We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Niduvale Mudigere, Chikmagalur 577122 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (181)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (9)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 217 Speciality lodging in Chikmagalur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
Hindi

Location

Full view
174Reviews7Q+A58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 142
  • 24
  • 3
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
RoadTripper Abhishek wrote a review Jan 2021
Mumbai, India138 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
Villa Urvinkhan is a beautiful coffee plantation. It features a main building and 4 cottages nestled in 400 odd acres of coffee plantations and forests. At an elevation of around 4000 feet, the main home takes you back to the 1800’s with its beautiful stone facade, sweeping views of the valley beyond an infinity pool and wide open vistas. We had booked one of the cottages adjacent to the main bungalow. The room was a dream! A massive 500+ sq.ft. structure, the room sported a huge 4 poster bed, with an open air shower area. Besides, it had an enclosed, well – appointed bathroom. There was also a delightful sitout overlooking the pool and valley beyond. Other than the teak furniture in the room, what really gets your attention is the 20 feet high ceiling. Sturdy wooden beams elegantly criss – cross the roof. Takes you back to an era where life was more relaxed and one could take the time out to contemplate, rejuvenate or simply vegetate! After a quick lunch, we headed out to explore the estate. Unlike a tea estate, walking through a coffee plantation is a different experience altogether. The bushes are around 6 to 8 feet tall and you feel like you’re walking through a jungle path! As we walked in silent bliss through the path, with a gentle sunbeam occasionally peeping through the bush, we suddenly came across a deer. It looked up at us, startled – before we could react, it gracefully bound away into the bushes. I guess it was inured to human contact. Evidently, chancing upon us was no particular cause for alarm. By late evening the temperature had plummeted to below 10 degrees and we bundled up in our woollens for dinner. The meal was simple. Home – cooked fare, with a chicken cooked in local spices along with delicious poppadums! Clearly, the former seemed to be winning in the Chikmagalur VS Coorg argument!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: If you don't mind shelling out a little extra, the rooms overlooking the pool are by far the...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjana Gowda, General Manager at Villa Urvinkhan
Responded 10 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write us such a wonderfully descriptive review! We are so glad that you liked our rooms and the landscapes surrounding us. We thank you once again for choosing Villa Urvinkhan as your travel destination in Chikmagalur Do visit us again soon!
Read more
Kishore M wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
“Villa Urvinkhan” is a fantastic Property 40 to 50 kms away from Chikmagalur. I would highly recommend it not just to travelers on a road trip like we were, but also as a destination by itself. Our party of 4, had meticulously planned a Road Trip from 22nd November 2020 to 8th December 2020 encompassing 16 days. Each destination we thought, was well planned, either for its natural beauty and / or for its monuments. I then remembered my friend Bob Rupani, now a veteran Auto journalist and Travel Author/Writer of Driving holidays in India of some acclaim. Bob, for his entire formative life has been a prolific writer of various destinations and has an enormous repertoire of knowledge of most of India and especially Karnataka. It was Bob who tweaked our plans and made it vastly more fulfilling. He also put me in touch with Vikram Narendra, who is a Planter in the Chikmagalur area and Vikram too was enormously helpful and informed me that the Chikmagalur Club was not receiving guests on account of the Pandamic and instead suggested we spend two days at the “Villa Urvinkhan” which belonged to and was run by his cousin Sunil Gowda. This is how we landed up at the “Villa Urvinkhan” – almost purely by chance. “Villa Urvinkhan” (literally translated means Vast Forest), is a 500 acres Coffee Plantation with the most fantastic Boutique Hotel on its premises, much like a Home Stay, but only better. It had 12 beautifully appointed rooms with period furniture, its location offering magnificent views, which extended for miles; an infinity Pool (which we couldn’t unfortunately use owing to the Covid situation), a deck around the Pool and a beautiful Veranda. A lot of the furniture was unique and placed strategically and tastefully. Sunil Gowda himself was hospitality personified and was quite liberal with his time and his own knowledge, not only just of the business of “Coffee”, but a wealth of information of the entire Region. Our next stop was at the Taj Hotel at Madikeri via Bellur and I daresay that our entire party recalls the stay at the “Villa Urvinkhan” as the highlight of our Trip not just because the property itself was beautiful and well appointed, but also because of the activities that Sunil so very kindly organized, which included a trek through the Plantation and also some fishing in the small lake on the property. I would advise any and all travelers wishing to visit the Region, a stopover and a stay at the “Villa Urvinkhan”. Grateful to Bob Rupani and Vikram Narendra for their sagacious advice and Sunil Gowda for his Hospitality. Would definitely visit again. Kishore Mansukhani Pune
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjana Gowda, General Manager at Villa Urvinkhan
Responded 10 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write us such a wonderful review! We are truly humbled by your words of appreciation and praise. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Villa Urvinkhan and hope to see you again soon! Thank you for choosing us as your preferred travel destination in Chikmagalur
Read more
Roshni wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
While Villa Urvinkhan is picturesque...one must note that the service is very poor. There is no room service whatsoever, no housekeeping/room cleaning etc for the entire duration of our stay. Tea/ coffee is not available when requested for which is pretty ridiculous!! The food is average with limited options! We had informed the staff about our departure time a night before and yet when we checked out by 6:45am there was not a single person available to take our luggage from our rooms which was up and down multiple flights of stairs...infact we were told very rudely that we had to carry our own luggage out from our rooms without any assistance which was not possible given the way the rooms are situated within this property. We finally had to delay our departure by an hour and after repeated attempts managed to get the staff who finally appeared for duty to get our bags to the reception area! All in all it was definitely a far cry from the hospitality which one encounters in any good hotel/ resort!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjana Gowda, General Manager at Villa Urvinkhan
Responded 7 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback. It is very unfortunate to hear that you were unhappy with our service. Your entire group seemed to have had a bad experience with us and each of you are writing about the same concerns which could have been dealt with if it was mentioned to us at the time of your 3 nights' stay. However, in saying so we had already mentioned in our confirmation email to Mr Bharath (who made the booking with us) that housekeeping would not be provided due to safety precautions due to covid 19 but it would still be available on request. It then leaves us thinking that you have not been informed of the same by him. Breakfast was on till 12 noon and evening tea was on from 5 pm till 7 pm so tea and coffee would have definitely been available at these hours. Also, we do have a hot kettle in each of the rooms with abundant supply of tea and coffee. With regards to our staff not being present to take your bags at 6 am, I apologise for this and will look into the matter. We hope to better your experience the next time around. Thank you.
Read more
subbiane wrote a review Jan 2021
Bengaluru, India2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at the place for 3 nights with a bunch of other friends. - While the place is simply stunning, the service leaves a lot to be desired. - For the entire time we stayed there, the rooms were not cleaned or made. If this was a safety precaution, that was understandable. But even the toilet in the common place was not cleaned. No replacing towels or toiletries either. - The staff were courteous but extremely rigid. And, we were not a rude bunch at all. In fact, we worked our schedule around the food timings that the staff provided us! - Food timing was rigid. What was surprising is, even coffee/tea was only available within the specified hour! While the property is beautiful, the management should definitely straighten up their service, if they want repeat customers or recommendations.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjana Gowda, General Manager at Villa Urvinkhan
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review and give us your feedback. I would like to address your review point by point: - We are glad that you liked the location and saddened to know that you did not like our service. - Yes. You are right, house keeping is only on request as mentioned in the confirmation email as it is a safety precaution due to Covid 19. Toiletries and fresh towels are placed outside your rooms as and when requested. But as for the one common toilet that we have near the pool, I sincerely apologise if that was not clean as our staff is usually very attentive to all this and it is cleaned at least twice a day. - As for the meal timings, all resorts have timings for meals so as to not over work our staff as well. In saying so we went out of our way to accommodate this for you to ensure that you have a great stay with us. We did a detail check on our CCTV footage in the common dinning area and found that our staff were present and served you hot food throughout your stay with Lunch being served at 4pm, Dinner at 3.30 am on nye and at 1.30 am on the other nights and breakfast that carried on till 12 noon. - We have a hot kettle in all rooms so that our guests have abundant supply of tea and coffee at all times especially if you haven't had it during breakfast time or in the evening. We do take your feedback seriously and will look into refining our service. Thank you.
Read more
Vaishali Verma wrote a review Jan 2021
Bangalore District, India3 contributions1 helpful vote
We visited Villa Urvin Khan in the last week of Dec 2020 for 3 nights with our friends and had a wonderful experience. The location is outstanding and the view from the top is breathtaking. The staff is very friendly and each meal is hand crafted and tastefully done. Sunil and Shweta were great hosts. While we missed meeting Sanjana this time but she ensured that we were well taken care. The coffee there is amazing !! Thanks Sanjana , Vaishali Verma Bangalore
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjana Gowda, General Manager at Villa Urvinkhan
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time out to review us! So glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the experience that Villa Urvinkhan has to offer. We do hope you visit us again soon! Thank you once again
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
IndiaKarnatakaChikkamagaluru DistrictChikmagalur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Urvinkhan
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Urvinkhan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Urvinkhan?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Urvinkhan?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa Urvinkhan?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Villa Urvinkhan have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Villa Urvinkhan offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.