We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Palanquinn Heritage Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Palanquinn Heritage Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Palanquinn Heritage Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 62: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in the lower level suite. The room was spacious with huge bathroom and terrace for 'people watching' out front. While it is listed as a B&B on Trip Advisor, breakfast is not provided, but this was no problem as there are so many choices nearby. Less than 5 min walk to Pulau Tikus markets which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anette S
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

coming from a fast paced city and wanting to slow things down a little, Penang is probably a great place to visit. there are many hotels in Penang but we are so happy to have discovered this great place. Numerous email correspondence with Jennifer from PS made me eager and we looked forward to the visit very much and certainly... More 

Helpful?
Thank renee6764
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Actually stayed in the Loft Suite here back in 2011 (not 2013). The room was fantastic and the owners really pleasant and helpful. The suite has a portion of the balcony set up as the bathroom, which is still private, fantastic, bit different and cool. A great place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank AndrewOverseas
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I'm glad I chose to stay at this place. It was a little difficult to find coming from the ferry, but it was definitely one of the highlights of my trip. The room really had an antique feel to it, especially the furniture and the main door. The owner was extremely helpful and nice. Upon finding out that I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here in January 2013 - one of the most enjoyable stays I've experienced despite my initial reservations. Nothing fancy here but it has all the charm and ambiance of pre-war Penang/Asia that you could want. We got the terrace suite, which adequately accommodated our family of 2 adults and 3 kids. No maintenance issues - they provided extra... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travel_With_Angels
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Palanquinn Heritage suites is located in the heritage area of Penang with beautifully designed bungalows converted suites. Just walking distance from Gurney Drive - Gurney Drive Street Food, Sea-Side walk, Gurney Plaza & malls. Our stay at the suite was very good, Jennifer who is the manager is very helpful and provided us with a lot of information (better than... More 

Helpful?
Thank DedeepyaSunil
PalanquInn, Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review

Dear DedeepyaSunil, We apologize that the air-conditioning did not meet your expectation. Because Palanquinn is a restored heritage house with higher ceilings, the rooms may take some time to cool down. Nevertheless we have taken your feedback constructively and are looking into ways to improve this. Thank you for your feedback. More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Pros: Great location, heritage flavor, polite staff Cons: Staff is not available after 6pm, so you are on your own in case there is a problem. Rooms are too small. But I understand that can't be changed as it is a heritage house. I would never put it in the category of a hotel. Guest house...maybe. But homestay is what... More 

Helpful?
Thank Upasna K
PalanquInn, Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review

Dear TravelIndiaInc, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectation. Your point is well taken; we are a boutique heritage bed &breakfast, as indicated in our website. As we are not a full fledged hotel, our office is shut after office hours but our staffs are always just a phone... More 

Penang
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

After looking through lots of good reviews about this hotel, I found it a great deal of disappointment after experiencing myself. Air-conditioner was not functioning well, Astro(tv channel) couldn't be turn on, and hot water for bathtub is cold. Nothing can be worst than these 3 most important facilities in the room not working. After mentioning to the staff, the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AleLim19
PalanquInn, Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review

Dear Alelim19, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectation. We provide cable TV in the rooms; we have looked into it and can confirm that it is in order. Because Palanquinn is a restored heritage house with higher ceilings, the rooms may take some time to cool down. Nevertheless... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The facilities, staff & location were all excellent. We loved it so much we extended from 4 to 6 nights!! Arriving late we were greeted by a hand written welcome sign which was a lovely touch.The Mezzanine 2 room was clean, & the outside bathroom was huge yet private. The next morning the staff gave us a detailed outline of... More 

Helpful?
Thank bikeyoga
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Despite its curious name of "Pulau Tikus", which translates as "Rat Island", Pulau Tikus is actually a small suburb of George Town. It is neither an island nor is it infested with rats. Instead it is actually named after a small rocky islet located off the north-east coast of Penang. Pulau Tikus has in the past been home to small... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jadamros

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 km away
Dwell by Palanquinn
Dwell by Palanquinn
#66 of 170 in George Town
39 reviews
0.3 km away
Havara Place
Havara Place
#54 of 170 in George Town
7 reviews
0.3 km away
KF Guesthouse
KF Guesthouse
#82 of 170 in George Town
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Twelve Inn Boutique Homestay
Twelve Inn Boutique Homestay
#79 of 170 in George Town
11 reviews
1.4 km away
Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934
0.7 km away
Suphan Gurney Homestay
Suphan Gurney Homestay
#90 of 170 in George Town
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Palanquinn is a captivating boutique Bed & Breakfast, comprising two lovely and private heritage suites, located on Bangkok Lane on the island of Penang, Malaysia. Our property is among the collection of colonial pre-war townhouses dating back to the 1920s, where two beautiful rows of heritage houses line this street, immortalized in time.At Palanquinn Heritage Suites, experience for yourself the legacy of its rich heritage and the intimacy of a comfortable and personalized milieu during your sojourn in Penang. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palanquinn Heritage Suites

Address: 20 Lorong Bangkok, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: €58 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palanquinn Heritage Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Palanquinn Heritage Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palanquinn Heritage Suites Penang/George Town, Malaysia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Palanquinn Heritage Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the Loft which was really a suite.”
 of 5 bubbles yacht_vayacondios, 31 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Terrace suite does not have bathroom doors, so suitable for a couple.”
  • Outdoor Verandah
  • Terrace Suite huge bathroom
  • Terrace Suite Bed
  • Bangkok Lane
 of 5 bubbles Jadamros, 30 Jul 2013 | Read review
“I think travellers have to really set out what they want and read these reviews. It looks like the Loft would have been a better choice for us.”
 of 5 bubbles alang336, 9 May 2013 | Read review
“Don't think too much - take the Loft Suite. You'l got the whole heritage house for you accomodation!”
 of 5 bubbles ANTONs446, 18 Feb 2013 | Read review
“If you are the family or group traveller, choose Loft suite and the one downstairs. You can have whole house to yourselves.”
 of 5 bubbles Booojo, 18 Dec 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay