We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Resorts World Langkawi

10.4 km from Langkawi centre
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Tanjung Malai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Special Rate
2017 New Year Special!
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

897 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 752: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

1. Location: This hotel is at the end of the road, isolated. The place is kinda dull. No activities. No beach. If you want night life, find a hotel on cenang beach. It is really havoc and alive. But also lots of constructions going on. 2. View: We booked two rooms. One with sea view. One with garden view. And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nor shahida a
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Well I've only been here a short while but our room is spectacular. Yes it's slightly older but it's huge & has a bathtub ( which is a must for small kids. The staff were super friendly & efficient at check in & upgraded us to sea view. So far so good!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SianPenfold
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Its a place worth staying.. away from the bz beaches but still near enough if you feel like going there.. if u decide for island hopping, the jetty is just beside this place.. the renovated rooms are roomy n super clean..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ajai_Piero
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We just got in so I can't say much yet. But the staff at the reception (Diana) were amazing! Super courteous and so friendly. Upgraded us for free. So far it looks fabulous. Breakfast is buffet style. Rooms are very clean and spacious. Another review in 2 days.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank navneet h
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As people say in the reviews, rooms are too old & require a lot of renovation. I stayed for 8 nights. I am happy with the location & views. It has the potential to be the best in the region. It as the mesmerising views of the mountain/sea that cannot be forgotten. Room & restaurant service is a let down....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vineet C
NickMah, Social Media Team at Resorts World Langkawi, responded to this review

Dear Vineet C, We are very sorry for the poor service you received from the operations team. The management of the resorts has been notified and further action will be taken to ensure our valued customers experience the conforming standards of the Resorts World Brand. Looking forward in serving you better in near future. Socially Yours, Nick Mah

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay there! We knew that there was no beach but as we intended to rent a motorbike (the hotelstaff helps you get one) we didn't care. It's a bit a pricey hotel but we got an ocean view room instead of our normal room as we chose to stay in one of the "not yet renovated"...

Review collected in partnership with Hotelplan
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shiramira
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is undergoing a major renovation when we were staying towarda end of Dec 2016. The room we stayed in was newly refurbished so it was nice despite quite a long walk to reach there from the lobby. The blocks nearer to the lobby have yet to be refurbished. The pool for kids has a slide and a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaifNahar
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

It has been a great stay for 3 nights @ RWL. Nice sea view. Very helpful staff. They did their best to make our stay (with a two years old kid) easy and smooth. Upgraded our room without any extra payment as our booked room was not ready to check-in. Try newly renovated rooms, though a bit far from lobby....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amir_Tuhin
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights. The room had a splendid view but that's probably the only thing that is splendid about it. We were in a renovated room so it was clean and in good condition. The shower water pressure was very poor and we were told that we had a limit of 3 towels a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank funkych1ck
NickMah, Social Media Team at Resorts World Langkawi, responded to this review

Dear funkych1ck, We are very sorry for the inconvenienced cause at the front office, respective department heads have been notified on this to ensure similar incidents do not occur again. As for the towels, our resorts practised a go green initiative to conserved water. However, for your scenario we should have provided the extra towels. We are pleased to know...

Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

What a bad experience and never again! It started all wrong. It's very isolated from the beach and there is no beach at all. You have a shuttle driving back and forth to the nearest beach at 10 min drive, but it's unreliable and not frequent. I should have checked before. My mistake! The check-in starts at 15:00 but I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard M

913 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (883)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (223)
Viewed
View from Room (107)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (332)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.5 km away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
14.3 km away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
1.8 km away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Kuah
420 reviews
10.3 km away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#30 of 106 in Langkawi
160 reviews
14.2 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Resorts World Langkawi is located 5 minutes away from the popular Cenang Beach and Tengah Beach, and approximately 15 minutes away from Langkawi International Airport. The seafront resort and marina overlooks east of Langkawi UNESCO Global Geopark, with the Dayang Bunting Marble Geoforest as its backdrop and the sun rising along it. Peaceful and relaxing, the resort has finely furnished rooms and boasts spectacular and unobstructed views of the ocean, especially the newly renovated rooms of modern and functional design. Enjoy the convenience of our private jetty for activities like island hopping, private boat rides, sunset cruises and fishing. Intimate dining and walks along the boardwalk, or pampering at the recognized 5-star Javanese spa (Taman Sari Royal Heritage Spa), are great options for couples. The hotel also provides free shuttle to Cenang Beach 5 times a day. The idyllic Resorts World Langkawi is perfect for travelers who appreciate scenery and romance, given peace and privacy away from busy tourist centers but at the same time mobility convenience at its doorstep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Resorts World Langkawi

Address: Tanjung Malai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Porto Malai Langkawi)
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Price Range: €52 - €585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Resorts World Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Porto Malai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Awana Porto Malai Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Awana Porto Malai
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Resorts World Langkawi staff and other travellers.
48 questions
Ask a question
Townsville, Australia

My husband and I were looking at booking our accommodation during our visit to Langkawi with you. However to do this we needed some information to enable the on line booking to be completed.

Please see the email he sent to you requesting certain information (Number 1) and also the automated response from your organisation (Number 2).

UNFORTUNATELY we are not able to book with you until we receive a personal response.

Number 1 ------------------Our email to you

Good day to you,

My wife and I are interested in visiting Langkawi and your hotel looks fine on the internet.

However I have several questions for you before booking.

1. We like the Sunset Cruise Package (cut/pasted below) however we wish to stay 4D3N (06Dec to 09Dec 2016). Is this package (inc cruise) available with the extra day?

2. If so can you give me a quote?

3. Is/can breakfast be included?

4. How do we get there from the ferry terminal (we’re coming from Penang)? (Shuttle? Cost?)

5. Being a multi-storey building is there lifts to the upper floor? We both have injured knees/legs and are recuperating and have great difficulty with stairs.

6. Is there internet or Wi-Fi available (and cost)?

Subject to your reply we will be happy to book 4D3N from 06Dec2016.

Kind regards

Mr & Mrs Garry Cahill

Number 2 ------------------YOUR AUTOMATED RESPONSE

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your reply.

Our booking engine now runs on a dynamic real-time system which means that room rates will fluctuate according to current availability.

As such, email reservations are no longer available. Please book online at (removed as per guidelines) to get the best available rates.

Please do not reply this email as it is auto-generated.

 

Please refer to our Personal Data Processing Statement for more information on our privacy policy.

 

Links:

removed as per guidelines

removed as per guidelines

 

Best regards

Resorts World Genting

In all our travels around the world NEVER have we not received answers to our questions.

2 months ago

See all questions (48)

Questions? Get answers from Resorts World Langkawi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea View - can't stay here an not look at the ocean!”
 of 5 bubbles 131damiens, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for Seaview , ask for the room with Balcony, huge balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles BartGerro, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a renovated room (block 3-4) and balcony”
 of 5 bubbles catrenacjy, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room!”
 of 5 bubbles Greyhim, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“newly refurbished wing, 2nd floor with balcony but no lift access”
 of 5 bubbles sherzzzy, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5