We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Le Mechouar Darna

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Le Mechouar Darna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 13: English reviews
Start your review of Le Mechouar Darna
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It is a three start hotel. The beds are fairly comfortable but the rooms and hot motel passages and staircase needs renovation. They have a food menu but compared to other places nearby they are expensive. The breakfast was speedily prepared and very basic. This hotel is centrally located in a very quaint town, where one can just walk about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abkarolia
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

We had very nice time in this hotel, all staff was lovely and helpful. Small details was not perfect but nothing serious and nobody is perfect so no problem :) Every day service with new towels was nice, nights was cold outside and there is no heating so little bit cold inside as well. Wifi was in room as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honza007
Reviewed 21 February 2017

This hotel is an amazing property, but it needs a lot of things to be worked out.The staff was the worst i have ever seen. We booked through booking for 2 nights as a honeymooners.the front desk asked us to cancel our reservation throught Booking.com, so that they can offer us a good deal. Well, first, we checked in to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Said E
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Le mechouar darna is a very nice hotel, it' s my favorite place to be! Love this hotel and place, a mix of modern and traditional style, the service is very lovely 👌👌👌 I highly recommend it for everyone 😉

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ritataalibi
AYOUB B, General Manager at Le Mechouar Darna, responded to this review

Dear Ritataalibi Thank you for your opinion, I hope that you will return to us to live another better experience in our hotel

Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewed 30 January 2017

This is the first time I'm going to Essaouira. It is a small town but it's beautiful. I discovered a warm and friendly place the mechouar darna hotel. From the reception to the room to the restaurant and to the service the staff was so good. Is a wonderful place !!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank medzahdarane
AYOUB B, Directeur général at Le Mechouar Darna, responded to this review

Dear Medzahdarane First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to inform me of your recent stay at the Mechouar Darna. It is only thanks to comments like yours that we are able that our hotel is evolving and that the service we provide to our customers is much better

Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Another easy to find restaurant which looks like it is called Hotel Charme. We ate here and came back regularly for teas, coffees and drinks as it is on the main drag into the Medina so good for people watching. The food is good and plentiful. I had the mixed fish platter and failed to finish all of it, good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Good central location close to the beach, souks , restaurants & attractions. The staff, in particular the receptionists were friendly & helpful. The facilities & general cleanliness were poor, no hot water in the shower / sink, musty damp smell in the bedroom & bathrooms, light bulbs & sockets not working, no towels left out etc. The day receptionist did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
Lille, France
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We went to the restaurant only - not the hotel. Had fish tagine, it was the most expensive and worst we had in Marroco, tasteless with fired fish despite being 200m away from the fishing harbor. Drinks were overpriced, when available. Bad experience, avoid this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benoit L
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed with my brother at this hotel (it's not a riad) in February. The staff were really lovely but it is outrageously expensive for what it is. There's no hot water (lukewarm at best), the rooms are small, it's dark, breakfast very simple, bathrooms smelly... All things you could get past staying in a hostel and paying hostel rates...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caity92
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed there lately and they have apparently renewed the whole place and it looks amazing! The food was good and the staff was very helpful. I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to have a nice stay in this beautiful city : Essaouira.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amina E
AYOUB B, Directeur général at Le Mechouar Darna, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you very much for sharing your excellent experience at Mechouar Darna Hotel. We are glad you had such a wonderful time in our hotel and loved our honest hospitality. It is very good to read all the good things you have experienced in our hotel and that you have rated very good our food and staff. We...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 km away
Palazzo Desdemona
Palazzo Desdemona
#30 of 74 in Essaouira
237 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
384 reviews
0.1 km away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#22 of 74 in Essaouira
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
668 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#49 of 174 in Essaouira
122 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad L'Authentique
Riad L'Authentique
#77 of 174 in Essaouira
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
THE MECHOUAR HISTORY The Mechouar is one of the oldest hotels of Essaouira, It Opened its door on 1925, settled in an ancestral road of 18 th century, The Mechouar proposes you a journey full with the prestigious past of Trade winds. It is ideally situated at the foot of the Clock in one of the main pedestrian streets of Essaouira. The hotel provides full enjoyment through its privileged location proposing to his customers a central situation in the medina w The story of Mechouar is made by entertaining evenings and by prestigious parties where consuls and notables of the city met. The Whole team of The Mechouar Hotel will be at the entire disposal of all hosts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Le Mechouar Darna

Address: Avenue Oqba Ben Nafia, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Price Range: €29 - €54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Mechouar Darna 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Mechouar Darna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Le Mechouar Darna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room with a sea view”
borish201, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
1 of 1
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Cancelon
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates