We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 102: English reviews
Start your review of Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
 Click to rate
Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is alright for the price. There are a few things that could be better maintained, but if you wanted a five-star hotel you should have stayed in America. The beach is private, so its usually not crowded. For the more open-minded or thrifty traveler interested in mingling with the locals, I highly recommend Mufrasa Backpacker Lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly N
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Only visited for lunch and Lake Malawi activities (5000 per person for boat ride, minimum of 3 or you could pay 15000 and do the ride alone). I found the front desk (for activities) and restaurant staff to be helpful and friendly. On a Sunday I had a patio lunch buffet for 10000 MWK which was pretty decent. However, one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMBTraveler
Management response:

Thank you very much for your comments on your day visit to Sunbird Livingstonia Beach. We are happy that you found the campsite and the beach area to be nice and that hotel staff are great. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and I have shared with them. Be assured, we will continue fumigating the surroundings to get lid of...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

I went to this place with a friend and her four kids. It was an Okay place. We drove about 1h30mins from Lilongwe. The road heading there was pretty narrow but not too congested. Watch out for the goats, chicken, cows on the road. The beach itself was nice and clean. There were speedboats for hire. The food was okay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NuranIdr
Management response:

Thank you very much for your comments on Sunbird Livingstonia Beach and we are happy that you found it to be a descent place and the food was good. Indeed the road to the beach is narrow and one has to be on the watch for animals on the road. We hope it was part of the experience! Thank you,...

Lilongwe, Malawi
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

My wife, son and I have spend time at the location before for day use of the beach and pool and also camping and I'd say for that it is good value for money. The rooms on the other had are not. My parents were visiting and we decided to show them the lake in comfort, boy were we wrong....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregounours
Sunbird-Malawi, Nedson Chikuta - General Manager at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I was sorry to learn of your concerns with your recent stay and at the outset would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed regarding reservation handling, pricing, condition of rooms, air-conditioning not working due to capacity of standby generator, mosquitoes and poor service. Please be assured, I have reviewed your comments with...

Reviewed 31 December 2016

I have been to many places and from my unbiased professional view: If you do love your body, I would recommend not eating the food, so terrible; buffet full of flies, more than an hour of waiting and meat gone bad still served on the table, staff looks like they don't even have an idea what they are doing. Lack...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owens J
Sunbird-Malawi, Nedson Chikuta - General Manager at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Owens, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed regarding the service you received at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach on your recent visit. Be assured, I have reviewed your comments with my team with a lot of interest and appropriate action taken to ensure continuous improvements in areas you have mentioned. Sunbird has a...

Lilongwe, Malawi
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Sunbird Livingstonia has always been one of my favourite places but today I must say I was rather disappointed with the service and quality of the food. After ordering a meal our waiter decided to hand us over to another waiter without informing us. Not only was this new waiter "Bertha" rude but acted as if she wasn't willing to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wekha
Sunbird-Malawi, Nedson Chikuta - General Manager at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Wekha, Firstly, may I apologise for the disappointment you have expressed regarding the service and quality of food on your recent visit to Sunbird Livingstonia Beach. Please be assured, the issues raised have been investigated and appropriate action taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future. We train and remind all our staff to be helpful...

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Our arrival at the hotel did not start well as the room we booked were given to other visitors, despite us requesting the specific room. However, the manager, Nedson, went out of his way to sort out another room for us. We had a wonderful time and the staff were friendly. Morris at the pool is a real treat and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J L
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of Sunbird Livingstonia Beach. We apologize for the mishap with the room that you had initially booked, but we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you back in 2017! Kindest regards.

Chililabombwe, Zambia
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Had a great time and loved the food,was so stuffed didn't manage to snorkel 🙈. Beautiful view of the lake and clear clean water. Only thing I didn't like was that we paid for a boat cruise for 2 and instead we were about 7 of us on the small speed boat, felt claustrophobic sitted inside with so many people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dingase M
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Dingase, Thank you for taking time to review your visit with us at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach. We are glad you enjoyed staying with us, and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused with the boat ride. As such, we would like offer you a complimentary boat ride for two on your next visit (all you have to...

Reviewed 11 December 2016

I stayed at this facility on the weekend of 4.12.2016 and had a very nice time. Staff are helpful with a prestine beach. Watersports and activities are available at reasonable prices. Food and accommodation is over priced as in all the Sunbird hotels. Menu is fair but still over priced.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johan L
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Johan, Thank you very much for your review of Sunbird Livingstonia Beach. We are glad you had a great stay while you were with us, and we have taken note of the issues you have mentioned in your review. Hoping to see you back sooner than later. Kindest regards.

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Very poor service takes tooo long for the food to come on your table. Waiters are very lazy. Needs some management. Very poor indeed. Waited one hour just for my sandwich. And when it came was very cold and inedible. Must improve otherwise all other areas average. Place you can forget easily in malawi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jelani M
Sunbird-Malawi, Nedson Chikuta - General Manager at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jelani M. Thank you very much for the feedback on your stay with us at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach. I am grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve service we are offering. Please be assured, I have reviewed the issues raised on service which you have mentioned takes too long for food to...

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salima
0.0 km away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
75 reviews
0.0 km away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
18.9 km away
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maleri Island
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Safari Beach Lodge
Safari Beach Lodge
#3 of 25 in Salima
91 reviews
0.0 km away
Kumbali Country Lodge
Kumbali Country Lodge
#1 of 46 in Lilongwe
120 reviews
0.0 km away
Blue Waters by Serendib
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Address: Senga Bay, Salima, Malawi (Formerly Le Meridien Livingstonia Beach)
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Salima
Price Range: €147 - €317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbird Livingstonia Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunbird Livingstonia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Hotel Salima
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Salima
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunbird Livingstonia Beach staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sunbird Livingstonia Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 220 is the jackpot.”
 of 5 bubbles VictoriaN116, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't heavily rely on using you Visa/Master cards as the machines due to connectivity”
 of 5 bubbles jamesoW1628HO, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the large deluxe rooms overlooking the Lake.”
 of 5 bubbles LRa0, 19 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The one on each extremes of the Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles sadson, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5