We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carmelia Haven

14.5 km from Thekkady centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

475 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 450: English reviews
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A really nice place for nature lovers.... Cordial staff and good ambience.... Food is amazing when visited.... For couples: go for new tree house or deluxe rooms For group visits: cottages and jacuzzi villas are good Go for the jeep safari to kailasapara estate for sure if time permits as it is ~30 kms from main stay And also try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aswslife
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very nice and quiet hotel. Peaceful Retreat The tree house was away from all the other rooms and restaurant. We felt like Robinson Crusoe. So calm and Staff are very nice. We really enjoyed our stay. We did a trek in the plantation around the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandrine P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It really was an awesome place. The rooms and restaurants were awesome. The new year party conducted was really superb. The spread of the buffet for dinner that night was good. We had a very good time and would definitely visit again. But my only complaint would be that the jacuzzi pools and outdoor shower should have hot water connections....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drjacoba
Jiju78, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this review

Greetings From Carmelia Haven Resort!!! Dear Guest, It gives us immense pleasure to know that you have had a wonderful stay at the Carmelia Haven Resort.what a nice way to start the year 2017.we appreciate your effort in writing the feedback in TA. As suggested by you we are looking forward to get the Plunge pool heated on the long...

Pune, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is just beautiful. It is so vast. We were able to visit the plantation. They also have a cardamom factory close by that we could visit. We had the most pleasant stay here. Although it was raining quiet heavily when we were here it didn't pose a big problem for us. They had organised a nice dance show...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AB0188
Jiju78, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this review

Greetings From Carmelia Haven Resort!!! Dear Guest, It is nice to know that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay at the carmelia. I am sure you should be carrying some cherishing memories from this beautiful piece of land.We take the opportunity to thank you for your stay at the Carmelia and having chosen us for your Holiday. Do visit...

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Don't go by the pics on website, came here for 2 days with family. Booked for Deluxe cottage, except 2 the others in this property are not renovated for almost 20 years I guess and still have very old furniture kept in them. Gives you a complete Lodge feeling with an old cabinet styled TV with no kids channels to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samir7704
Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 16 January 2017

It was our honeymoon booking and the resort is pretty good. It is a plantation resort spread across 100s of acres of cardamom and tea gardens. We booked a Jacuzzi villa for an overnight stay and the rooms/toilets were really clean and well maintained. The resort staff is very friendly and the hospitality is worth mentioning. Even though the resort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Febin V
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Carmelia resort Thekaddy. I Ordered roast chicken from room service after a tiring day getting there. The food arrived in 10 minutes which was surprisingly quick. As we were hungry we ate the food. Later on at night and whole next day I had bad stomach problem with heavy diarrhoea. It was apparent that the chicken was not cooked property...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suneer K
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

On a positive note, the layout is beautiful, the rooms spacious and attractive and the food and staff at lunch were great. But the management are doing their very best to ruin this place. I emailed to book two cottages for my family in August. I then reconfirmed in November. When we arrived they had no record of my booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Portia R
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 January 2017

The 2 days spent at Carmelia Haven was heavenly. the things impressed us 1. Location- you are in the midst of true nature 2. Tasteful decor- whatever you see, you can sense someone has actually spent a good deal of thought on the look of this place 3. Eco friendly- to the point, you would see NO tissue papers in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atkabra
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

The check in process was horrible despite having a confirmed online booking through a travel portal and having paid part payment in advance. I don't fault the portal because they sent multiple emails to the resort at the ID's given to them, however the hotel kept giving excuses. This was despite the hotel having rooms. They kept lying that all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chetan y

370 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (356)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (152)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thekkady
14.0 km away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 41 in Thekkady
1,005 reviews
14.1 km away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#1 of 41 in Thekkady
318 reviews
11.3 km away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
218 reviews
14.9 km away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#20 of 41 in Thekkady
387 reviews
33.1 km away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
55 acres of lush green spice-plantation with lots of activities for all age groups. You can have the feel of luxury tree houses or cave-room. Unmatchable ambiance and top-notch hospitality . ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carmelia Haven

Address: Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Price Range: €74 - €202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmelia Haven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Carmelia Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelia Haven Thekkady, India - Kerala
Carmelia Haven Hotel Thekkady
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carmelia Haven staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Carmelia Haven staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Couples: Tree house/Delux Cottages Groups: Cottages/Jacuzzi Villas”
 of 5 bubbles aswslife, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Super Tree House with cardamon outstanding view”
 of 5 bubbles sandrinep687, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose any villa without Jacuzzi as u cannot use them in winter or monsoon.”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book any Room, the view and experience is best”
  • Entrance of Cave Room
 of 5 bubbles GauravMajithia, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Villa cottages or the tree house”
 of 5 bubbles vsaravanakumar999, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5