We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Surf Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

775 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Surf Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 578: English reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great but the staff are ill mannered and rude. The bathroom is awful with no place in the shower to keep your soap and towel and is flooded with water. Rooms are not cleaned ,crockery is not cleaned or changed. And above all I repeat I have not come across such rude hotel staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sutapa70
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, Your comments are well noted.please accept my apology for not meeting with your expected service standards by our staff during your stay with us. However, we will take your comments seriously and include in our training for the staff to understand as how to act in difficult situations. Thank you so much for reviewing us. Good luck.

Newcastle
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This hotel was clean with a nice view over the pool and beach however we found reception staff to be off hand and unhelpful. Before we left Australia we had emailed regarding a late checkout and on arrival we asked again as there had been no reply from numerous requests during our journey. We were promised contact with the manager.....we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank asiantraveller50
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, your valuable comments are very much appreciated. We would certainly look into your concern with regards to communication. Thank you and all the very best.

Reviewed 12 October 2016

The Superior rooms are just the basic ones,The bathrooms lack basic things . Only a hand shower is provided.There is no place to place the soap gel/shampoo etc in shower area. The Bfast buffet is horrible.Dosas and Idlis were dry and stale.They served complimentary hair with Dosa..IKKS.......!!! Staff is too arrogant ,had to plead the waiters to get the desired...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Prajakta D
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Prajakta, Thank you for the useful comments. We will for sure look into the concerns, highlighted which will help us to improve our services . Thank you and good luck.

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Basic rooms (although advertised as "superior"). Does not look like it has been cleaned properly for quite some time. Even the inside of the safe was dirty (room 137). A shower in the bathroom will wet the whole space including the toilet, so make sure you order extra floor mats. Buffet food average. Ambience not so good - people pushing-in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Letetia G
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for the review. The contents are well noted and will be cascaded to relevant departments. Looking forward to welcome you again at the surf hotel. Take care and good luck.

Reviewed 9 October 2016

Pros - Beautiful hotel on the beach. - Two lovely pools. - Nice breakfast lots of choice. - Our room was great - nice and spacious with a balcony looking out across the beach and sea. - Cocktails were super boozy which we loved! Cons- None We had dinner at Hotel so didn't venture out in the local area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aejackson18
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for the review. It’s a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed our large beach facing rooms, great food verities and beverages. Looking forward to welcome you again at the surf hotel. Take care and good luck.

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Writing this review sitting in the hotel and utterly disappointed with the rooms. Location is good, clean stretch of beach but ROOM feels ancient Everything about the room is pathetic, foul smell, worn out fabrics, tiny balcony, AC is namesake and doesn't cool at all. I am yet to try the food here but my holiday is already spoilt thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Webinav
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay. The contents are well noted and will be cascaded to relevant departments to give you the Hospitality at It’s best. Looking forward to...

Ragama, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Room number; 242 2016/10/01 to 2016/10/02 (one night) Its great hotel & we enjoy it.....& There's two pools also...And the foods are very taste... Customer care is perfect on this hotel... i like this hotel very much and will be come soon....🤘😜😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rexdy
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Rexdy, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for the review. It’s a pleasure to note that you had a awesome stay with us. As well as we are glad to know that you have enjoyed our great food verities and professional customer service. Looking forward to welcome you again at the surf hotel....

Cairo
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Highlights: 1- Amazing location stretching over a large area of bentota beach 2- Great Seafood aim for a deluxe platter in the seafood restaurant on the beach 3- Amazing pools they have 2 both looking at the sea. The relaxation pool which is 1.2 meters deep stretching across several rooms and the deep pool next to the spa 4- Bali...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pyrozoa
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for the review following your stay at our hotel and It’s a pleasure to that note that you have enjoyed our beach facing room, fresh sea food, NIROGI spa service, newly renovated swimming pools and super friendly staff. We hope you will continuing stay with us...

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Rooms - The rooms are touching the beach makes you feel awesome and great. They have 2 great pools. A nice lounge. Staff - Unfriendly & rude. They get upset very easily. They don't smile. A special Thank You to RANDY the duty manager who threw so much attitude at the time of room allocation and insulted me. When Escalated...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MeherVGulani
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay. We thank you again for the constructive feedback which is truly invaluable. We will be sharing your review with our team and certainly...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Me and my wife visited here on September 17 for a one night stay under full-board basis. Hotel looks very clean and tidy. Rooms were very nice and i was little surprised with the luxury they had in there for the price i got (LKR 16k F/B). Room (No.147) opens straight to the "Cool Pool - Swimming pool" and it's...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank chirart
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for the review. It’s a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed the our hotel location, food and lovely commendation of our associates. We will indeed share your kind words with them. Other contents are well noted and will be cascaded to relevant departments. Looking forward...

1,380 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1049)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (221)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (245)
Viewed
View from Room (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (379)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (272)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (49)
Viewed
Gamburu Deep Pool (26)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
Swimming Pool (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.1 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.3 km away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 km away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
5.0 km away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Price Range: €89 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#7 Family Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Surf Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from The Surf Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a room from 3rd floor for best view and privacy - e.g. 309/308”
 of 5 bubbles JaniS68, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a ground floor room that opens up onto the nice expanse of grass leading to the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles HollandSpore, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“check your room before check in and make reservations for restaurants”
  • view from the room
 of 5 bubbles bikibirsingh, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms have little to no privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles Familynortheast, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms are lovely opening onto the pool”
 of 5 bubbles 44scooby44, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5