Amagi Aria
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Amagi Aria

Traveller (677)
Panorama of the Deluxe Room at the Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
360
Panoramas (15)
Lagoon view suite with Jacuzzi
Room & Suite (271)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
€66
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
€55
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No fees just great deals
€43
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#17 of 114 hotels in Negombo
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
A LUXURY 4 STAR HOTEL NEAR COLOMBO INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT Amagi Aria offers a sanctuary among four-star Negombo hotels, with a natural beauty framed against the magnificent lagoon backdrop. At Amagi Aria, guests will discover how easy it is to be inspired; panoramic views of the lagoon, warm and friendly service and access to Negombo’s most sought-after experiences. The 68 well-appointed guest rooms and suites offer spectacular accommodation in Negombo. The room categories comprise of deluxe and luxury suites, each boasting a fresh and relaxing setting, with contemporary design, modern amenities and world-class comfort as well as private balconies, overlooking the lagoon, pool or garden. The suites are equipped with private Jacuzzis on the balcony – your own private sanctuary. Amagi Aria serves as a dining destination for both residents and visitors. Your culinary adventure begins at Moya – a fine dining seafood restaurant in Negombo which takes its name from the Sinhalese term for the place where the lagoon meets the sea, an ideal representation for the restaurant that is designed around the succulent delicacies available in the seas around Sri Lanka. The Catamaran Restaurant offers guests an opportunity to experience cuisines from around the world, prepared to perfection by Amagi Aria’s team of skilled chefs. For private dining experiences, the Tree House can accommodate up to 15 guests and The Pontoon can accommodate up to 20 guests. Quiet evenings can be spent enjoying a variety of innovative cocktails, classic drinks and fine wines on the Grand Lawn or Sunset Deck, which boasts spectacular vistas and glorious sunsets over the lagoon waters. Bask in the warm Sri Lankan sun whilst you relax by the pool before a cool dip to unwind your mind and body. Amagi Aria is located just 10 minutes from Sri Lanka’s premier international airport and the coastal tourist-centric town of Negombo
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Poolside bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

640/82 Colombo Road, Negombo 11500 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 48 out of 100
48
Bandaranayake Intl Airport
Diyawanna Oya Seaplane Base
32.3 km
See all flights
569Reviews6Q+A81Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 298
  • 120
  • 74
  • 42
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
kayceedaa wrote a review Feb 2020
Kolkata (Calcutta), India4 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel has very good location but the deluxe rooms on 2nd floor of lagoon facing building had no lift access and this should have been communicated while we were pre booking . The mini bar never had any stuff put in and was for show only. Even the tea bags and bodywash & soap etc were never replenished. May be the stairs discouraged the housekeeping staff from attending & maintaining these rooms at farthest points.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AMAGI L, General Manager at Amagi Aria
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Thank you for the feedback given through a review base on your recent holiday experience. We have noted your comments very constructively and will be followed by action to avoid repetition in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NirmalaSivasanthar wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom33 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I knew I made the right choice the moment our van stopped in front of the hotel. One would never believe there is a hidden gem tucked away from the main road. We were a group of 4 people and check in was smooth and without any hassle and the Front Desk staff were very friendly and extremely courteous especially Udara and Gagana. Ms Udara is a friendly and beautiful person with a lovely smile and her hospitality and service was fast and precise in checking all of us in and and we were even offered welcome drinks. The room itself speaks for itself and the lagoon view was the right choice, for which I need to compliment my husband for choosing it. The room was clean and big and had all the amenities which it said. The extra touch of making us a pair of swam from the towel was an added bonus and made it even special, for which I must compliment the housekeeping department. The boys who brought up our bags were so careful with it and were very helpful. We booked half board so the dinner and the environment in the restaurant and service was simply marvelous. I have to mention the most intriguing person we met there Mr Azik, who was in charge of the restaurant. He was super friendly, very helpful and had the best smile ever and what made it more special was he spoke Tamil :) The breakfast buffet the next morning was simply enormous and they had so much of variety to choose from from native food to English food. The view around the hotel was breath taking as the lagoon was just beautiful to look at and at night with the lights on, it was simply splendid. In all, the stay was memorable thanks to the staff and their friendliness. I would definitely recommend this place and hopefully will make another visit next year and this time stay longer than 2 days. Amagi Aria has given me lots of wonderful memories to bring back to UK and I would like to say thank you to the management for employing such well mannered and friendly staff as they are the ones that create a lasting impression in our minds. Once again Thank You
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All the room are quiet and its more to what kind of view you would like to see from your balcony...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte wrote a review Feb 2020
Enfield, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Amagi Aria not only offers a stunning tranquil setting but also has the staff and food to go along with it.
The staff were brilliant from the offset, very friendly, helpful and polite.
Our room was lovely with a beautiful lagoon view and was cleaned daily as well as bottled water left daily.
The food was stunning, thanks to all the kitchen staff for going out of their way to cater to our needs and ensure our stay was as brilliant as it was.
We would also like to give a special thanks to Subash for going above and beyond and Malinda for his exceptional service, there are many others we would love to personally thank but unfortunately my original review I tried to post seems to not have loaded and I have now misplaced their names, I hope they know who they are as they really did help to make our holiday as brilliant as it was.
Thanks so so much to all the staff at the Amagi Aria, hope to be back soon.

All the Best,

Charlotte and Mr Mauri : )
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nomad5586 wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A fat female worker of restaurant is racism, no hospitality for Asian guests. She treats Asian guests under discrimination.
Bath room of given room has bad smell like public dirty toilet. It is hard to stay longer in the bath room. On the inlet is dirty and smell is bad. It is no value to stay there without transit. Shuttle service of the hotel to airport is 1500Rs and uber taxi is just 500Rs.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AMAGI L, General Manager at Amagi Aria
Responded 4 Jan 2020
Dear Guest most of our guests are Asians and we don't discriminate and certainly don't entertain racism! Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenienced caused at the restaurant. you sat at a table that was reserved for a family who was serving themselves at the time you sat and probably you were irritated by the tone or poor English of the server (as per you 'fat female') As per the room drainage smell, wish you had brought to our notice immediately to attend to which has now been taken care of by the engineering team. We always strive to be the best at what we do and wish to kindly ask from our future guests, please let us know immediately if you are inconvenienced and we will do our best to resole the issue on hand as we want you to enjoy your stay with us. With regard to the taxi fare, we offer safe travel with our knowledgeable drivers and service comes at a price. No one is forcing you to travel with our taxi service and with whom and for what price you choose your transport is not our concern! General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maps824397 wrote a review Feb 2022
Stockport, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Customer service is not the focus of this hotel. The front desk staff are surly, ignore you or give the impression they are doing you a favour.

Although check out is midday expect to be asked at 9am if they can "clean the room"
DO NOT book a standard room they are absolutely filthy. With old broken sliding doors and bamboo blinds that do not work.

Although some of the restaurant staff were lovely the food is not it ranges from bearly edible to OMG what's this. Expect payment to be the Paramount important subject and you'll get the bill whilst still eating.

Although mosquitoes are to be expected the hotel makes no effect to control the quantity, so unless you use industrial strength deet, cover up ever part of you, including your face expect to be bitten..... A lot. I got bitten 7 times on my face in one afternoon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Go some where else, you'll enjoy Negombo more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IT Manager -Amagi Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Amagi Aria
Responded 10 Mar 2022
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your stay with us and appreciate very much for your reviews, and for your contribution. And I am apologizing, for behalf of management and staff and please feel sorry for inconveniences, Hope to see you again with our warm welcome and great hospitality. Thank you, Reservations & Digital Marketing Team – Amagi Aria
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sali B wrote a review Apr 2022
Swansea, United Kingdom7 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Amagi Aria hotel is very well run, with delicious food, clean rooms, attentive staff, pleasant views, close proximity to the Airport.

We were particularly pleased by the services offered by their in house masseuse, the two receptionists, Krismi and Sachini, and their suggested tuk tuk driver, Asitha.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to visit Sri Lanka, in particular people wishing to acclimatise in a peaceful environment on arrival, or for people leaving Sri Lanka and wanting a stay close to the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IT Manager -Amagi Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Amagi Aria
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Dear Madam & Dear Sir, Thank you and appreciate very much your reviews on our Trip advisor fan page and for your contribution, We also hope to see you again with our warm welcome and great hospitality. Thanks, you. Digital Marketing Team – Amagi Aria
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Saroj R wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia116 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We throughly enjoyed our stay at this resort. The staff are absolutely delightful and made us feel very comfortable and welcome after a long flight. The room was comfortable. The food was delicious - both breakfast and lunch had a wide variety of choice and well prepared. The pool was well maintained and we enjoyed a cocktail at the poolside
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anu wrote a review Feb 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We wanted to visit this property for years, Unfortunately, this will be my first and last visit to this resort. Had very high expectations after checking the photos, the hotel premises has not been maintained for years. Initially, I had an issue with the room provided, rooms have not been maintained.bed metres not comfort..It feel like 'kohu metres'.Food was tasty even though there were very few varieties. The dishes did not have proper name tags and they don't re-fill the food timely had to inform them to get the re-filled and takes ages to refill items in the buffet. They not provided any seafood item in dinner or breakfast buffet..(fish only..no cuttlefish ,prawns or crab).The staff is not very polite and no nothing about customer satisfaction...they always have big 'NO' what we asked. (When I asked finger bowl to my mother they sayed go wash room,when I asked rice &curry they sayed no,when I asked to take sea food they said no but it advertise every where they have sea food resturant.) The swimming pool has not been cleaned and dint look like the water was new. Not recommending to anyone to visit this place unless you want to spoil your holiday and money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IT Manager -Amagi Hotels, Owner at Amagi Aria
Responded 14 Feb 2022
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your stay with us and appreciate very much for your reviews, and for your contribution. And I am apologizing, for behalf of management and staff and please feel sorry for inconveniences, We will take your comments as positive and will take necessary actions for prevent these issues in future. Hope to see you again with our warm welcome and great hospitality. Thank you, Reservations & Digital Marketing Team – Amagi Aria
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shivantha F wrote a review Apr 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka28 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice hotel very close to Negombo. About 30mins from Colombo. We booked the hotel for a weekend getaway.

Check in was smooth. We got two rooms one with a Lagoon view whit the other was a "city view".

Rooms are large. Good AC. Nice bedding. Spacious luggage space. Can easily have another bed.

Bathroom was large. Good gush of water. Hot and cold.

Top marks for the room

The pool is small a bit too close to some rooms. Water may even splash in to some rooms. Apart from the pool nothing much to do. Lagoon is easily accessible. Would have been concerned if I had young kids running along. There was wedding happening the nextday with VVIP attendance. Hence there was lot of clutter.

Buffet dinner and breakfast was great. Good spread of Sri Lankan , Indian and western food. Was indeed impressed. Fish,chicken, beef and pork. Breakfast was a treat as well. Western and Sri Lankan . Fish curry was certainly fresh and tasty. However restaurant service was a bit slack. Had to wait a while for a water refill. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a place close to the airport or to get a quick breather from city life.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Definitely ask for lagoon view rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IT Manager -Amagi Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Amagi Aria
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Dear Madam/Dear Sir, Thank you and appreciate very much your reviews on our Trip Advisor fan page and for your contribution, We also hope to see you again with our warm welcome and great hospitality. Thanks, you. Digital Marketing Team – Amagi Aria
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gaurav M wrote a review Jan 2023
8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The food is mouth watering, staff is well trained and knows how to take care of the cause customer.
This is a highly recommended place, the lagoon view is priceless, location is peaceful.
Kudos the management, specially Mr Lakmal.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IT Manager -Amagi Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Amagi Aria
Responded 8 Jan 2023
Dear Sir, Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor based on your transit visit experience at the Amagi Aria and for all the lovely compliments extended towards staff and service. We look forward to welcome you back with many friends in the very near future. Thanks, you. Management Team – Amagi Aria
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tiggyboo asked a question Jan 2020
Swansea, United Kingdom344 contributions2 helpful votes
Do you have a late check out as have a late flight home ?
Answer from Sajini C
Galle, Sri Lanka18 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes they arranged. But chargeable. Because our flight time was 12.25 midnight
Rohini Chopra asked a question Nov 2019
Mormugao, India21 contributions2 helpful votes
How far it or from the main city center? Colombo?
Answer from skype4
33 contributions15 helpful votes
40 minute drive
Answer from Renuke C
Negombo, Sri Lanka3 contributions
Dear Millie, Greetings from Amagi Aria!!! As i see the booking has been done trough aqoda, you should have received a e-mail from them confirming the booking. if not received kindly contact them and you should be able to get a reply with a confirmation. However i have the booking updated on our system stated as arrival on 22nd August 2018. Thank you, Rodney Plunkett Front Office Manager
Daniel C wrote a tip 21 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool and the amazing view is great "
Read full review
aoife wrote a tip 6 May
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid staying here"
Read full review
Coastal68388399214 wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please don't try the buffet on weekdays. The staff is disgustingly misleading. "
Read full review
CambridgeJenni wrote a tip Mar 2024
100 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the rooms in the old block above the restaurant."
Read full review
Marianne Hanudel wrote a tip Feb 2024
Manama, Bahrain22 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easy parking and quick access to busy Negombo"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Negombo area.
PRICE RANGE
€36 - €65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
LOCATION
Sri LankaWestern ProvinceNegombo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMAGI ARIA - Now €44 (Was €̶6̶6̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Negombo, Sri Lanka) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Amagi Aria
Which popular attractions are close to Amagi Aria?
Nearby attractions include Destination Sri Lanka (0.5 km), maxx tours (0.5 km), and Avaa Travels (pvt) Ltd (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Amagi Aria?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Amagi Aria?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Amagi Aria?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Amagi Aria?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Amagi Aria?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moya, Bamboo beach, bar and kitchen, and Bloo Peacock by Nayomi Jayamaha.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Amagi Aria?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Amagi Aria have airport transportation?
Yes, Amagi Aria offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Amagi Aria?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Amagi Aria offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Amagi Aria have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lagoon view available here.
All Negombo HotelsNegombo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NegomboHotels near Amagi Aria
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire