We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge

Save
Share
Via Pizarro and Via Congresso, Isla Taboga 0832-2565 Panama
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (62)
Dining (43)
Room & Suite (43)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Taboga
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Quiet Oceanview Hillside Eco Lodge Rooms plus Apartments. Pool in their tropical garden. Ocean view from external balconies plus large tropical garden at the edge of Taboga village and ancient forest, 3 minute walk down to the shore and 5 to 10 minute walk from beach. Property backed by forest - great for bird watching. A great option for remote work. Offering the best of both worlds! ocean view from the exterior balconies and beside a lush tropical forest - (rooms have exterior shared balconies, one suite has ocean view from the living area). Relaxed Eco lodge, comfortable and clean air conditioned individual rooms, as well as apartments, all with TV & WIFI. Located on the laid back Pacific island of Taboga just 30 minutes from Panama by ferry. Pizza offered daily. Restaurant by reservation offering delicious food by local chef. Ideal quiet vacation spot to relax for 1 day to 1 month. Activities include: Beach, boat trips, fishing, snorkeling, kayaking, hiking, nature tours, walking tours and more. Visit us and truly relax with the Cerrito family. Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge, Taboga Island, Panama.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool with view
Restaurant
Boating
Canoeing
Babysitting
Children's playground
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 2 more
127Reviews2Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 62
  • 31
  • 13
  • 14
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
SunPrincess2014 wrote a review Sep 2014
Panama7 contributions
+1
We stayed in the upper level 2 bedroom apartment. It's furnished with bad thrift store finds. It's clear no money was put into this property. The A/C unit barely in the bedroom barely put out any cold air in the tiny bedroom. The day we arrived, the kitchen staff had the day off. The manager on duty failed to mention this fact. Another guest told us this info. The food on the premises is sub par. For breakfast, we received 2 pancakes, 1 egg and a cup of coffee. The server recommended the corvina which wasn't seasoned or tasty. If you're not a beach baby, there really isn't much to do on this island. Restaurants are in short supply and not very good. The only saving grace was the internet or we would have been even more bored beyond belief. You could not pay me to return to
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
Helpful
Share
Response from RanchitoCerrito, Owner at Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge
Responded 24 Sep 2014
Dear SunPrincess, We always appreciate both positive and negative comments because they help us improve. However it always appreciated to hear these things during the stays of guests so issues can be addressed at that time. Upon request we would have gladly had the chef come in on his day off and prepare meals for you to your taste. We serve our corvina fresh (caught by the fishermen of Taboga) and offer 2 types of sauce, creole and garlic, both of which are usually very well received. Regarding the air conditioning not cooling enough, immediately on hearing from the next guest about it they were offered another room and a technician was called and serviced the unit. Had we known your master room was not cool enough, we could have moved you to the second room. As for the decor, it is a beach accommodation and meant to be airy, spacious, relaxed and family friendly; we hear from many guests that their favorite aspects of the 2 bedroom apartment are the balcony with its hammocks and with the panoramic view of the ships waiting to enter the Panama Canal plus the view of Morro Island and Taboguilla, the harbour, village, the jungle, and the beach. Regarding the local entertainment on Taboga Island, it is a small, typical village island which people enjoy for the tranquility, the beach, the hiking, the fishing, historic sites. There are watersports available now and a zipline will be coming soon. We are sorry you did not enjoy Taboga; it is very well described on the internet as being a laid back, very simple, fishing village island with a couple of beaches. Under an hour from Panama City and a great place for tourists to experience local culture.
Read more
Dustoff325 wrote a review Feb 2014
Charlottesville, Virginia21 contributions11 helpful votes
A group of us recently visited Panama. As a part of that trip, we decided to spend Valentine's Day on Isla Taboga [Taboga Island] just an hours boat ride off of Panama City. We booked into the B&B Cerrito Tropical and, after looking around town some, we checked in. The B&B is at the far end of the town, and up the hill, but not a bad walk at all. If you have a problem walking, there are a few 'taxis' in town. We had reserved a 1 Bedroom Apt up stairs at the back of the B&B. It had a shared balcony, air conditioning, fan and a private bathroom with a shower. The room was clean, the bed and pull out couch were comfortable, & the A/C and fan made the room very comfortable. If you are planning a longer stay, or have children, there is a small supermarket within 200 metres &
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
Helpful
Share
Leif G wrote a review Jan 2014
Des Moines, Iowa5 contributions6 helpful votes
We visited Taboga for two and a half days over New Years and stayed at the B&B Hotel Cerrito. We enjoyed our stay, and the proprietor Cynthia made us feel very much at home and was a great resource for our time on the island, particularly given our limited Spanish. We stayed in the upper level two bedroom apartment, and the views from the two hammocks on the huge porch were beautiful. The sleeping quarters and bathroom were simple, clean and functional. The food at the hotel was excellent, especially the New Years' eve dinner. Cynthia and the chef Aristides also accommodated our daughter's request for a burrito the second evening (even though it was not on the menu), much to her delight. A couple tips for those staying on Taboga and the Cerrito: 1. The hike up to the
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
Helpful
Share
PatrickYanez wrote a review Jan 2014
New York City, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
I visited Taboga Island for the day with 15 USA college students. Instead of going to the big (tourist's) beach on the right side of the ferry exit, we walked to the left and parked ourselves on the beach in front of the restaurant Calaloo (a yellow building). Cynthia, the owner rented chairs and umbrellas (2 chairs/1 umbrella for $15; beach towels for $5 ea.) They prepared a superb lunch for us and a refreshing sangria. We used their bathroom all day long and buy refreshments and beer. We had a great time and we highly recommend Calaloo as your home base for your beach day at Taboga Island. Call in advance to reserve chairs/umbrellas and to make lunch preparations. A lovely place for a beach day!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
Helpful
Share
Dfffff wrote a review Jun 2013
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Outstanding place to stay in Taboga, will recommend the Ceritos to my friends. Very warmed and helpfull staff. The food is to die for, lots of see food and friendly atmosphere. Will come back again in the near future. I love this place and the near by beaches. Taboga is the island of the flowers .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PanamaPanama ProvinceIsla Taboga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing