We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tanjong Jara Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Tanjong Jara Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tanjong Jara Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 975: English reviews
doha
Reviewed 30 October 2016

This is a little bit of paradise just 3-4 hours drive from KL. The beach, the staff, the view, the ambiance, are great. Nothing was too much trouble, and we loved the " talking chef" at dinner. If you're looking for complete R&R, this is the perfect spot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emptynesterDoha
philippe_cavory, Area General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful comments on our hotel and team of professionals, it means a lot to us! We are looking forward to welcome you again at Tanjong Jara resort... in our little paradise

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

From the moment I had checked-in till the day I had checked-out, everything was taken care of. Feels very homely when all the staff greets you and smile at you. Staying true to the theme of unmistakenly malay, truly experience the what is the life in a Malay village from the food to the activity of Malay village showcase which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank syjy
Terence_Waller, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Dear syjy, We can’t thank you enough for writing such a lovely review! We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guest's satisfaction is the highest reward for all of us and we are thrilled that we were able to make your stay a memorable one. The team join me in thanking you for...

Dereham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

An amazing experience with excellent food, staff all amazing and helpful. cant praise enough how we were looked after from arriving to leaving and Chef Ann was amazing. To spend a week lying by the pool or on the beach and be constantly supplied with iced water a great way to chill. Our first experience of Malaysia but we are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkImages
Terence_Waller, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Dear NorfolkImages, We can’t thank you enough for writing such a lovely review! We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guest's well-being is the highest reward for all of us and we are thrilled that we were able to make your stay a memorable one. The team join me in thanking you for...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 24 October 2016

It's our yearly family trip getaway and we are happy that we have chosen this resort. We took the resident package where meals are all included. Wide variety of choices from the menu but the chef can always accommodate to our special needs. We chose the garden view room and got located near to the reception and doesn't have much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uaLnoM
Terence_Waller, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Dear uaLnoM, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review after your most recent stay with us, its always a pleasure for us to receive this type of feedback from our guests. It is feedback like this that only motivates us more to achieve not only our set goals but at the same time to set...

New Vernon, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for 2 nights to break up the drive from Singapore to Merang to get a ferry out to the islands. Immediately impressed by the size of the rooms. First night we were lucky to see 76 baby turtles released to the sea. The beach is nice for the area, although not as nice as the beaches out on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_F_71
Terence_Waller, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stuart_F_71, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such nice comments following your stay at Tanjong Jara resort. It was a pleasure to read your kind words about our resort as well as the service provided by our entire staff. Its a pity to hear you were not able to make use of the SPA, but...

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We had ten lovely lazy days here. The food was great - at breakfast there was an excellent buffet but the staff would try to get anything you wanted even if it was not on the buffet. We ate at both restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed all our meals - particularly the buttermilk sauce which we had with prawns, scallops and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chriscris
Terence_Waller, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chriscris, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review after your most recent stay with us, its always a pleasure for us to receive this type of feedback from our guests. Have to agree with you with regards to the buttermilk sauce, it is really fantastic and eating it with anything is a real delight,...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We were on a full board company trip with this wonderful resort last week. Everything were great and the experience were superb. Of course with YTL standard and the 5 star price. The hotel welcome us with drinks and cold towers, the hotel lobby is beautiful just like the pictures. The environment is totally 100% back to the nature. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gooordon
Terence_Waller, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gooordon Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your most recent stay with us, its always a pleasure to hear from our guests once they have left the resort. Thank you very much for the wonderful comments about your stay, it is comments such as these that just motivates us even more and makes us...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 20 October 2016

If you're looking for quiet time with authentic malay experience, this is the place for you. We stayed for 3 nights and got the best room right on the beach. Each morning we woke up at 5.30 am and watched the sunrise from our balcony. It was heavenly. The staff goes above and beyond to help you with all you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natomel
Terence_Waller, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Dear natomel, Thank you very much for taking the time out to leave a review after your most recent stay with us, its always a pleasure to get such feedback from our guests pertaining to their stay with us. It is comments such as yours that motivates us even more to strive for higher goals and set the benchmark for...

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We had a superb time at this hotel, and what made it was the attention we received from the staff. Whenever we needed anything, be it a drink while we sat in one of those beautiful cabana overlooking the beach, or ice in our room, the staff were always there doing their best. That alone earned this hotel the 5...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VROOM88
Terence_Waller, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Dear VROOM88, We can’t thank you enough for writing such a lovely review! We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guest's well-being is the highest reward for all of us and we are thrilled that we were able to make your stay a memorable one. The team join me in thanking you for...

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband has booked this hotel as a deal with flight also through kenwood travel ,at an amazing price which included flights and hotel breakfast and evening meal . Upon arrival at terrangau airport our transfer to hotel was delayed but once we arrived the manager quickly apologised and upgraded us to one of two luxury villas on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelle j
Terence_Waller, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Dear michelle_j, Thank you very much for taking the time out to leave a review after your most recent stay with us, its always a pleasure to get such feedback from our guests pertaining to their stay with us. It is comments such as yours that motivates us even more to strive for higher goals and set the benchmark for...

1,645 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1582)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (348)
Viewed
Dining (102)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (282)
Viewed
Room/Suite (250)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (66)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (464)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungun
20.1 km away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
0.0 km away
Home 2 Hotel
Home 2 Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kemaman District
4 reviews
8.4 km away
Ulek Beach Resort
Ulek Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Dungun
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Six Villa Inn
Six Villa Inn
#5 of 10 in Dungun
8 reviews
0.0 km away
Terrapuri Heritage Village
Terrapuri Heritage Village
#1 of 1 in Pantai Penarik
82 reviews
0.0 km away
Anggun Beach Guest House
Anggun Beach Guest House
#3 of 10 in Dungun
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Tanjong Jara Resort

Address: Batu 8 | Off Jalan Dungun, Dungun 23000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Dungun District > Dungun
Price Range: €126 - €209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanjong Jara Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Tanjong Jara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjong Jara Hotel Dungun
Tanjong Jara Dungun
Tanjong Jara Resort Dungun, Malaysia - Terengganu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tanjong Jara Resort staff and other travellers.
78 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (78)

Questions? Get answers from Tanjong Jara Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in 401 and 402...next to each other...good for a family”
  • our rooms
 of 5 bubbles busconi, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you're booking to stay in this hotel, it would be great to stay in over the weekends”
 of 5 bubbles mimiz_11, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“nice sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles Zylang2013, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose a seaview room to enjoy the beauty”
 of 5 bubbles thirus, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get rooms on the ground floor facing the sea, even though without a seaview.”
 of 5 bubbles createpfi, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay