We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Palm Retreat

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Palm Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Palm Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 31: English reviews
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 1 February 2013

It is a good overnighter to go when you are drunk. Its just a small motel. Towels had stains on it which i was not impressed. Internet speed was fast when it worked. Staff were helpful. I would not repeat.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank firatataman
Reviewed 30 January 2013

First off no elevator. Torture going up and down those stairs. Took staff 2 days to change light bulb in bathroom. Shower didnt work and they refused to fix it. Dirty towels and bathroom. Would never stay here again. If by some horrible chance you found yourself staying here, avoid the 5th floor at least. It's more motel than hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Draper88
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

Would not recommend. Out of the way hole in the ground. Should have done more research. Give 1.5 stars. Surrounded by construction noise. Will never come here again. Patong in general is a cesspool. Can go out on the street with out being hassled by locals for taxi or ping pong sex show.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank borderless1919
vimal13, Owner at The Palm Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We understand that you have been disappointed due to construction on a new hotel opposite side and construction on the main road and you have also posted photos. Let me clarify that the construction on the road is due to new pipelines been fixed by local authorities and the new hotel construction will be completed by end...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Although hotel was small, my stay there was fantastic. The room was clean and modern furnishing and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is good as there were alot of Halal food places around so it was easy for me to find food. It was only about 5 mins walking distance to Jungceylon and Patong...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Yatylicious
Kathu, Thailand
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel with the recommendations of our friends who enjoyed their experience here with The Palm Retreat. Immediately upon arrival we were greeted with a cool welcome drink and a hearty hospitality from the staff. The rooms were bigger than Holiday Inn or Ibis (previously we had stayed there) and the decor was modern with lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank premnathan007
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 November 2012

room is modern. nice little balcony.. put together nicely.. but small tiny, not much space to open bags on the floor. but the tourqoise fridge was a nice touch. staff doesnt speak english. but they try. i did not feel well and my gf ordered mcdonalds with their assistance. kind of hidden spot. hotel is hard to find. taxi dove...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mike j
UAE
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Front office staff was very helpful.They helped us in arranging a local sight seeing. Rooms are very neat and clean and spacious.The hotel is located in one of the busiest streets of Patong very close to the beach and close to all eateries. Truly value for the money. I strongly recommend this hotel for a great experience....!!

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank PillaiSuresh
Singapore
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Unfortunately, our stay was really awful. We've requested for a high floor and the room that they initially gave us was at the 5th floor. No problems with the steps (no elevator) but it was right next to the generators! It was so warm, and our AC unit was spoilt. We wanted a room change but they told us that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ro4ch
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 11 September 2012

One of my friends and myself stayed at the Palm Retreat during our visit to Phuket. This hotel was recommended by one of our friends who had been there before. When we reached there, we were warmly welcomed by the hotel staff. The rooms are very spacious, the interiors are very finely designed and the bathrooms perfectly compliment the room....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Mandaar_12
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Two friends and myself stayed at the Palm Retreat in August and were not disappointed. We had originally booked a non refundable room for 3 nights, however as my friend became sick while on Phi Phi island we could not make the full duration. Although thinking our money was gone, we decided to contact the hotel to see if a...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank AndyStewart7

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathu hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Orchid Inn
Grand Orchid Inn
#144 of 319 in Patong
79 reviews
0.7 km away
The Crib Patong
The Crib Patong
#73 of 319 in Patong
328 reviews
0.2 km away
The Shades Hotel
The Shades Hotel
#37 of 222 in Patong
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Banana Leaf Hotel
The Banana Leaf Hotel
#53 of 222 in Patong
27 reviews
0.9 km away
Lemongrass Hotel
Lemongrass Hotel
#8 of 401 in Patong
251 reviews
0.0 km away
Frog House Bed & Breakfast
Frog House Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 222 in Patong
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The PALM RETREAT is situated in the heart of Patong bay and the world famous beach. it is 5 minutes walking distance to the biggest shopping mall, The Jungceylon, and the night spot of Phuket, The Koi Bangla Street. Very convenient, clean surroundings, great hospitality and a peaceful environment without any bar/disco or a restaurant.."Home away from home" ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palm Retreat

Address: 231-233 Palmsquare, Rat-U-Thit, Pee Road | Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Price Range: €17 - €32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palm Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palm Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm Retreat Phuket/Kathu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Palm Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Palm Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont have lift, not convenient for heavy luggage travelers”
AstricK, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Take the lower floor, no elevators.”
shilz, 31 Mar 2013 | Read review
“No Elevator.”
firatataman, 31 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Rooms on the lower floors are recommended”
premnathan007, 19 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Avoid the 5th floor rooms - very warm. As they're located right next to the generator and laundry.”
ro4ch, 13 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5