We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

523 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 499: English reviews
Start your review of The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked in for outdoor pool and sea view which I certainly got with a spectacular view of working boats from the edge of a 7th floor Infinity pool. This HOtel must have been something else in its heyday. Spa bath with view through room but well beyond it’s best.This Hotel was chosen for location and pricing reasons which it delivered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sakoseyan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booking of this hotel was based on price and location. For that same price, we should have opted elsewhere. This hotel is so dated. What made our stay worst was that there were no hot water in the shower for 2 nights and when we were checking out, their lifts (3 nos) were down. Luckily this hotel is attached to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donliew
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here as a family for one night...lets start with a few positives..room is spacious and views are second to none...thats where the good points end. The water for showering and bathing was disgusting...see attached photo. There were hairs all over the bed and bathroom...the lifts were broken..the breakfast was at best mediocre with limited selection..the pool area was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
Reviewed 1 week ago

overall its ok, but the furniture,carpet,curtain is very2 old..its like from the 90s or early 2000.. even the tv is still using the crt tv not the slim one,the fat one. the air conditioning quit loud but the good side it can be really cold! love the aircond. the view from my room was superb from 23rd floor. it has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abdul A
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Abdul A, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience in Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you enjoyed the view from your suite and the efficiency of the air conditioning during your stay. We have taken note on your feed-backs with regards to the dated furniture and carpet. However I am surprised to know that...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this hotel because it seems the only hotel that has a 2 bedrooms unit with a kitchenette and living room. Spacious but the room facilities are poorly maintained. Kitchen laminate top has rotted, bathroom & kitchen sinks' drainage needed clearance. Main bathroom's lighting very dimmed. Breakfast at the lobby was crowded and food is forgettable. Need to improve overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SGConnie
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear SGConnie, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience in Tripadvisor! Please allow me to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay with us. We have taken note on your feed-backs with regards to the dated room and the sub-standard service for our improvement. Thank you once again for your patronage and I wish...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Convenient location, next to two of the biggest shopping malls on the island. Nice room with Wifi access, Free parking. Well done housekeeping! Fantastic customer service, friendly staff. Overall staying experience is nice!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alvinleereviews
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear alvinleereviews, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience in Tripadvisor. I am elated to hear that you had a memorable experience with us and your good words towards our housekeeping team had been gladly shared with them. I am also glad to hear that the service rendered by the team had met your expectation and they...

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

There were 7 of us stayed there. We used the 2-bedroom suite and one studio room and one extra bed. The rooms were so spacious and the sea view was really nice. The suite have 2 big bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, and a living room. The furnitures were oldfashion but quite clean. The staff were not so friendly. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Jill L, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience in Tripadvisor! I am glad that you had enjoyed your overall experience with us. We have taken note on your feed-backs and will certainly work on it to enhance our guests' experience in the future. Thank you once again for your patronage and we hope to see...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Our last visit was 5 years ago, and we loved the hotel. But I guess now the hotel needs to have some TLC to shine again. The 2-bedroom suite is spacious. Furniture and fittings are outdated but room is clean. Pool is great for kids with water slides and little fountains, and the new grass pad area with bean bags...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jellybeans2017
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear jellybeans2017, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience in Tripadvisor! I am glad that you had enjoyed your overall experience with us. We have taken note on your feed-backs for our future improvement. Thank you for also noticing and highlighting the little changes we made to enhance our guests' experience at the pool area. Thank you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Yes, a nice big room with a sea view - although hurry as they are reclaiming land to build yet more towers I guess so that may not be an asset for much longer. As for the rest - the carpet if very old, clearly has been flooded at one stage and is generally dirty - as is the sofa....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrAusDog
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Mr AusDog, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience in Tripadvisor! Please allow me to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay with us. We have taken note on your feed-backs with regards to the dated room and condition of the hotel for our future improvement. Thank you once again for your patronage...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Rented the 2bedroom suite and it's great for family and friends! Offers a nice view of the beach and you can also admire the scenery when you are soaking in the bathtub too. Breakfast was average. It is within walking distance to Gurney plaza & Paragon Mall. Along the stretch, they have a mini crepe shop, seafood and lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa O
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Vanessa O, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience in Tripadvisor! I am glad that you had enjoyed your overall experience with us. We have taken note on your feed-backs for our future improvement. Thank you once again for your patronage and we hope to see you again if your travel brings you back to Penang....

541 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (327)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (82)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Suite (83)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Funpool (8)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Studio Suite (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#39 of 84 in George Town
472 reviews
1.3 km away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 84 in George Town
1,563 reviews
0.2 km away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#27 of 84 in George Town
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
#41 of 84 in George Town
40 reviews
2.1 km away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
2.3 km away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Brimming with matchless elegance, top-notch provisions, and cordial, genuine service, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in George Town, Penang, Malaysia truly stands out among the multitude of hotels in the locale. We invite you to bask in well-appointed suites replete with essential amenities, such as free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, and a private bath with jacuzzi. Business travelers can use spacious and well-lit conference halls, while holidaymakers can have a relaxing time in our restaurant, pool, and spa. Sitting along the tourist belt of Gurney Drive, adjacent to the Central Business District, our 4-star resort is a few kilometers from the airport and ferry terminal. It also enjoys an address with easy access to shopping centers, like the Gurney Plaza, Gurney Paragon, and Batu Ferringhi night market. Moreover, it is just a short drive away from several tourist attractions, such as the Kek Lok Si Temple, Penang Bird Park, and Snake Temple. With these wonderful features, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in Penang truly is the preferred luxurious accommodation for any occasion at anytime. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Address: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: €36 - €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney Resort Hotel And Residences
Gurney Hotel Penang
Gurney Hotel Malaysia
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang/George Town, Malaysia
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“HIgh and with view”
sakoseyan, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't think any rooms or floors make any difference.”
donliew, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“the higher,the better”
, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Corner suites are large and sunny”
jellybeans2017, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view whilst there is one”
MrAusDog, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5