We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Sunset Valley Holiday Houses

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Sunset Valley Holiday Houses
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunset Valley Holiday Houses
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 19 April 2016

My wife and I have been wanting a weekend away for a long time now but with busy schedules it never seemed to get sorted. That was last week and now we have just returned from a most delightful weekend at Sunset Valley. Away from it all and what to do but sit, relax, read, swim, eat and truly enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Thank you Nick for a lovely review. It was a real pleasure for us to see the look on Wendy's face when you arrived. I think she was simply amazed in the nicest way! We are so glad that in spite of your work duties you and you wife were able to relax and enjoy your all too short stay....

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Living just an hour away by flight (in Kuala Lumpur), Langkawi has been a favorite weekend getaway destination of mine for years. I've stayed in all sorts of places here, from fleabag hotels to the top luxury resorts. One place I keep returning to, however, is Sunset Valley. There are plenty of reasons for this, but overall, it's a combination...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chadley25
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Dear Chad, it was great to welcome you back to Sunset Valley last week. Gudrun and I are really pleased that you continue to delight in your stays with us here and so obviously "get" what we offer to discerning customers. You have given us a marvelous, extremely well written review, we are humbled by it and it is very...

Reviewed 26 March 2016

Live in the centre of Langkawi in a traditional Malay house which is 80 years old (we lived in Garden house, others even older) in Sunset Valley. You'll have all the necessary things inside like fully equipped kitchen to cook your own food. Or you can buy traditional Malay dishes from the stalls which are close by. If you're travelling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dmitry G
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Hi Dimitry. Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is really gratifying when our guests really understand what we offer and appreciate it so much. We love our little paradise and are delighted that you and your family did too. The beauty of being centrally located with a view over the padi fields to the mountains beyond is...

Carrickmacross, Ireland
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in the paddy house. The hosts David and Gudrun were very friendly and helpful, unobtrusive, but always available if needed. The house was clean and well equipped with everything required for a super holiday. The pool facilities were amazing, overlooking countryside- 2 sun deck areas, a hammock area and an outdoor BBQ and kitchen area...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vinjosajo
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Dear Joan and Vince Thank you for your complimentary review. Gudrun and I are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our facilities and level of service. We always aim to please as unobtrusively as possible but are always here if needed. Sunset Valley is utter paradise right in the centre of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

I will admit to being a total snob when it comes to hotels, when I book myself I prefer to know it's got 5 stars and a spa. My friend booked this place and I was hesitant in agreeing to go, relenting at the last minute and booking the Garden House. I am so glad they got me to go,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony H
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Dear Tony. Thank you sincerely for your review. We are delighted that you grew to love Sunset Valley as we do. It really is a very special place that must be "lived in" to be truly appreciated for what it is. Attitude is everything and I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed your experiences here and in our Langkawi Global...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016

The houses nare clean and well equiped if you want to go self catering, we did not but everything you would need is at hand. We were staying before our sons wedding and our and the brides family prety much took over all the houses. great pool where the grandchildren spent most of the time, Good value continental breakfast available....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond689
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Hello Raymond Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review and for choosing Sunset Valley. Sunset Valley Holiday Houses is a great location for a family gathering as there are several places where you can all get together and when one needs some peace and quiet you can retreat to your beautiful Malay kampung house. It was...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 18 March 2016

I stayed here with my wife and 3 young children for 16 nights over Christmas and New Year and had one of our best holidays ever and im still dreaming of returning. We stayed in the Field House which has a really nice terrace overlooking the paddy fields and well kept gardens, the house itself was very comfortable even with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Camereas
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Dear Michael, thank you very much for your heart-felt revue about your stay with us over Christmas and the New Year. We really enjoyed your company during the time you spent with us as guests at Sunset Valley and we were delighted that you could join us for the wonderful new year masquerade celebrations at The Westin. We would love...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 17 March 2016

My boyfriend booked this place for my 30th birthday because it looked nice and quiet and average reviews. We should have read more into the reviews before we booked this place. We booked the gate house for 4 nights and for the first two nights we didn't sleep at all because our room felt like a sauna. Paying 80$ a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sofie_Oestergaard
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Dear Sophie We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our beautiful Sunset Valley. We wonder why your very polite and well mannered boyfriend chose Sunset Valley as your holiday destination in the first place if you don't like wild life and nature because that is what Sunset Valley is all about. Choosing an...

Langkawi, Kedah, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 March 2016

We were unable to host our guest and recommended Sunset Valley to them and were invited at Christmas for an absolutely lovely b.b.q. with roasted chicken, a variety of salads, drinks and of course bathing if we so wished. Our guest were thrilled with our recommendation and could not say enough about the beauty and tropical location, as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie F
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Dear Julie We are very grateful that you referred your dear friends to Sunset Valley and of course we are delighted that they enjoyed their stay here so much. It was great that you and they could also join us for our traditional BBQ on Christmas day evening.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We booked the Forest House via Airbnb and were immensely disappointed. It was described that it “will provide luxurious space for two couples… house six guests very comfortably”, instead the house was not so ample as it is described and it felt stuffy and the bedding had a humidity smell. The description as a "modern" "2 bedroom" kampong house was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jael F
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

This review is so utterly contrary to the vast majority it defies belief. Unfortunately you found everything wrong and nothing right with Sunset Valley from the moment you arrived. We were baffled, confounded, perplexed and puzzled by your constant fault-finding and disappointed that this left you no time to enjoy this beautiful heritage place because you seemed to spend all...

263 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (227)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
14.4 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
14.0 km away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
6.4 km away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
372 reviews
3.0 km away
The Ocean Residence Langkawi
7.7 km away
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunset Valley is located in the middle of the main island of Langkawi's 99 island archipelago overlooking the beautiful rice paddies with a view to the 500 million year old geological formation and rain forest. Our resort has 6 traditional Malay houses for rent, all with inside and outside living areas, kitchen, veranda, air conditioning and western style luxury bathrooms. There is a swimming pool and pavilion with BBQ facilities in a common area. We also offer breakfast as an optional extra on request. In our little convenience store our guests can buy food and drinks for meal preparation in their own houses. This is especially convenient for late arrivals. We are happy to help and advise our guests choose the most suitable island activities for them. The most popular activities are: snorkeling or scuba diving, mangrove boat tours, luxury boat cruises, island hopping, jungle walking, kayak tours, SPA and massage treatments, and many more.Another great way to discover the island is by car or motorbike which we are happy to book for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Valley Holiday Houses

Address: Lot 2220 Jalan Makam Mahsuri | Kg Teluk, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Price Range: €55 - €113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Valley Holiday Houses 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Valley Holiday Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langkawi Holiday Houses - Sunset Valley Hotel Langkawi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Valley Holiday Houses staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Hyderabad, India
Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Valley Holiday Houses staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Talk to the helpful owners who will guide you to the perfect cottage for your situation.”
 of 5 bubbles BeverlyJ161, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose the "Forest House" for family travel”
 of 5 bubbles James_Vanessa, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Garden House is roomy and overlooks the pool, while the two-bedroom Forest House is the best choice for a family of 3 or 4.”
  • The Field House, from a previous visit -- lots of rain, so the grass was super green
  • The spacious front patio of the Paddy House
  • The Paddy House, the oldest kampung house at Sunset Valley
  • This is the Farmer's House at Sunset Valley
  • Looking at the common pavilion and pool from the Paddy House
 of 5 bubbles chadley25, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Field House and Garden house have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles Camereas, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“overpriced. they take extra money from you anyway they can.”
 of 5 bubbles Sofie_Oestergaard, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay