We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge

Save
Share
Via Pizarro and Via Congresso, Isla Taboga 0832-2565 Panama
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (62)
Dining (43)
Room & Suite (43)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Taboga
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Quiet Oceanview Hillside Eco Lodge Rooms plus Apartments. Pool in their tropical garden. Ocean view from external balconies plus large tropical garden at the edge of Taboga village and ancient forest, 3 minute walk down to the shore and 5 to 10 minute walk from beach.

Property backed by forest - great for bird watching. A great option for remote work. Offering the best of both worlds! ocean view from the exterior balconies and beside a lush tropical forest - (rooms have exterior shared balconies, one suite has ocean view from the living area).

Relaxed Eco lodge, comfortable and clean air conditioned individual rooms, as well as apartments, all with TV & WIFI. Located on the laid back Pacific island of Taboga just 30 minutes from Panama by ferry. Pizza offered daily. Restaurant by reservation offering delicious food by local chef.

Ideal quiet vacation spot to relax for 1 day to 1 month. Activities include: Beach, boat trips, fishing, snorkeling, kayaking, hiking, nature tours, walking tours and more. Visit us and truly relax with the Cerrito family. Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge, Taboga Island, Panama.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Boating
Canoeing
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Wifi
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 2 more
127Reviews2Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 62
  • 31
  • 13
  • 14
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Christine R wrote a review Apr 2013
62 contributions31 helpful votes
What a great time we had with Cynthia and her attentive staff. We enjoyed one of the Mango rooms, staying on Isla Taboga for 3 nights. Our room was nice size with a private bathroom with a big shower and hot water - don't take these things for granted on an island. I would like to mention here that this IS an island. Electric is from a large diesel generation plant and water is a precious commodity, so where ever you stay and when ever you stay on an island please be conscientious with your use of each. Our room, in fact the entire hotel, was very pleasantly decorated in island colors and accents. Though there was no seaview from our room - who wants to hang out in your room when on a lovely island?! There is a very nice social area and dining area that does have a nice
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
Helpful
Share
John k wrote a review Jan 2013
Winnipeg, Canada2 contributions2 helpful votes
My wife and i have been Panama travellers for 4 years. this was our first visit to Taboga. Cerrito was an excelelnt choice and we enjoyed it very much. Cynthia looked after all the booking and her associate Lynn was on site and an excellent ambassador for Cerrito and taboga. The staff was very helpful in servig us delicous meals and lookied after our drink needs. Make sure you bring good walking shoes if you are going hiking around and as others have said, Cerrito is up a steep two block road. If you are in Panama, take a day or two and go enjoy Cerrito and the island for such. We will ber going back next year for sure Marg & John
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
Helpful
Share
Calgary68 wrote a review Jan 2013
Calgary, Canada138 contributions100 helpful votes
If it weren't for the efforts of the staff, this place would have rated but a single star. And while the small staff tried hard to please, it was apparent they weren't given any direction by what I would loosely describe as "management". I had originally chosen the Cerrito because (a) it received the #1 ranking (of 2) and (b) it is supposedly run by fellow Canucks. It has been our experience when travelling to less-developed countries, hotels run by ex-pats generally have a higher level of service than locally-run hotels. Not because ex-pats are any smarter, rather, they generally have had greater exposure to service levels in more developed countries. One hopes that that exposure translates into better service and amenities. Not here, it didn't. This B&B's location, well up
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
Helpful
Share
Response from RanchitoCerrito, Owner at Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge
Responded 27 Jun 2013
Thank you for your review and the opportunity to correct what in your view we are lacking. A review, whether good or bad is a great way for us to improve. We would appreciate knowing if you are having a problem at the time of your stay so we can attempt to correct the issue and improve your time on Isla Taboga. We are a locally run Bed and Breakfast and pride ourselves with being sustainable as much as is possible on the island. Cerrito Tropical is run by local people, and they are friendly doing their best to serve you. This enhances the local experience in our view. We are not always on site as we have an office in Panama which is clear in our site and emails, and we leave our local manager to handle issues. We apologize if they were not at their best. We do have a special filter on the main level kitchen/bar tap which cleans the water. Many people do choose to use the water from this tap and it is accessible 24 hours a day. The water we are supplied with is from a town well and on the island the water is not treated to a North American standard therefore we always recommend bottled water. The bottled water prices are posted on the bilingual menu available in the restaurant/café area. We apologize if you were not told this, or noticed this when ordering from the menu. On our website it states that rooms are serviced twice a week and if you wish more it is our pleasure, you simply have to request it. Many guests do not want staff entering their rooms when they are not there. It is your choice. Also if you had a problem with the air conditioner and fan we would have appreciated being told so we could call the repairman and we also would have offered you a different room. We appreciate the maintenance comments and everything has been maintained. Thank you for your review and we only wished to have heard about your issues when you were staying with Cerrito Tropical so we could have attempted to correct them.
Read more
MarinaSchoon wrote a review Jan 2013
Salmon Arm, Canada59 contributions57 helpful votes
We only spent a day on the island but enjoyed a wonderful lunch at the B & B. It was very relaxing - great food and amazing views. The owner (Cynthia) was there as well and we had a great visit. Taboga is a lovely island - fun to walk around - beautiful flowers and a great beach.We took the ferry there and back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2012
Helpful
Share
jbzgirl73 wrote a review Sep 2012
Ormond Beach, Florida79 contributions64 helpful votes
We stayed at the Hotel Cerrito in August 2012. Making the reservation was simple and communication was excellent. We booked the mid level room because the description described the room as having on demand hot water. When we arrived at the island we were greeted at the dock by a Cerrito employee. He had arranged for a "taxi" to take us to the hotel. While the distance was not great it was helpful because the Cerrito sits up on the hill and the walk up is steep. We were given an upgrade upon arrival and put on the top floor suite. It had 2 rooms, a shared bathroom, a kitchenette and private balcony with hammocks and chairs overlooking the ocean. The view from the hotel is beautiful. The rooms were simple yet nice. One room had 2 twin beds the other a queen size bed. The
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
Helpful
Share
Response from RanchitoCerrito, Owner at Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge
Responded 12 Sep 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review. Its true that many people coming to the tropical islands like Taboga do not expect hot water, however we do have an on demand hot water system. The gas tank was being changed which is why it did not work when you first arrived. This is an environmentally friendly system as it only heats what you use and since there is a water shortage often on Taboga we are very careful with water usage. The second floor room is the favorite, for its gorgeous sea view and outdoor hammocks on the balcony. We do have hot water systems in 3 of our 4 first floor rooms now. They have been installed since last year. Thank you again for choosing us.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PanamaPanama ProvinceIsla Taboga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing