We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ganges Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ganges Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 82: English reviews
Start your review of Ganges Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The owners are very nice people. The rooms on the back do not have windows, this makes the rooms stuffy and there is mold on the wall which smells bad. Pros: location very near Ganga Arati Cons: hard to reach, cannot reach by car or rickshaw. We had to get a local guide to take us there for the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zen M
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Bad in every way - cold and dark.. The owner invented an excuse to not put the heater on.. He also dod not supply extra blankets. He arragend taxis etc at an inflated rate. the taxi's were the lowest quality. He was often not there. In his place was an attendant who did not speak English and slept most of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsMarshalll
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I Been Varanasi in pick season there to much rush & no rooms because of. Dev Diwali festival. the main thing is i have to cheek out on festival date. & my girlfriend get sick. and then i request to hotel manager for stay one more night. they said us they have booking for a group. and As per our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christopherbrysha
Sachin G, Owner at Ganges Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We really appreciate your feedback thae you really felt like home. We want try to the guest to feel like home. They can guide us they tell us what they require. We are here to help you see Varanasi without hassle and stressful way.

LINCOLN DISTRICT
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Room had no windows nowhere to eat ( except tray on your sitting on your bed) Breakfast brought to room generally not when ordered, no rooftop terrace that's opened due to monkeys on the roof Tv in room did not work

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DISTRICTLincoln
Sachin G, Owner at Ganges Inn, responded to this review

Namaste, We thank you for the feebback Dear Sir we would like to inform that we are Bed & Breakfast accommodation therefore we prepare the order according to the guest requirements. We dont have buffet system. We are sorry for that. The room which you booked did not have any window but its fully Air Conditioned. The monkeys here are...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Please do not book this hotel. They cancelled our rooms in last minute on the day of check in. We made our booking for Dev Deepawali two months advance and found this hotel location wise was very good . We keep communicate with the hotel regading our rooms and over the e mail they reconfirmed our bookings and Mr. Shashank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shobikhan0405
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The place is a little hard to get to. No taxis get there, nor rickshaws and Google maps puts it somewhere near but not exactly. One must ask- a few times- to get there. It's through the maze of the many Varanasi corridors, which is a must anyways in Varanasi. It's near the main ghats so walking to the 6:30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katiuska15
Sachin G, Owner at Ganges Inn, responded to this review

Namaste, We are really happy to see your review. We would recommend all the guest to take arrival pick from us so that one can reach easily to the Ganges Inn. We are sorry that you were not able to sleep properly in the night because of mokeys and dogs making noise outside the hotel. We cannot help it in...

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

The Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, can help in everything. Ensure booking of tickets , sightseeing and the attractions. Satisfaction with all services. Hotel is 3 minutes walking to river Ganga gate Dasawanedh. Accomodation coresponds to the price. Wery safe Hotel! It was a good choice, make booking in this Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Zoltán B
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This hotel was at the lower end of the price spectrum but it was good value for money. The room was clean, the refrigerator cold and the fan and a/c worked. Not much hot water but it's not required when it's so hot outside. The host helped us to see Varanasi and get to the airport. It was very difficult...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TMdood
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 18 May 2016

I have stayed there during April 2016. This is also OYO Rooms (Munshi Ghat). I got mixed experience there. First of All, it is very hard to find. You will not find this hotel's name written on board or wall. In Bengali Tola, there are very few people knew about it. You have to mention Baba Guest House to reach...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kapil161
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

I don't know how this place has any good reviews. This was by far the worst experience of anywhere we stayed in almost 7 weeks of traveling in India! The price does not reflect this establishment in any way whatsoever! It's complete robbery!!! It is in the old city, so it's a fair walk with your bags from the road...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sazzajazz

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.5 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 75 in Varanasi
236 reviews
0.1 km away
Ajay Guest House
Ajay Guest House
#41 of 75 in Varanasi
88 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#15 of 75 in Varanasi
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#20 of 75 in Varanasi
404 reviews
0.0 km away
Marigold P Guest House
Marigold P Guest House
#5 of 206 in Varanasi
151 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sita Guest House
Hotel Sita Guest House
#42 of 206 in Varanasi
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ganges Inn is a boutique hotel which is located on Munshi Ghat next to the main Ghat (Dashaswamedh Ghat). It is just 1 min walk from the Ghat.You will have nice view of river Ganges from the terrace.Our motto is make guest "feel like home". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ganges Inn

Address: D 20 /10 Munshi Ghat,Bengoli Tola | Next to Dashaswamedh Ghat, Varanasi, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Price Range: €18 - €46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ganges Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ganges Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ganges Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Superior Room no 101/201 have window. and other deluxe Room 102.103.202.203 have no wind, but without window room is where Quiet,”
 of 5 bubbles christopherbrysha, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would think higher rooms have less noise”
 of 5 bubbles katiuska15, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Always get rooms on Ist floor”
 of 5 bubbles Kapil161, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“the whole hootel is quiet, so no tip is needed, anny room wil be good”
 of 5 bubbles SophiaFrance, 8 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Ask for window room, but it can be noisy at night.”
 of 5 bubbles LouReardon, 28 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5