We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Atapattu Walawwa House

35 Lower Dickson Road, Galle 80000 Sri Lanka
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#88 of 282 Speciality lodging in Galle

A Protected monument 260 years old .An architectural gem around 8000 square feet and a well manicured garden of 1.5 Acres in the heart of the city 15 minutes walk away from the Fort and 5 minutes from the city. The beach of Unawatuna is 15 minute in a Tuk Tuk.

If crass commercialisation that defines modern hotels detracts from the authenticity of your event or your stay in Sri Lanka then we invite you to enjoy the rustic hospitality honed over centuries offered by Atapattu Walawwa. From the delicious healthy village cuisine to the profound immersion into the serene granduer of Sri Lanka's past , You are sure to be liberated for a while at least from the maddening monotony and bland homogeneity of modernity.

Read more


Full view
62Somewhat walkable
Grade: 62 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
35 Lower Dickson Road, Galle 80000 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Bandaranayake Intl Airport131 kmSee all flights
Koggala Airport14 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
12Reviews1Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rajitha Halwela wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Atapattu Walauwa is an authentic property true to its heritage. For a Sri Lankan, it is a reminder of a bygone era, and the religious and cultural values that inspired our design. In essense this property is the story of Sri Lanka ovet the last few centuries. I commend Dr. Gunoonethillke for tastefully preserving the property as it is, without tainting it with modern elements that would be out of place. The staff are friendly and attentive. I recommend this place for any visitor to Galle, as it's close to key sites in the historic and modern parts of yeh city.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Khang Khang wrote a review May 2019
1 contribution
With the dangerous situation in Sri Lanka after some terrorist's explosions in April 2019, we intented to cancel the booking but then we would like to change the check-in date so that we can enjoy Sri Lanka safely. However, the hotel didn't agree with the change. Moreover, the reception handed up the talk on the phone cruelly when we called the hotel to ask for change. After all, the hotel told us if we don't come, it is considered as no-show. We have travelled through many places for a week in Sri Lanka and we had to change the plan a lot because of the terrorism and security, most of the hotels where we stayed totally agreed to cancel or change the booking, they understood the situation and the were happy to support us and please our request to make the trip fulfilled. Except this hotel! Shame on you!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
SKumaraJ wrote a review May 2017
Kandy27 contributions3 helpful votes
Its locate outside the busy Galle city . we had a very mind relaxing time during our short visit to this place.. Walawwa surrounded with beautiful garden and got charming swimming pool. Place got no AC’s in rooms only natural air. But it grate experience who love to stay with old memories.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
ScottInIndia wrote a review Jan 2017
Washington DC, District of Columbia155 contributions125 helpful votes
Atapattu Walawwa is located just outside the Galle historic center in what was formerly the residence of a local justice. The 200 year old estate has been faithfully refurbished with period pieces and modernized with state of the art bathrooms, a swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. There is, however, no television and no air conditioning. If you require either, this is not your place. If, however, you prefer to stay in a beautiful mansion, with beautiful out buildings and a beautiful garden then Atapattu Walawwa might just be the perfect place for you. Staff seems willing to do whatever it can to make your stay completely wonderful. Breakfast is included in your tariff but you can also have your other meals here too. It seems as if it’s the two women who do breakfast and lunch and the two men do dinner. We had a few extra meals and they were quite delicious. Rooms – there are a variety of styles – are exceptionally spacious and supplied with plenty of towels and toiletries. It’s easy to get “downtown” – you can even walk it if it suits you – and given the crowds that can clog the streets in the historic district, Atapattu Walawwa is a peaceful retreat in a world all its own. On the other hand, if you are looking for fun, music and the high life, this is not the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
George H wrote a review Jan 2016
Cheltenham, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice building and can understand why people like it but extremely expensive for what it is. I would not go back as there were issues with the room which weren't good enough - all of which were very basic and poor. But it needs to drop its price!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
Response from Janaka G, Owner at Atapattu Walawwa House
Responded 8 Jan 2016
I am sorry you were disappointed but we get all sorts. Demand for refunds and refusal because you wished to change your itenary should not be used to denigrate any institution.
Read more
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictGalle
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Atapattu Walawwa House
Which popular attractions are close to Atapattu Walawwa House?
Nearby attractions include Forbes Gems & Jewellers (1.1 km), Galle International Cricket Stadium (1.1 km), and Saint Mary's Church (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Atapattu Walawwa House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Atapattu Walawwa House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Atapattu Walawwa House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Atapattu Walawwa House?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Atapattu Walawwa House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tokyo Ice, Sunset Paradise Restaurant, and Ladyhill Hotel Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Atapattu Walawwa House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Atapattu Walawwa House have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Atapattu Walawwa House offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Atapattu Walawwa House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Galle.
Are there any historical sites close to Atapattu Walawwa House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications (1.9 km), Galle Fort (1.4 km), and Meera Mosque (2.0 km).