We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fawlty Towers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Fawlty Towers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fawlty Towers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 281: English reviews
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewed 5 July 2016

I was recently at Fawlty Towers with a group and found it to be charming and very comfortable. Because of a broken ankle, I had to stay behind while the rest of my group went on safari. The staff was very kind to check on me during the day and even bring meals to my room. I especially enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dea933
ElissaDavie, General Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your delightful review. We are chuffed to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. It is always encouraging to receive positive feedback as it encourages us to keep up the good cheer. Thank you! We hope your ankle is mending well. With best wishes,...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Breakfast: There is an incredibly long process there to order and eat breakfast. Usually at least some coffee and cereal are provided for you, but not here. One has to go upstairs to the "restaurant" to see what options are available, then treck back downstairs to reception to order and pay for your meal, then take the receipt back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
ElissaDavie, General Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

Thank you Tom A for your review. I am very disappointed to hear that you had such a horrible stay with us. I am really quite surprised as you will see, on the whole, our reviews are very good and we mainly have praise for our staff and our reception are usually very affable, helpful and knowledgeable - They have...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 July 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed a night here in June. We thought it was amazing value and the host and staff were great. We had a nice room, a good in house massage, very pleasant drinks in the garden with interesting people, were directed to a tasty Italian restaurant in easy walking distance and then had a good breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie G
ElissaDavie, General Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review Nathalie G. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with your room. I am also pleased to hear that you had one of our lovely massages and made the most of our beautiful gardens. Thank you very much choosing Fawlty Towers as your preferred accommodation. With...

Reviewed 27 June 2016

This was an amazing place! It was only $12/night. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is across from a ShopRite so if you want to use the kitchen to cook your own food you can do that! There are a lot of restaurants nearby as well and it was less than 10 minutes to the falls ($5USD cab...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
ElissaDavie, General Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you were happy with our location. Thank you for pointing out the noise issue. Zambia is approaching elections later in the year and so Livingstone has gone a bit crazy with noise and excitement. We certainly can say there is a...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

I found my stay to be a very disturbing one from all the street noise, vehicle traffic, horns, car alarms and there must be a night club across the road as there was music blaring until late. The walls must be thin as you can hear pretty much everything. I didn't find the reception staff to be particularly friendly or...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Natlnatl
ElissaDavie, Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and for pointing out the positives such as a hot shower, lots of water pressure, our nice garden and pool and chill out area; convenient location and good air conditioner. Those are great positives, thank you. I am sorry that the noise was such an issue. Zambia has elections in August, so there...

bristol
Reviewed 5 June 2016

I spent two weeks at Fawlty Towers whilst visiting Zambia as a volunteer teaching assistant - this backpackers lodge is a wonderful place. It was an oasis of calm with stylish art work dotted all around the buildings and grounds. I'm a 61 year old woman travelling alone but felt happy, safe and at home in this great lodge. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Helen C
ElissaDavie, Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

It was lovely to meet you. Thank you so very much for a lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. I expect we will see you back in Zambia some day (just a hunch). With best wishes, Elissa

Berlin, Deutschland
Reviewed 19 May 2016

I enjoyed my stay at Fawlty Towers very much. Great charming crew, good service and reasonable prices. Choose between dorms and separate rooms, public kitchen available for cooking/use of fridge. Nice pool, too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knut148
ElissaDavie, General Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

Thanks very much for a lovely review. We are thrilled to hear that you found us "charming". Thank you for that. We hope you had a lovely holiday! Happy travels to your next destination. With best wishes, Elissa

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

What a place! So so gorgeous and reminiscent of days gone by, Fawley Towers International Backpackers is set at the most glorious location of town centre area. The staff are wonderful, friendly and have answers to all the queries. The information I wanted about Livingstone Town, Victoria Falls and the activities were well explained and this made me so proud...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ernestine M
ElissaDavie, Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

Ray, thank you so very much for your very thorough review via Ernestine. We are just thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate you writing such a lovely review. Thanks again, Elissa

Hounslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay and bed are very comfortable. Nice pool and bar. Very close to shops and restaurants and places to eat are very nice. The staff were very attentive and did accommodate our needs. The free pancakes were also great :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sukha S
ElissaDavie, General Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

Awesome review! Thank you very much! We appreciate the positive feedback! With best wishes, Elissa

Reviewed 17 May 2016

Very clean comfortable and friendly. Free pancakes. Short walk from centre of Livingstone. Offer activities. Supermarket is opposite and plenty of places to eat. Easy access to the Victoria falls. Very nice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aman D
ElissaDavie, General Manager at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the lovely review. We are glad you found our facilities clean and us friendly and got to sample our free pancakes. Yes, our location is just on the edge of town and close to grocery stores and restaurants so we are ideally situated. We are glad you made use of our activities office. Our staff can...

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
1.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
7.8 km away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 16 in Livingstone
1,504 reviews
7.2 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
740 reviews
0.7 km away
Jollyboys International Backpackers
8.4 km away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#13 of 79 in Livingstone
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fawlty Towers is set in a large, private garden shaded with mango trees, with a crystal clear swimming pool. We offer accommodation for those on a budget, as well as private air-conditioned rooms and with the best service in Livingstone. Enjoy our free pancakes served every day, whilst cold beers and drinks are available at the bar. Try our chef's legendary meals or have your own barbeque round the pool on our braai stand. Internet access and a Wi-Fi hotspot is available. The Lodge is in the centre of town with seven cafes and restaurants less than 500 yards away and the town's largest supermarket is just over the road. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers

Address: 216 Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road | Box 61170, Livingstone, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Price Range: €14 - €36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fawlty Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fawlty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fawlty Towers Hotel Livingstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fawlty Towers staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Fawlty Towers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dormitories mean sharing bathroom and toilet. But other options available for indivdual and family alike”
 of 5 bubbles Ruka99, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose one far from the pool”
 of 5 bubbles oldtraveller63, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All twin rooms excellent”
 of 5 bubbles suepQ466WI, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Have a private room.”
 of 5 bubbles Cookie288, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“if you can afford deluxe ... its great :-)”
 of 5 bubbles suitcase222, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay