We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
See the most recent reviews
Showing 436: English reviews
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 13 December 2014

Have stayed here a few times with different people on a shopping mini-break/weekend, and have been satisfied every time. Rooms are always clean, check in is always efficient, and it's a nice quiet stay every time. It's a couple blocks drive from Boulevard Mall, and a good half-way point if you plan to hit both the Niagara Outlet Mall and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review about your experience. We appreciate you mentioning our clean rooms and great location to all the local shopping malls. We do our best to offer the best value for our guests. We try and balance the right amenities that our guests value while keeping our rates at a price where...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 9 December 2014

I have been staying here for weeks at a time since August 2014. The staff here is simply amazing; everyone is so friendly and quick to help me with anything I need. I love that pets stay for free, as I frequently travel with my dog. Stephanie and Dave are the two front desk staff I usually see when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate3248
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. We appreciate that you mentioned our pet policy, our nice remodeled rooms, and our amazing staff especially Stephanie and David. My staff works hard to try and ensure each guest has an enjoyable stay with us and they read each of...

Reviewed 8 December 2014

The employees at the hotel are just fantastic. The front desk staff, Stephanie and David, are always so helpful to make sure I have what I need (i.e. extra pillow, fresh coffee). The housekeeping staff, Amelia, always makes sure the room looks like you had just checked in. It feels like family when I do stay there. Great job!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al W
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. We truly appreciate that you mentioned Stephanie, David, and Amelia in your review. They are all valuable members of our team. Our staff reads these reviews all the time and they enjoy reading that people appreciate their hard work. Once again...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 8 December 2014

I stay at this hotel once a week and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when i'm in the Buffalo area. I travel frequently for my job and have stayed in many hotels over the years. The staff at this hotel are the best I've met anywhere. Everyone here goes out of their way to make sure you're well taken care...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank victor c
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stays. I appreciate you mentioning our clean rooms and our great staff. I know the staff enjoys seeing you during your weekly stays. We are happy to have you stay with us each week and look forward to your next stay.

Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 4 December 2014

We frequently stay at this hotel because it's great value for the cost, with clean, updated and comfortable rooms. We'd had an issue with another Red Roof honoring a coupon, so I emailed this location. The manager, Shawn, was prompt in his reply, and very helpful. He took care of everything for us and the service was great. I'd highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobertsonJR
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your experience. We appreciate you mentioning our clean, comfortable, and affordable rooms along with our great staff. It was my pleasure to be able to work with you to fix the issue you were having with another hotel. We value you as a...

raiderrick86
Reviewed 25 November 2014

Most importantly the room was clean and well priced. The TV worked well and it was a great location. The staff was friendly. Room was small but was there for two nights and it sufficed. Would defiantly stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raiderrick86
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. We appreciate you mentioning our clean rooms, great price, good location and friendly staff. I am sorry that you found the room to be small. We have a Superior King room which is a larger room and comes with an iron and board...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 12 November 2014

I spent a week here while in Buffalo on business and pleasure. I had a king room with a fridge and microwave. Ample space, comfortable bed, very clean updated rooms. Loved the fact that the vanity and simk were oitside the bathroom. Great location and easy to find and close to a number of amenities. Mall, restaurants, groceries, etc. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich T
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. We appreciate your comments about our clean and comfortable rooms, great location, and our great rate. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and will be back next time you return to the area. Thanks again fro staying and we look forward...

Boston
Reviewed 11 November 2014

simple rooms with bathroom and not much else.Limited towels , No coffee maker, hair dryer or even an Iron. Was going to stay for four nights but checked after one. The mattress was so bad that I woke up with extreme pain on my back. The location is fine and that's about all this place is good for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avchamp
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am glad that you mentioned our nice location. I am however very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We do provide irons and boards, hairdryers, and 24 hour coffee service in the lobby. Not all of our...

Reviewed 10 November 2014

my friend and I visited Red Roof for an overnight stay as we were shopping in the area. Room was clean, beds were comfortable and David at the front desk went above and beyond. We had read we may not have a hair dryer in our room so we asked and the front desk was happy to provide one. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie M
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. We appreciate you mentioning our clean rooms, comfortable beds, and David our friendly front desk associate. I will make sure to share your comments with David as our staff always enjoys hearing that they are doing a good job. I am glad we...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 8 November 2014

Pros: I stayed here because my boyfriend had an interview for UB medical school, which was only a 6 or 7 minute drive from the hotel. Our room had very clean and comfortable beds. Room was neatly organized. Flat screen TV with cable so I watched my food network channels. Internet was EXTREMELY Fast!!!! Staff was super friendly. My whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TweetyPie05
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. We appreciate you mentioning our clean rooms, fast wifi, our great location, and friendly staff. Our staff tries hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. I am sorry that you had to run to Walmart...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
2.7 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 17 in Amherst
249 reviews
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
3.8 km away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.9 km away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst

Address: 42 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Price Range: €49 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn University At Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Red Roof Inn Amherst
Amherst Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amherst
#4 Family Hotel in Amherst
#6 Business Hotel in Amherst
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Eatontown, New Jersey
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Superior kings and plus rooms are best value”
 of 5 bubbles tomleyes, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I described this as a Budget Hotel, but the quality and amenities of the rooms are not Budget. They are first class and excellent value.”
 of 5 bubbles PGshopper, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get an upgraded room”
 of 5 bubbles barbaraa22, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be willing to pay a little extra...look for discounts in travel magazines and internet.”
 of 5 bubbles melanieg5, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“no elevator, so if stairs are an issue, book the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles rpaters53, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay