We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Friends Paying Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Friends Paying Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Friends Paying Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 287: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

The main benefit of staying in this GH is its location to the Taj Mahal however the website does state it is 500m away which is simply not true. It is approx 1km away, a 15 minute walk. Whilst the GH is well located and has a nice rooftop chill out area there were many other things I felt were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HanniMak
friendguesthouse, Manager at Friends Paying Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for writing review . For your kind information Friends Guest House located 5 min walk to the ticket office ( Shilpgram East gate ) and From there it's 1 km . Kindly go to visit google map location and then you know what is true and false . Friends Guest House is family run business point . When...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

The rooms are nothing special, but the hosts do anything they can to make you feel at home (my boyfriend was watching the cricket with the family in their living room). We had lovely conversations with the owner, who is open and very kind. The wifi is very good and the roof terrace is awesome. The location is nice, not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tetresh R
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

Quite disappointed by this place. We booked two single rooms, but was given a really stuffy twin delux room. There was an ac that wasnt turned on and when I asked if we could have it, even pay extra for it I was told it wasnt possible. As a result it was one of my worst night sleeps I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
friendguesthouse, Owner at Friends Paying Guest House, responded to this review

Dear guest Sorry to heard about this . this is true that you booked 2 single rooms but when you arrive here we offer you Non A/c Deluxe room you were happy . you choose this option , we had both possibilities . If you didn't like it you must inform us but you were happy at that time ....

Busan
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this guesthouse for 2 night night's with a group of friends. The rooms are bare but met our needs. The power was turned off one night which made the room unbearably hot - no windows. The owner is very helpful and accommodating. Don't forget to ask for the how water to be turned on before using the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tpasc
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 17 March 2016

we stayed in agra friend paying guest house.its very comfortable and friend ship.yusuf is very nice and honest guy he gave us good advice.close to tyajmahal its cheap and clean we would recommend if any on visits agra

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gemmel644
London
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this guest house for one night when visiting the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort. As always you get what you pay for. I don't know why people complain so much when they are paying £3 a night per person. The rooms were very basic, and the decor very tired but clean and functional. The doors you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmacoakley1
Brisbane
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Good budget accom with double room costing about $10 au per night with ensuite. Best hot showers I had in India - just ask staff to turn hot water on beforehand. Excellent location - walking distance to Taj Mahal - located along busy main road and safe to walk to Taj before sunrise. Enjoyed the restaurant upstairs - Agra can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HayleyBrisbane
Busan, South Korea
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Friends Paying Guest House, located in Agra, serves as an excellent guest house for those travelling to visit the Taj. Yusuf and his staff went out of their way to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. As I was travelling alone, Yusuf offered to transport me to the Taj and serve as my tour guide. The guest house is safe,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dutchtree22
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

Friends Paying Guesthouse Close to Taj Mahal. Short taxi ride. Restaurant and food were great. Breakfast not included but price reasonable. The room we had on main floor did not have hot water. Others do have hot water. We did not know this when we booked. The staff brought us buckets of steamy hot water which worked out ok. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teach1113
friendguesthouse, Owner at Friends Paying Guest House, responded to this review

Greetings From Friends Guest House , Sorry for inconvenience that you had . However is written on website breakfast is NOT included in this price . Early morning electricity was gone therefore we offer you very hot bucket of hot water it was fine . 4 bed room have 4 single bed it's private room for 3 or 4 people...

Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Definitely a cheap budget option that is walking distance from the Taj Mahal, but does not honestly deserve a 4 star rating. Cleanliness was the major issue, with dirty bedding and a bathroom that had not been cleaned for a very long time. Dirty bathrooms are pretty common in India, but this was bad, shelf had old soap left from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Baz D
friendguesthouse, Manager at Friends Paying Guest House, responded to this review

Greetings from Friends Guest House , Dear guest what we deserve and what we not deserved Trip advisor know this , You thought is a 4 star hotel therefore you booked in Rupees 500/ . Dear guest it's not 4 or 5 star hotel it's budget backpackers home stay . We are running since 1995 . when you were asking...

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (138)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#26 of 142 in Agra
452 reviews
3.9 km away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#22 of 142 in Agra
528 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#13 of 142 in Agra
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Zostel Agra
Zostel Agra
#2 of 166 in Agra
409 reviews
1.5 km away
Ray of Maya Hotel
Ray of Maya Hotel
#6 of 184 in Agra
349 reviews
0.2 km away
Bedweiser Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Explore the epitome of love and one of the most visited destinations of the World: Agra, with all home-like comforts and exceptionally customer friendly services..... Backpacker Panda, one of the finest hostels to enjoy and experience the fascinating historical Mughal city, always on its toes to serve you the best! Located just a stone's throw away from jaw-dropping splendid white marble mausoleum, Taj Mahal, one of the seven wonders of world! Just believe! Neat and clean dorms with cozy mattress, a multi cuisine restaurant with finger-lickin' food, well-equipped kitchenette, coffee and tea making facility, fast and reliable Wi-Fi, friendly and immensely helpful crew, clean and hygienic washrooms, safe abode, pure drinking water......Perfect for relaxation after exploring the magnificent city of love! So come, stay and live your backpacking moments! " ... more   less 

Additional Information about Friends Paying Guest House

Address: P-6, Taj Nagri | Eastern Gate Taj Mahal, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Price Range: €9 - €593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Friends Paying Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your Friends Paying Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Friends Paying Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Friends Paying Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ashoka Room had private bath and AC”
 of 5 bubbles JoseV784, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the ground floor are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles HamidShaikh, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 2nd floor belong to the owners residence and open-restaurant, so it was not calm. It's much better to choose 3rd and 4th floor!”
 of 5 bubbles masayoccha, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Pick the rooms towards the back of the hotel with attached bathrooms (groundfloor)”
 of 5 bubbles Keawra, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Close proximity to Taj”
 of 5 bubbles Saheb_Kol, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay