We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

PricelineUS$23*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$33*
US$23*
Great Deal
US$25*
US$25*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,042: English reviews
Start your review of Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is really nice and comfortable, I enjoyed staying there for one night, never expected the hotel will be in down quality as mentioned above in many reviews, it was an enjoyable time for me, wish the hotel and staff all luck and success 🙂

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amjad H
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Amjad H, It's always a delight to receive such a lovely review. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and the pleasure is ours to have been at your service. On behalf of Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, We thank you and look forward to welcoming you back again for another great stay soon. Yours sincerely, Wah Eng Hong...

Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bed room and the shower room is smaller than Tune Hotel Downtown KL for the same grade but same clean. Accessible from everywhere by bus. The view from my room is quietly good but the WiFi is so poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loekmann
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear loekmann, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us. We are delighted you found our room is clean and the hotel location is strategic. Your comment related to the WIFI has been shared with the relevant department for necessary action. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused. Meanwhile, we will all look forward...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My second visit to Penang. Small single room. Space between bed and bathroom door was so close. Friendly staff. Next to a shop. Location was ok for transportation or walking. Nothing much to describe. This hotel can improve to be better

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shindu S
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Shindu S, It's a pleasure to be at your service and thank you very much for your review. It’s a delight to know that the team and location left a positive imprint on you. On behalf of the Management and the Team here, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you back again for another great stay soon....

Sidoarjo, Indonesia
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

3rd time i stayed here.. but now i'm slightly dissapointed.. our Pillows have yellow colour, bed sheet has red mark (menstruation mark maybe), too much ants and we feel itchy every single nights. The positive points are Very Friendly Hotel Staffs and very Responsive with our request. The Hotel location is perfect : Hawker Food around, near main attraction of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimmyZeng
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear JimmyZeng, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. Regrettably, our standards for your recent stay fell short of your expectations. Please be assured that we will engage our housekeeping to remind and re-train them on our service and housekeeping standards. We take a serious view of these service lapses and corrective...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

I understand it's a budget hotel. However it could improve with age of furniture and also the cleanliness and lighting at the lobby and all walking areas. Furniture in my room was either almost broken or just hanging in there. It should already be replaced before it became a hazard. Also the safe box in my room is not working....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malvin808
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Malvin808, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. I must apologize for the shortfalls you encountered during your stay with us and I offer no excuses by my utmost sincere apologies for the inconvenience and frustrations. Rest assured that I am personally addressing these matters with my team to...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

We have stayed on two separate occasions within the last while. Both times the staff on reception have been extremely helpful and friendly. Price: excellent Shower: excellent Location: great (über so cheep to get around) Improvements: wifi weak and slow, our last room 329 was damp which we mention to the lady on check out, who said they would look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatherineTravellingG
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear KatherineTravellingG, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us again. It’s a delight to know that the location and team left a positive imprint on you. Your comments have been shared with the teams and I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement as we strive to continuously improve our quality of our services. I...

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

I have chosen to stay a slight better room with window as I'm afraid of suffocation. Unfortunately, there was some cigarette smell when I first come in. (now I know what the windows are for) I can hear the water heater, the dogs barking at the street, the vehicles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Dave L, We strive to provide a warm and comfortable experience for all our guests and it is regretful to hear of the unpleasant experiences that you have encountered. Please allow me to assure you that your feedback has been taken very seriously and we are reviewing all the areas that you have highlighted. It is our sincere hope...

Klang
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Parking- in website mentioned provided (But in actual, very limited to less than 10, once full, you need to park next door which quite costly). Highly not recommended if you drive Staff- Attended by an intern, quite rude in assisting customer request Room- Expected to be basic since is budget. But ceiling is dusty, bed sheets look yellowish, aircond is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylvestersw_89
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear sylvestersw_89, Thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback. We regret to note the issues you encountered with us and would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. The shortfalls mentioned in your review are of great concern to us. We will follow through on the areas of concern and corrective measures will be...

Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

As a local chain hotel, mother company Air Asia among the best in the world, the service during check in i would say was disappointing. No smile from staf even got 3 of them and to many unnecessary questions asked even its already 12 midnite. Once entered the room, the keycard was unable to activate the electric supply in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sliceofhate
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear sliceofhate, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are regret to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectation and we would like to express our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. It is glad to receive such constructive feedback from you which it will be brought up as concerns...

Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I was impressed by very friendly staffs; Putasnen & Hamdee. When I asked to borrow two adapters for two rooms, Putasnen were willing to lend me his personal adapter. The check-in process went very quickly and efficiently. They were also very helpful providing information. Thank you very much to taking care of my stay. The room is cozy, clean though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yuisie
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Yuisie, It is wonderful to receive your review! We are excited to learn that our colleagues Putasnen & Hamdee has made your experience a great one. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the team and they be recognized with the compliments as well. We are delighted you found our room is cozy and clean....

645 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (494)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (245)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (142)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Double Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Single Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
218 reviews
0.4 km away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 84 in George Town
352 reviews
0.9 km away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#33 of 84 in George Town
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#44 of 84 in George Town
69 reviews
1.0 km away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
545 reviews
0.7 km away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#34 of 84 in George Town
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Price Range: €19 - €31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town, Malaysia
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 405, 408 has city view”
Yuisie, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a window is better. สอบถามห้องที่มีหน้าต่างดีกว่าค่ะ”
suwajeem, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do your homework and go somewhere else”
DurbanCurry, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Maybe pick the 8th floor. The room I slept in faces Komtar”
  • Sunrise view
Wolver1nc, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“just look for other better hotel”
Fird4us_Zakaria, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$23* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$25
Hotels.comUS$25
HotelQuicklyUS$33
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates