We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Kankaiji, Beppu 874-0822 Oita Prefecture
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$391
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/22
Travelocity
US$391
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/22
Agoda.com
US$342
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/10/22
PricelineUS$355
Hotels.comUS$391
Trip.comUS$423
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (805)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (200)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 167 hotels in Beppu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suginoi Hotel is located on the top of the hill ,Kankaiji hot spring area, that is one of the eight hot spring areas of Beppu. You will enjoy stunning view of nature as far as Shikoku Island over the Beppu Bay on a sunny day on one side and Mt. Tsurumi on the other. We offer hot springs and amusement facilities such as an open air hot spring bath "Tanayu", an open air swimsuit hot spring pool " The Aqua Garden", the bowling alley, the game center, and many souvenir shops. We continuously strive to improve our facilities and service to keep entertaining our customers. Restaurant information: Japanese restaurant HANAMIZUKI, Italian restaurant Ristorante Azzurri, Buffet restaurant Seeds and World dining Ceada Palace. See details at Suginoi Hotel homepage.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Bowling
Game room
Indoor play area for children
Parking
Public wifi
Hot bath
Rooftop pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Poolside bar
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Water park
Darts
Karaoke
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hot spring bath
Massage
Open-air bath
Salon
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
Chinese, Japanese
1112Reviews7Q+A27Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 428
  • 485
  • 135
  • 35
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
travelbird wrote a review Jan 2020
23 contributions40 helpful votes
The hotel is situated at the hill with an amazing view of Beppu City and Beppu Bay. The onsen and the heated pool are great with great views. It is so nice seeing the sunrise while relaxing in the onsen. The food in the restaurant are great, especially the beef and goose liver. Overall speaking, it's a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JN808 wrote a review Dec 2019
Honolulu, Hawaii19 contributions20 helpful votes
Imagine watching an amazing aqua light show in a pool in 40 degree weather! The Suginoi's pools heated by natural onsen water are wonderful! And although being an immensely popular hotel, the massive dinner buffet was not a chaotic, stressful experience I expected but a delicious dinner with way too many choices!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suginoihotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Suginoi Hotel
Responded 23 Dec 2019
Thank you very much for your kind reviewand choosing the Suginoi Hotel in Beppu! It is nice to receive such a goodfeedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed at “The Aqua Garden” as well as a buffet dinner.  We will keep striving toimprove our service and menu.  We are looking forward to welcoming youagain soon!  Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kumi T wrote a review Dec 2019
Portland, Oregon4 contributions5 helpful votes
At least 5 minutes walk from the main building to the stepped hot spring bath and other entertainments, of which capacity is hundreds people. Shuttles are running frequently between parking building and among other buildings. I felt like going to a crowded town rather than enjoying hot spring In Beppu. One thing bothers me a lot is their massive consumption of plastic bags handed to the guests at the hot spring bathI handed out to the guests to carry slippers in the bathroom. The hotel is not environment conscious at all.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Suginoihotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Suginoi Hotel
Responded 23 Dec 2019
Thank you for taking the time to give usyour feedback. We are sorry that your impression  was not exceeding the expectations. We had shared this information with our management meeting and will strive to improveour service and facility and hoping to make your next visit happier. We arelooking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brad D wrote a review Nov 2019
London, United Kingdom164 contributions90 helpful votes
I contemplated an average rating but then decided against it. We paid over £500 a night for a double "Japanese style" room during the RWC quarter finals. In the absence of the rugby I probably wouldn't pay £50. The beds were dire and the bathroom cramped and awful. Overall the decor was so dated that I watched Chernobyl on the flight home and the accommodations shown there seemed positively futuristic. Breakfast was a grim, school dinners-type affair that I would ideally soon forget. The positives? The staff were friendly albeit a bit unprepared for such a busy event and the thermal baths were an experience (once we found them in this monstrous place and if you don't mind getting your kit off with many strangers). Go only if you must.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Don't stay in the Japanese-style rooms unless you're Japanese
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Suginoihotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Suginoi Hotel
Responded 15 Nov 2019
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry that your impression of us was not exceeding the expectations. We will try to improve our service and facility and hoping to make your next visit happier. However, we are happy to hear that you satisfied with our staffs are friendly. Based on the opinions received from customers, we will make further efforts to improve the service, aiming to be a hotel that satisfies every customer. We are looking forward to welcoming you again near the future. Kind Regards Suginoi Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike S wrote a review Nov 2019
Los Angeles, California130 contributions128 helpful votes
The Suginoi Hotel is a very unique place. The hotel reminded me of a Las Vegas hotel without the casino. There are water and laser light shows, an arcade full of games, a bowling alley and tons of people, especially children. If you are looking for an intimate getaway, this is not your hotel. The room was very old and outdated but had a huge window with a great city and ocean view. The dinner buffet was disappointing for the food choices but the breakfast buffet was better. Both buffets were packed like a Las Vegas buffet. One night, we upgraded to the Japanese restaurant for only about $5 per person which was worth the price. Good food and very quiet and peaceful. The shining star on the hill was the onsens (hot springs) especially at night. Imagine yourself naked, in warm hot springs water with a slight ocean breeze overlooking the ocean and city lights. This experience felt like a dream. You could stay elsewhere and just pay to use the onsens but make sure you come at night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Suginoihotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Suginoi Hotel
Responded 15 Nov 2019
Thank you very much for your kind review and choosing the Suginoi Hotel in Beppu! It is nice to receive such a good feedback. We are sorry that your impression of our buffet was not exceeding the expectations. However, it is nice to know you enjoyed our Japanese Kaiseki restaurant as well as our signature ONSEN at night! We are looking forward to welcoming you again near the future. Sincerely yours Suginoi Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Silverlady2017 wrote a review Nov 2019
