We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 149: English reviews
Panama
Reviewed 17 November 2014

This place is VERY hard to get to - way, way, way out there. Thank goodness for the signs on the roads the hotel has made with arrows, because you would never find it. It was like a ghost town and I understand why. The beach is NOT a "black sand" beach. I've been to black sand beaches in Hawaii....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lisa H
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review

Yes, we are a little remote. This, for some, is a negative aspect. For others seeking solitude and relaxation, this is definitely a positive thing! I'm sorry we were further out than you would have preferred. We offer a multitude of signage along the route to Las Olas to make arrival as easy as possible for our guests. Regarding the...

Reviewed 3 November 2014 via mobile

This place has so much potential but it is a journey just to get here and I question whether it is worth it. I enjoyed seeing the sugar cane plantations on the trip to the resort and I loved the natural surroundings- palm trees, black sand beach-which make this area awesome. Bedding, bath and amenities could certainly be improved on....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jackiee307
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed the beautiful area! The beach is stunning, isn't it? We have been working on improvements and have so many great things happening. I was hoping I could ask your opinion on something. We have to have some sort of identifier for guests so that they may use the facilities and enjoy the full...

Yakima, Washington, United States
Reviewed 15 October 2014

We decided to take an 8 hour road trip from our house in the Azuero Peninsula to spend 2 nights at Las Olas....from the moment we arrived it was all that we were looking for it is very remote and peaceful we were the only guest on the first day. The beach and pool area are fabulous! The rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stacee H
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Las Olas! The beach really is stunning, isn't it? I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our staff - they really go above and beyond to make sure our guests are completely satisfied with their visit. We are currently working on updating a few things and would love...

Santa Catalina, Panama
Reviewed 20 September 2014 via mobile

The outside of the resort is really beautiful. I thought the pool was amazing especially for this area! The restaurant was beautiful but I was under impressed with the food. I ordered the house special which is whole fried pargo. Not sure how you can mess that up but it tasted horrible. My daughter had chicken fingers. She liked them...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tara B
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Tara, Thank you so much for your stay and review! Our staff takes great pride in keeping the facilities gorgeous - we are very proud of the pool and are glad you found it amazing! Our restaurant staff constantly participates in training sessions and they strive for excellence. I will be sure to pass your comments along to them...

Jaco, Costa Rica
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is right on the beach, the restaurant is good, we order room service the first time and we got the food in Styrofoam containers and plastic forks and knifes, but we asked for plates and they brought it and since that day we always get our room service food on plates, so they solved our problem right the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Katia A
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hello Katia, Thank you for your kind words. Our staff takes great pride in the facilities and always strives for excellence. Please come back and relax ocean-side with us any time! We look forward to seeing you again. Happy vacationing!

Oyster Bay, New York
Reviewed 27 April 2014

total waste of time! it says resort is 20 min away from David airport which is a lie unless you flying with out caring for any pedestrians, coming cars and cattle. very poor, depressing and middle of nowhere drive. when you get there it is a big and impressive property at first. once you get to your room even if...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Anastasia2209
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that our property did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that all of your comments and suggestions are being reviewed and addressed. We know that this beautiful beach can be a great get-away and are very upset that it wasn't what you had hoped for. Please be assured that improvements are being made daily, many of...

Boquete, Panama
Reviewed 22 April 2014

WOW!!! This place is a JOKE!!! DO NOT STAY HERE if you care ANYTHING about your spouse or family!!! SOOO many things advertised that were NOT true at arrival. The swim up bar? Non existent bc "we are short staffed"...Gimme a break! The Wi-Fi? ONLY in public areas OR if you have a cable in the room and hooked up...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Brian W
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Brian, We are very sorry to hear that Las Olas did not meet your expectations. We are proud to say that many improvements are being made constantly. Our technicians have installed wi-fi in most of the property and it will soon be available throughout. Our kitchen staff has undergone some changes and is receiving great reviews. The pools are...

