We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge

Save
Share
Via Pizarro and Via Congresso, Isla Taboga 0832-2565 Panama
Lowest prices for your stay
US$75
US$70
View deal
SAVE US$5
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
US$75
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$70
PricelineUS$70
eDreamsUS$70
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (62)
Dining (45)
Room & Suite (44)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Taboga
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Quiet Oceanview Hillside Eco Lodge Rooms plus Apartments. Ocean view from external balconies plus large tropical garden at the edge of Taboga village and ancient forest, 3 minute walk down to the shore and 10 minute walk from beach. Property backed by forest - great for bird watching. Offering the best of both worlds! ocean view from the exterior balconies (rooms have exterior shared balconies, one suite has ocean view from the living area). Relaxed Eco lodge, comfortable and clean air conditioned individual rooms, as well as apartments, all with TV & WIFI. Located on the laid back Pacific island of Taboga just 30 minutes from Panama by ferry. Restaurant by reservation offering delicious food by local chef, served by friendly local staff. Ideal quiet vacation spot to relax for 1 day to 1 month. Activities include: Beach, boat trips, fishing, snorkeling, kayaking, hiking, nature tours, walking tours and more. Visit us and truly relax with the Cerrito family. Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge, Taboga Island, Panama.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Boating
Canoeing
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 2 more
127Reviews2Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 62
  • 31
  • 13
  • 14
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Karen T wrote a review Nov 2015
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Overall, it's a decent place to stay. It was clean enough, comfortable enough and quaint. The room itself seemed older and the A/C had a hard time cooling the room but the common areas were very nice. Breakfast was scrambled eggs, toast and coffee. No fresh fruit as some other reviewers have had....but definitely not a deal breaker. It is probably the farthest accommodation in the town but the walk is beautiful. Older buildings, narrow streets and murals on lots of walls (Bring your camera!) The walk is maybe 10 minutes from the ferry and 15 minutes from the popular beach. I would recommend pre-arranging a taxi/ride if you have someone in your party that would tire easy as the hill up to the B&B was challenging for a couple of older people in our party. If I was to go back
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
Helpful
Share
Jeffrey M wrote a review Sep 2015
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Showed up, and the keeper had no idea that anyone had a reservation. At least once he called the owner and handed the phone to me I sorted it out. Room is sparse at best, and seems unclean. Have to go to a specific sink to get water that's safe to drink. Had to order dinner from the kitchen since the rest of the island apparently shut down. All they have is fish and chicken filets, despite a menu with many other options. Well, my wife is a VEGETARIAN. So no, this is not looking to be a great place for us to stay. But we'll make due. At least there's a roof.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from RanchitoCerrito, Owner at Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge
Responded 8 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate all comments and wish you had spoken to us with your concerns. Hope you are still enjoying quiet Taboga and the garden, view from the balcony and the beach. There is some good hiking available also. It is a small beach fishing community of about 700 people. We do apologize for our property manager calling us but he was confirming everything which is normally what they do. He passed the phone to us since it seemed to him you did not speak Spanish and wanted to offer you English service. On Taboga most people speak Spanish as is in all small rural areas of Panama. It is clear on the information you received before you reserved that I am not on site all the time and that you would be received by our property manager. We do not have a vegetarian menu unless we receive a previous request (we did not) - when we know we have vegetarians coming we are very pleased to offer a special menu; vegetarian food is not widely available on the island. In our beach restaurant Calaloo we do have a variety of vegetarian options there, it was open one of the days you were on the island. We have no control over the other small business on Taboga as to when they are open or not. Often during low season some close during the weekdays. You rented a Bed and Breakfast room which comes with a private bathroom with hotwater, a queen size bed and split airconditioning, and includes breakfast. A large communal balcony outside with a garden with many tropical birds in the morning and late afternoon. The balcony has a nice oceanview where sometimes whales can be seen. The rooms are cleaned daily by our maids; I can assure you that your room was recently cleaned since people checked out in the morning and they cleaned it at once. As far as potable water, water on the island is scarce, sometimes comes from a system of wells, sometimes desalinated (plant not running the days you were there) and runs through a system of pipes to get to us. We prefer to offer our guests the options of bottled water or free water from a special filter on your floor (just outside your room) since we want our guests to have the best water available. Our rates are the most budget friendly on Taboga Island for the room you rented with breakfast included. We had other rooms available had you wished to have something different you could have requested an upgrade. However we did not hear from you about your issues. Again we apologize for your issues during your stay and hope you enjoyed the tranquility and nature of Taboga of which Cerrito Tropical is surrounded as we are close to the tropical forest, but still offer the oceanview from our balcony.