Leeds, United Kingdom38 contributions11 helpful votes
Didn't stay in the hotel. Just visited to use the Onsen. Great experience. The lady selling the tickets was very friendly and helpful. We found if you speak just the smallest amount of Japanese you got a really friendly response even if people did laugh at what you said!! The rooftop aspect is good if you choose your spot in the outdoor bit and it is still very private. Lovely and clean too.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Room Tip: Sorry my review is just for the Onsen as we didn't stay in the hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Suginoihotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Suginoi Hotel
Responded 7 Nov 2019
Thank you very much for your kind review and choosing the Suginoi Hotel in Beppu! It is nice to receive such a good feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facility of the Onsen. Our staffs’ motto is “smile and friendly”, so we are glad to hear that you satisfied with our staff’s service. If you have an opportunity to stay, please use our hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Sincerely yours.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon B wrote a review Oct 2019
London, England, United Kingdom7 contributions
This is one of the worst hotels I’ve ever stayed in. The staff have no idea how to help you, the rooms are like walking into the 1950s and the promises they make you about inclusive meals are generally lies. Don’t stay here if you can avoid it (you can’t during a Rugby World Cup...).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Suginoihotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Suginoi Hotel
Responded 20 Oct 2019
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry that your impression of us was not exceeding the expectations. We apologise that our staff had not explained about meals well, so that it made you confused. Our buffet restaurant close at 21:30 latest and in case of if you are late, there is no refund if you booked with a half board package. On the other hand, we have a café and bar PRONTO open until midnight which is with an additional price. We hope we can see you again in the future. Sincerely yours Suginoi Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
caca168 wrote a review Oct 2019
Hong Kong, China23 contributions27 helpful votes
Stayed one night in early Sept., feel really disappointed for the guest room which we stayed in the main building. The room was old and worn, and the room price was quite high which almost double compared with other onsen hotel in Beppu. Hotel composed of 3 buildings, perhaps it might be better if you are staying in Hana building where have water theme park, bowling and open onsen in rooftop etc..and the building look much new. We booked room with breakfast and dinner buffet, and the dinner buffet was just so so, not too much food choice, however the breakfast buffet we feel much better. Lastly, the open onsen at rooftop in Hana Building was the only thing we think can a bit compensate our expensive room rate as it was very comfortable and the view on the rooftop was very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suginoihotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Suginoi Hotel
Responded 26 Oct 2019
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel and kind comment for our hot spring, it is nice you enjoyed it. On the other hand, we are sorry for your disappointment and felt your HON-KAN room was too old. We appreciate your honest comment and we are pleased to inform that we are going to begin large-scale renovations of Beppu Suginoi Hotel for next several years. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon! Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kinki25 wrote a review May 2019
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia564 contributions120 helpful votes
Few building located togather for accommodation, and water park, and theme park and onsen under Suginoi. Many local Japanese people visit during holiday. There is provide alots of facilities such like onsen, and swimming pool with warm water, water park, and bowling and etc. Kids and children love to stay at there because just a door step to reach to all facilities. Breakfast and dinner quality is good and variety of choice.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Suginoihotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Suginoi Hotel
Responded 7 Jun 2019
Dear Adeline sama, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Suginoi Hotel. We are so happy to know you enjoy our hotel so much. It is very nice of you to indicate details of our facilities. As you mentioned, we have many family guests with young children, Thank you! (^^)/ We are continually trying to improve the variety and quality of our facilities, menu and services. Thank you for staying at the Suginoi Hotel Beppu once again and we hope to welcome you again in near future! Sincerely Suginoi Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Forrest03 wrote a review Apr 2019
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong64 contributions33 helpful votes
Location: On top of the mountains, but there are many shuttle buses you can get to the parking of the hotel and JR station. Service: Quite good and staff is very helpful. Price: Not cheap, but fair with recreational activities like inside swimming playground and hot spring. Also, the price include morning and nigh buffet which is excellent. Room is big with sea view.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suginoihotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Suginoi Hotel
Responded 3 May 2019
Dear Forrest03 sama, Greetings from Suginoi Hotel. Thank you very much for your kind review and choosing our hotel. We are glad to know you had enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning many functions and detail features of our hotel very well. We will keep strive to improve our service and facilities and looking forward to welcoming you in near future! Best Regards Suginoi Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$168 - US$262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
suginoi hotel beppu, suginoi onsen hotel beppu
LOCATION
JapanKyushuOita PrefectureBeppuKankaiji Onsen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
647
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Suginoi Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Suginoi Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Suginoi Palace (0.4 km), B-Con Plaza, Global Tower (1.0 km), and Beppu Rakutenchi (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Suginoi Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Suginoi Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Suginoi Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Suginoi Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Suginoi Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ichinoide Kaikan, Ristorante Azzurri, and Suiten Yamanote.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Suginoi Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Suginoi Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Suginoi Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Suginoi Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Beppu.
Are any cleaning services offered at Suginoi Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Suginoi Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.