We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

King's Cliff

Show Prices
#11 of 79 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
King\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for King's Cliff
See the most recent reviews
Showing 356: English reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Well maintained heritage property, with professional staffs and hospitality , food was excellent , location of the resort is awesome , rooms are well maintained.. will surly tell its value for money, all the rooms have the bonfire facility inside the room, which you don't find in other hotels in ooty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Navin K
Reviewed 24 December 2016

As you drive through the gates a manicured lawn and colonial mansion house greet you. It's a great first impression. Enter the double doors to be warmly greeted by the front of house team. An easy check in and you are taken to the room where you baggage is. Choose refreshments from the kiosk outside, sit in the glorious sunshine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

A little way out of town but well worth it for the peace and tranquility. A lovely old place with friendly, obliging staff, live music in the evenings and good food. Fires each night in the public rooms and in the bedrooms. Would definitely recommend it if you want a peaceful stay with a touch of the Raj atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baggyjag
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Kings Cliff in early December for three nights and had a wonderful stay. The food at Earl's restaurant was delicious and we very much enjoyed the ambience of this lovely bungalow. The weather was wet and cold but with the fire lit it was pleasant to sit and enjoy the evening music. A car was arranged for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank feehee
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

We went to Ooty as backpackers and our budget wasn't a lot. But many of our friends suggested to try food here. And we did. The prices were about ₹390-₹600 on most dishes as this is a continental restaurant but trust me, the food was absolutely delicious. Also the ambience gives quite a bit of a feel with the fireplace...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smaran A
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We stayed here for 2 days. We checked into the hotel late at night around 10:00 pm. We had made the booking via expedia.com and had mentioned our request for an extra bed at that time. The hotel had received our booking with our special request and yet the manager at the reception said that we would be charged 660...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank priyanka p
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

The location on a hill above Ooty means you need transport each time you want to go to the town, which is not that convenient, fortunately we were able to hire a scooter. We had one of the cheaper rooms, but unfortunately as it was next to the kitchen and hotel toilets it was noisy at bedtime and early in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this review

We do not accept this review and intact in is under dispute Our side of things… Basically this guest had ordered dinner on the 6th of Nov at our restaurant Earls secret in Ooty.He had ordered too much and was informed by our captain that the food ordered is too much for 2 persons.He said "no its fine we want...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

We were a group of 6 people with 2 couples. We arrived on Saturday noon to King's Cliff from Bangalore. 3 of us rode our bikes & a car. The staff were extremely generous through our requests all weekend. One of them being a secure space to park our high end bikes. The place has a cozy & calm vibe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uday R
Reviewed 5 November 2016

The location of this property is a cliff as it is away from the otherwise crowded Ooty. The staff is really courteous and professionals . We had all our meals in the restaurant. Its nice to have fire place nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Padminee B
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Lovely characteristic place, liked the fire place that makes you cosy in the room, and the lovely staff that makes you comfortable outside! Had a wonderful family vacation, Must visit!!! Specially for nature lovers and city people who live in a concrete jungle

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Santosh P

337 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (323)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
3.7 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.7 km away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
3.2 km away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#6 of 79 in Ooty
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
3.3 km away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.7 km away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about King's Cliff

Address: Havelock Road, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Price Range: €63 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Cliff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your King's Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Cliff Ootacamund
Kings Cliff Hotel Ootacamund
King's Cliff Ooty, India - Tamil Nadu
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Ooty
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from King's Cliff staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from King's Cliff staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“only 9 rooms, not much of choice.”
ManishG288, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“IF u have pets go for garden deluxe rooms ..if not go for other rooms”
144babuk, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have fire place, basic executive room is good enough for a couple.”
skellboy, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a great view over the valley from our room. We were outside of the house. The rooms inside the house might be warmer.”
SandraN49, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“wooden floor with fire place and spacious room”
, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5