We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Planet Lodge

Show Prices
#3 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Planet Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Planet Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 293: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 8 January 2017

I stayed at this hotel twice just before a safari and Kilimanjaro climb. It was extremely comfortable with nice bed, sheets, warm shower. It was a welcome addition to my safari and climb since I would be in a tent for 2 weeks. The staff was incredibly helpful, good english skills. Morning breakfast was quite good as well. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chinomad60640
Binfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

This hotel is very far from being cheap, but the service is well below expectations. We stayed for one night only (as most tourists before/after their safari), but experienced way too many problems to enjoy this hotel. First, they failed to meet us at the airport - and even when we called them, they were unaware of any problem (and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alexsas777
PlanetLodges, Operations Director at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Alexsas777, Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Planet Lodge. In reading your review I see that there was misunderstanding with your transfer and how our free shuttle service works. Starting with the airport transfer; clearly did not have your transfer request because even the prices you are quoting do not exist here... we charge...

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I've stayed at the Planet Lodge twice over the past few years, before climbing Kilimanjaro and after my Serengeti Safari, and I'm surprised that anyone could write a negative review about this place! It's clean, the rooms are very comfortable, the staff are friendly and welcoming, and the food is great. The road to the hotel is unpaved and very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WMKK1974
Houston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

It is a basic place, they are very welcoming and attentive but there is a lot of room for improvement: 1. Mosquito nets don't cover very well all the bed until the floor. 2. Breakfast is very basic and not really good. 3. Dinner prices are a bit too much for what you get. Quality of dishes is between average...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aowen5
PlanetLodges, Operations Director at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear aowen5, Asante for taking time to write about your recent stay with us. Kindly allow me to respond to some of your suggestions for feedback: 1) Mosquito nets - We've addressed this feedback with housekeeping and all nets were made long enough to cover the beds with the colored bottom fabric folding slightly on the floor around the beds....

Hillsdale, Michigan
Reviewed 2 January 2017

I arrived late after a long flight from Detroit via Amsterdam. After a nice greeting I was quickly taken to my room. It was clean and nicer than expected - I had read a few negative reviews beforehand. The staff was very helpful and the dining facility was very good - couldn't have been better. A beautiful facility - the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gethursby
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We were looking forward to staying at this place, having read the reviews of past travelers. However, our stay was just average. The staff members were rude and gruff, the only warm person being the manager, who greeted us upon our arrival. The gaggle of housekeepers sitting around gossiping on the stoop of our room when we arrived to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank La_tiburona
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Our stay was short but nice. We arrived very late but were greeted warmly. All of our interactions with the staff, both before and after we arrived, were friendly and professional. Our room was clean and pleasant and breakfast was enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KM2013_05
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 December 2016

A friend and I stayed at this hotel at the end of our 22 day trip in Tanzania. After the wonderfully friendly service we received everywhere else in the country, this hotel seemed to lack the same sparkle. The room was adequate with everything you need. There is some need for repairs, but nothing to be too concerned about. Overall,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RKumara
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Good spacious and clean rooms in Arusha. Nice pool with view on Mt Meru. We had a very nice and relaxing day after our safari. Food is good and offers plenty of choices. Service is ok, some staff members could be a bit friendlier but overall good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuliaTrevi
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Karibu!! This place is where I first landed before Mt Kili and the night before my Safari. What an awesome staff!! So welcoming and full of smiles!! Helpful staff and great food. Glory is their full time maintenance/grounds keeper. She was up at 2 AM when I went to bed and she was still up at 7! I was able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benicha56

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
0:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
5.1 km away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
858 reviews
14.1 km away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
393 reviews
5.8 km away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 42 in Arusha
85 reviews
4.2 km away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
131 reviews
6.9 km away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 42 in Arusha
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Planet Lodge

Address: Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Price Range: €83 - €151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Planet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Planet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arusha
#5 Business Hotel in Arusha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Planet Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Eden Prairie, United States
Eden Prairie, United States

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Planet Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room away from the road (dust and noise)”
 of 5 bubbles Alexsas777, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good. The pool is inviting if you have time.”
 of 5 bubbles benicha56, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No idea on pricing since this was a package put together by our travel agent.”
 of 5 bubbles hkillary, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we were in an outside bungalow and certainly never heard any noise.”
  • We stayed in Unit 28 which was clean, comfortable and close to the pool.
 of 5 bubbles LornePark, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms look similar. Lower numbers nearer restaurant and reception.”
 of 5 bubbles ElizabethH326, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5