Minneola, Florida
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is the first time I have been to Las Olas and I believe is reasonably priced for what you get. I recommend that you buy before staying everything that you may need because you may not find it, unless you need alka seltzer or Tabcin for a cold. I asked for the newspaper and they did not have it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vitalizer28
Olasresort, Director de Recepción at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimados Amigos, Gracias por su tiempo en escribir acerca de su estadía en el Hotel Las Olas. Recordamos el tiempo...

Dominical, Costa Rica
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Have been to Las Olas Beach Resort 5 times now and the place is worth the money... actually it's a good deal. It's off the beaten path but worth the drive out to the coast from David. The staff is excellent and will go the extra step to accommodate. If you're looking to get away from the hustle & bustle...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank johnP6555JW
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We love all our guests, but definitely have a special appreciation for our repeat visitors. I am so glad to see that you've noted visible improvements! We are constantly seeking ways to improve and feel that we are making great progress! We hope to share our gorgeous beach with you again soon. Happy Vacationing!...

British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 11 February 2014

While on a trip to Panama we stayed at hotel Los Olas Resort. This resort could be very nice however it is very much in need of an overhaul to say the least! The rooms were not clean although large enough. The towels were old and frayed, the sheets were old and stained. The pool was clean and along with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bopoo
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review

It is very upsetting to us that your trip wasn't all you'd hoped it would be. Many improvements have been made since your stay. We've worked on kitchen training and standards, wi-fi improvements, housekeeping standards and more. Please know that we read all of our reviews and make every effort to address issues. Thank you for your stay. Happy Vacationing!...

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near David
21.8 km away
Hotel Ciudad de David
21.3 km away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#4 of 13 in David
196 reviews
20.2 km away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
120 reviews
21.6 km away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
21.4 km away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#8 of 13 in David
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 30 minutes from David, Panama’s second largest city and the Enrique Malek International Airport, Las Olas Resort is at the heart of the 14 mile stretch of beach called Playa La Barqueta and the surrounding 2,000 acre plantation. Some of the best surfers in all of Panama may be found catching waves on this spectacular expanse of beach and its waves giving Las Olas its name, meaning “The Waves”. Las Olas Resort offer 48 rooms all facing uninterrupted views of the Pacific Ocean. We have standard rooms with two queen beds or one king bed, six junior suites with a separate living area, and two king suites featuring two bedrooms and one living area. Each and every room is steps away from the gorgeous sand and beautiful blue waters of Playa La Barqueta. Each room has a terrace, with lower rooms having beachside access while the upper floors have their own enclosed private terrace.offers excellent shopping, dining, and nightlife. Las Olas Resort features lush gardens, wandering walkways surrounded by the umbrella shaped coverage of almond trees, tall and lovely grape leaves, multicolored crotos, pink bougabilia, hedges of hicacos and a wide variety of palm trees,. All forty-eight rooms are directly facing the Pacific Ocean and the spectacular views of the majestic sunsets over Playa La Barqueta. In La Abigail Restaurant guests can enjoy local, organic plantains, pineapples, mangos (in season), papaya and watermelon. We raise our own grass fed beef and lamb, duck, pork, and chicken. Taste fresh coconut water to refresh your body and enjoy tennis, kayaking, surfing, strolling the beach or taking a swim. Good for mind and body, Las Olas Resort provides a quick way to hit your internal reset button.The Bella Donna Convention Center at Las Olas Resort offers meeting and event spaces of a variety of sizes with various services, food and beverage options available. Added to the adjacent covered outdoor space, one could hold a party of 500 or more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort

Address: Playa La Barqueta, David 0426, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Price Range: €83 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Olas Beach David
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort David, Panama - Chiriqui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think an upstairs room would offer better views and better breeze. The area is very hot.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeHep, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a main floor suite Right by the pool and the patios are nice day or night. Bring bug spray..”
 of 5 bubbles lindadO8264HK, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 109 with 2 doubles and an ocean terrace was very nice, with fancy new decor.”
 of 5 bubbles jwb828, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a second floor room to get a better ocean view.”
  • Rooms from the beach
 of 5 bubbles WriterBy, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The first floor rooms have a walk out patio. So easy to walk to the beach, and still has a great view of the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles benji8484, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5