Read more
fixnplanes wrote a review Aug 2015
Atoka, Tennessee21 contributions8 helpful votes
Today 08/05/15, tried to make a reservation through the phone. They told me that I had to pay 50% of the amount with my visa. I told them I wont give my visa number by the phone. The lady was very insulting and rude. So, I told her nicely to cancel everything. I call Vereda Tropical hotel, and got all the info and reservation without any problem or hassle. Later, I got a call from B & B, and I told them thanks but I already had my reservation somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from RanchitoCerrito, Owner at Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge
Responded 7 Aug 2015
Dear Sir, We appreciate your comments and apologize for you feeling that the phone service was not acceptable to you. Please allow us to explain; as in most hotels or bed and breakfast operations, we have a rule of a confirmation deposit to block your room. You can give us your credit card by phone, as hotels all over the world request, or if you are not comfortable with giving the information on the phone we would appreciate an email so we can send you a payment link which you can pay yourself by credit card, or you have the option for a bank deposit. Most recently in North American hotels when I have booked directly myself (not through a service online), I have been asked for full payment to confirm reservations. It appears you were not comfortable with giving details on the phone but you can always ask for our other options. It has been our experience that when we do not have a deposit that people may not show up when we have cleaned the room, when we have sent our staff to the pier to greet our guests, or when we have booked transport to wait for our guests. We then lose the night, which we could have rented to someone else, and incur the expense of preparing for a guest who made other plans. That is the reason for the deposit. I apologize for how you felt the lady spoke to you on the phone and she will be made aware. We are fortunate to have her as she is bi-lingual and an expert on the island and Panama in general. This is the first time anyone has ever made a comment about her, normally people love her service. I know that she made a follow up call to you when we had not heard back to see if you wished to continue with the reservation and she was told you would stay elsewhere. We sincerely hope you enjoy your time on Taboga Island. Check out our restaurant CALALOO which is by the beach near the school. Have a wonderful vacation.
Read more
Chris H wrote a review Feb 2015
Los Angeles, California7 contributions7 helpful votes
When you imagine what a B&B on a simple island off the coast of Panama would look like, this is pretty much it. As some others have noted, the beds/linens/towels aren't world class, but they are hardly a disaster. They are simple, and we had zero issue with the accommodations. The upstairs two bedroom has amazing hammocks to sit and and read, and the smaller apartments/rooms are nice as well (we were there with my 18 month old and my parents, so I got a good look at all the rooms). We were extremely pleased with the location and the building itself. In terms of service, it was either fantastic or terrible, with not a lot in between. We were welcomed by a friend of the owner, had great conversation with a couple who had been there for a week, and were assured that on our
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from RanchitoCerrito, Owner at Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge
Responded 25 Feb 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate reviews with constructive criticism so that we can help our staff improve. It was Carnival and we were completely full and the girls did their best under the circumstances to get the rooms cleaned for you, our staff are humble people from Taboga and have no international experience, we do our best to train them and guide them however there are some things that are not in their own culture such as efficiency. It was an upgrade without charge to a much larger two bedroom apartment which takes time. We sincerely apologize for the delay. The day you left we were also fully booked due to Carnival and could not offer you a late check out to accommodate your daughter's nap, under different circumstances during normal weekends we would have been happy to have been able to offer you that. We are happy she was able to nap on the couch. The cleaning ladies do tend to speak loudly as is the culture of Panamanians in general, although I wasnt there I imagine they spoke that way without considering the circumstances. Regarding the hot water, all the rooms have an on demand propane gas system which works well after you let the water run a bit, and the heater is new. I dont know if you asked our man Aristides to check it but they were working and have not had a problem. We will check the system. Thank you for letting us know. We hope you visit us again soon.
Read more
phyzzzy wrote a review Dec 2014
Valencia, Spain32 contributions20 helpful votes
We stayed there at the end of October and had a lovely time. The owner took us up the hill (which, if you walked up and down it certainly would be good exercise) on the golf cart and they were very friendly and helpful. I had to change the date several times and Cynthia was very accomodating with our schedule. There was lots of communication between the two of us until we arrived. The rooms were of a nice beach decor and the whole place had a nice beach feeling. Lynn, a friend of Cynthia's was very helpful and took us on a walking tour of Taboga. We wanted to just relax and this we did. I'm glad it was on the left side of the ferry and not on the right. We liked the quiet of that side of the island. Their restaurant, Calaloo, was right on the beach and
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PanamaPanama ProvinceIsla Taboga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing