is one of the best on the island. The amount of fish caught varies from trip to trip. The same week people fishing brought in numberous fish, sierra and aguja. We send people with different companies and rate varies from $75 to $175 per hour for a large boat. Sometimes fishing guests on large boats have no luck. Sometimes they do. Regarding a cooler with drinks, this is something you could have arranged through Cerrito. It is not included in the fishing rate. The boat company does allow a one way ticket, but on weekends it is not advised because they are very busy. There are 2 boat companies, the fast one often has tickets for sale at the last minute. At Cerrito we have a number to the Calypso Ferry office, in case a guest needs assistance we do our best to help with tickets. Aristides the chef has often gone with a guest ticket to try to change it for them if they wish. We also often get guests who love the quiet of the island and never want to leave.
Read more
Philip l wrote a review Jul 2012
Washington DC, District of Columbia1 contribution
While vacationing to Panama City from Washington, DC, my girl and I decided to come enjoy a couple of days on the beautiful island of Taboga. She booked a room at the B&B Hotel Cerrito and it clean, cool and the staff was friendly. The owner calling my girl friend to let her know I left my watch in the room and personally meeting up in Panama City was icing on the cake!! Thumbs up!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
Helpful
Share
happytravellerpcty wrote a review May 2012
PCty10 contributions3 helpful votes
I went to Taboga on a day trip with a group of 18 retirees. The beach is on the right side of the ferry terminal and Cerrito Tropical is on the left side of the terminal when you get off the boat. Although we did not stay in Cerrito Tropical but we pre-arranged lunch there with the owner. Someone from the hotel came to meet us as we got off the boat. The hotel is on a steep slop about 5 minutes walk from the ferry terminal. It is a pleasant walk to the hotel, lots of beautiful flowers along the narrow street. Cynthia, the owner was so kind to offer us the use of their facilities as some of us wanted to swim in the ocean. We ordered drinks there on their little terrace, very relaxing and most of us was so happy to stay there and just enjoy the surrounding or use their hammock (
Read more
Date of stay: December 2011
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PanamaPanama ProvinceIsla Taboga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing