We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thistle Johor Bahru

Orbitz.comUS$64*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$81*
US$64*
US$66*
US$81*
US$64*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,190: English reviews
Start your review of Thistle Johor Bahru
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My Five Star for Best hotel in Johor Bahru..we had a great stay at thistle hotel..rooms are well maintained.Affordable and great breakfats buffet. weekend hotel free shuttle service was awesome, two thumbs up..looking forward too book to your hotel again soon..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfredo G
Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Back to Thistle after a few years and we were upgraded to a suite. Lovely updated room. Very spacious with tastefully decor. Paid 30RM per person to enjoy the breakfast only to be very disappointed. Not sure how long it has been, the location for breakfast is now at a much smaller venue. We had to wait for a while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elfayaa
Thistle J B, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear elfayaa, I am very sorry to read that your breakfast experience affected what could have been a more positive one for your recent stay with us. However, please be assured that your feedback is important to us and helps us to focus on what is important to our guests. Your valuable feedback with regard to the food quality &...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I booked a Superior room for 3 nights. We were disappointed with the condition of the room because it looked really dated (the pictures on Agoda certainly didn’t look like that). The bed was a little lumpy and creaky, the bathtub had cracks in it and the finishing was really poor (read: brown stains around the edges)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelicious_K
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thistle took my breath away when I first entered the area. It looked so chic and modern from the outside. Check in and check out was fast and breezy, the lobby was very luxurious. Upon entering the room, my image of the hotel started to dwindle. It's the small details, really. The furniture was a bit too old and just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jootot
Thistle J B, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Jootot, Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Thistle Johor Bahru, we appreciate all your feedback and insights. I am very pleased to read that our team members highlighted your stay experience with their warm hospitality and service. We are also glad that you were comfortable with the bed in our guest room. You will be pleased to...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a family friendly hotel. Great toilet interior & view from my room. Breakfast was good as well. Definitely a hotel we'll consider again for our next trip. Only downside, wifi was as good as none during our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bellabelle19
Thistle J B, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear bellabelle19, Thank you for your generous review of Thistle Johor Bahru, it is such a pleasure to read of your delightful experience with us. With regard to the WiFi service, we are taking steps to upgrade the system in the hotel in order to boost the signal and connectivity. We are confident that this will greatly improve on the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Book through Agoda one day before arrival. Hotel look old inside, need to refurbish most of the furniture. Got as per request, large bed, high floor. Toiletries was enough. Ordered room service, food was nice and delicious. Just to relax, away from noise. This place can be consider. Minus point is, it will be good if there 24hr minimart inside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nur D
Thistle J B, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Nur D, Thank you for your review and recommendation of Thistle Johor Bahru, it is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stays with us. We are glad that you were comfortable and were happy with our service. We look forward to deliver refreshed experiences to you and all our guests in the near future. Yours sincerely, Yeow...

Tehran, Iran
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Peole were helpful They gave us sea view room where we could watch see and even Singapore, Breakfast was amazing. Nice lobby Nice place We enjoyed 3 days Close to shopping mall and food Nice view at night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ghoghnoss
Thistle J B, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear ghoghnoss, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Thistle Johor Bahru, we always appreciate hearing back from our guests. Do stay with us again on your next trip to Johor Bahru, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Yours sincerely, Yeow Hock Siew General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in the Deluxe King room with the straits view. I was excited and surprised at the same time when I saw the mirror wall from the bath looking straight to the bed. No worries because sliding walls are provided. :) Breakfast was good, a lot of choices and tasted nice. Taxi service available so as Grab/Uber (easily available and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raven B
Thistle J B, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Raven B, My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Thistle Johor Bahru. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely, Yeow Hock Siew General Manager

Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed just for a night as we want to avoid the traffic jam at the causeway travelling into JB next morning for nephew's wedding at an event hall just a few minutes drive from the hotel. What can I say.. my first time at Thistle and I am totally impressed! Left home the night feeling kind of unwell, whats with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedJag27
Thistle J B, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear RedJag27, It gives me great pleasure to learn that you and your wife had an enjoyable stay at Thistle Johor Bahru. I am especially pleased that my team members delivered the exemplary service that made you feel comfortable and well-looked after during your stay. It is also a pleasure knowing that our room cleanliness, bed and pillows, food quality...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a quick get away.. Thank you to Kak Sofea and the team... You guys were so accommodative.. Arrived at noon and the room was ready. Got the room on the 12th floor. After check-in Kak Sofea check in on us to check is everything is ok. Supper accommodative; awesome! Thank you too for the surprised birthday cake... Hehehe; love...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TSI_DSG
Thistle J B, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear TSI_DSG, First and foremost a very Happy Belated Birthday to you from all of us at Thistle Johor Bahru. Thank you very much for commending my team members for their outstanding service. It is rewarding for them to realize that they played such an integral role in your wonderful experience with us. Sofea and the Executive Lounge team members...

1,604 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (945)
Viewed
Bathroom (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (236)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
View from Room (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (354)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (648)
Viewed
Amenities (132)
Viewed
Childrens's Pool (11)
Viewed
Double Twin Deluxe Room with Sea View (54)
Viewed
Executive City View King Room (48)
Viewed
Executive Straits View King Room (57)
Viewed
King Apartment (95)
Viewed
King Apartment with Terrace (75)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (77)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.8 km away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
10.8 km away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
8.6 km away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 108 in Johor Bahru
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
10.8 km away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
3.3 km away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 108 in Johor Bahru
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you're with us for business or pleasure, the Thistle Johor Bahru hotel provides the very best of Malaysia, including our legendary hospitality. At Thistle Johor Bahru we have 382 fully refurbished bedrooms, including 125 executive luxury rooms with spectacular sea views over the Straits of Johor. This Malaysian hotel also boasts 5, an outdoor 'resort-style' swimming pool, and fitness centre with spa. Everything you need in fact to indulge your body and soul in modern luxury and comfort. As you'd expect from a hotel in Malaysia and so close to Singapore, Thistle Johor Bahru also has superb meetings and events facilities making the hotel a prime destination for business. Thanks to our beautiful landscaped grounds, sea views and tropical climate, we are also a popular venue for weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Johor Bahru

Address: Jalan Sungai Chat, Johor Bahru 80100, Malaysia (Formerly Hyatt Regency)
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Price Range: €56 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Johor Bahru 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Johor Bahru
#2 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Johor Bahru staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Johor Bahru staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay at this hotel.”
Travelicious_K, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“good view, comfortable stay”
Jootot, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose best view”
274nurd, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for executive club for extra perks”
TSI_DSG, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have greater view (Tebrau Straits, JDT's training centre, Pool view)”
  • Bathroom view from outside
  • View from room (Tebrau Straits, Dataran Bandaraya, JDT's training centre)
  • Deluxe Room
, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$64* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$66
Expedia.comUS$64
TripAdvisorUS$64
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates