We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Takayama Green Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Takayama Green Hotel
Takayama Green Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Takayama Green Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights. I had a double room but most rooms are the same size. The hotel is very dated, everything is from the 80's and although that does have a certain charm, somethings were falling apart and in dire need of refurbishing. The breakfast is ok at best but given the location, you wont find better...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ahmad A
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay at Takayama Green Hotel. We are very sorry that you enjoyed your room and breakfast. We guess you stayed at the room in Main Bldg. We have another Bldg. called "Tenryokaku". The rooms are newer and larger and have modern equipment. Did you enjoy onsen and shopping at Hida Bussankan? I appreciated that you have...

Miami
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed only one night. Found the hotel a bit dated but clean and well kept. Enjoyed the Japanese style room which we found comfortable except for the bathroom which in total is smaller than my bathtub! Staff is friendly which is normal for Japan. The unpardonable part was the food. We pretty much had no choice because odd circumstances...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience of staying at Takayama Green Hotel. We are sorry that you weren't satisfied with your bathroom and meal. We have larger rooms and Japanese restaurant, Chinese restaurant, and steak restaurant. If you stay at our hotel again, we recommend to use another type of room and restaurant. We provide guests yukata(kimono), and they can wear...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 29 April 2016

The hotel is in a good location about a 15 minute walk to the city centre. The rooms are immaculately clean as are the common areas. However the hotel has a dated feel throughout (first opened in the early 1970's). The brekfast room in particular was very bare and needs an update.The price of the rooms were also a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnR1292DJ
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience of staying at Takayama Green Hotel. Our hotel was built in 1973, and we have renovated again and again. We guess you stayed at Main Bldg. We also have new Bldg. called ”Tenryokaku Bldg.” We are very pleased that you enjoyed cycling. The guests can hire bicycles at 300 yen for 2 hours and 800...

kansas city
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed with a group. Our room was very small, bathroom was like an insert. Very small. Barely enough space for one person to stand. You had to step up about a foot to get in the bath room closet. Other members of the group had same issues. Hotel must have assigned poor quality rooms to this tour group. Restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fromkc10
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying Takayama Green Hotel. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. We guess you stayed at the room in Main Bldg. which was built in 1973. If you have a chance, we will recommend you staying the room in new Bldg. (Tenryokaku) Did you enjoy onsen? We are honored that it often...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 25 April 2016

While we did not stay here, we used their onsen - it's publicly available for a very small fee. One of the nicest kept, picturesque city-onsen's I've stayed at. As a bonus, they offer very timely massage services right outside the baths, and in the expansive lobby you can buy soft serve and beer! Fabulous find in Takayama, though a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your fantastic feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed onsen. The guests can use our onsen without booking. We have 2 onsen(1st floor and basement), both have inside and outside baths. In the 1st floor one, you can enjoy Japanese garden in the outside bath. It can surely be a little far from Takayama Green hotel to...

Wilmslow UK
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Based on the reviews I've read, expected better. Not too much to criticise about the facilities inside, but the location is way out. Walking to the station/town is uninspiring to say the least, and the hotel shuttle is very infrequent. You also need to watch out for sudden changes in the room rates: we had a 25% hike from one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mosolygo
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for giving your feedback. We are very sorry about the inconvenient location. Our shuttle bus runs every 30 minutes between Takayama Station and Takayama Green Hotel. In Japan, the room rate before holiday (Saturday, Sunday, GW, the Bon, the New Year, etc..) can be higher. Kindly understand that. We look forward to seeing you again.

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Japanese room style, fully equipped (TV, refrigerator, dinning table etc.) and clean. The onsen is wonderful. The shuttle bus runs every 15 or 30 minutes, so it was easy to head into the station and travel around the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NamPueng S
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Takayama Green Hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The onsen has good reputation because it has indoor and outdoor baths with Japanese garden, sauna and Jacuzzi. Our shuttle bus runs every 30 minutes between Takayama Station and Takayama Green Hotel. We also have free parking for 200 cars. It takes...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

The rooms were fairly large but with single, former hospital beds, the bathrooms were all equipped with various forms of invalid equipment, the sofa was stained, the main dining room, where we ate breakfast was on a cafeteria style and fairly grubby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience of staying at Takayama Green Hotel. We are very sorry that you weren't satisfied with your stay.We guess you booked a Standard Twin room in Main Bldg. The Bldg. was built in 1973, so we can’t deny that it is outdated. If you have an opportunity, we hope you book the room in Tenryokaku Bldg....

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Hotel is 15mnt walk from Jr station, and they also provide shuttle bus pick up. We enjoy the onsen very much. Two onsen , all clean and relaxing. There is outdoor one, which give total refresh experience after bath. We had dinner in hotel, they serve local hida beef with variety style of serving. Pleasant stay in tatami style room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wientje76
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review. You booked Japanese style room in Tenryokaku Bldg, didn't you? We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our free shuttle bus drives every 30 minutes between Takayama station and Takayama Green Hotel. We are looking forward to having you again.

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

We visited the onsen in the hotel, so I couldn't comment on whole place. Staff were very polite. The hot springs provided us a small free towel for washing yourself, but bring your own big towel to dry off if you don't wanna pay extra. The hot springs were clean and relaxing. There was the choice of indoor and outdoor,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
高山グリーンホテル, マネージャー at Takayama Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our onsen. The Takayama Green Hotel has 2 onsens, on the 1st floor and basement. We have also free foot-bath outside. If anyone comes around here, they can take it without constraint. It is very good to overlook Sakura with it in the latter half of April....

819 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (325)
Viewed
Amenities (60)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Tenryoukaku Japanese Room (83)
Viewed
Tenryoukaku Twin Room (69)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (233)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (195)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#9 of 172 in Takayama
663 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#13 of 172 in Takayama
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
BEST WESTERN Hotel Takayama
#15 of 172 in Takayama
458 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no yume
Oyado Koto no yume
#3 of 172 in Takayama
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have natural onsen and the largest souvenir shop in Gifu called "Hida-Bussankan". We also have 7 restaurants to enjoy Hida-beef and local food. The guests can enjoy bath, shopping and eating not only stay, so our hotel is resort type hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Takayama Green Hotel

Address: 2-180 Nishinoisshikimachi, Takayama 506-0031, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Price Range: €107 - €277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Takayama Green Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN and Agoda so you can book your Takayama Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Takayama Green Onsen Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Onsen Hotel in Takayama
#2 Spa Hotel in Takayama
#3 Family Hotel in Takayama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Takayama Green Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Takayama Green Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“splurge and take the premium room...”
 of 5 bubbles Jethro_CHF, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“just not nice”
 of 5 bubbles SueG840, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I saw 2 rooms and the both look nice”
 of 5 bubbles NaturalPestControl, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are very clean and well looked after.”
 of 5 bubbles 479stuarth, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the main building are horrible!”
 of 5 bubbles lasalsaverde, 26 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay