We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 109: English reviews
Start your review of Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat
 Click to rate
canberra
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thanks Rolland and Zoe for making our stay so wonderful. We were only there a short time to teach first aid and didn't dive to the best dive sites so close to your wonderful hospitality. We loved the beautiful beach and the intimate and relaxing eating area and the private bure. We did get to snorkel out the front though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bicko2
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Bula guys, We loved to have you and thank you for spending the time and teaching! MAy be we will see you for some fun time sometime:-) Roland, Zoe, Kathy, well everyone:-)

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Everything was just wonderful! My partner enjoyed the diving and I was spoiled with massages! If travelling with a non-diving partner this is the place to go. The food was healthy and very tasty. Roland and Viola are perfect hosts, and their staff made us feel like we were part of the family. Accommodation is basic but remember this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waratah17
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Bula you two! Thank you for the nice review. We love having you and especially enjoyed your first snorkel...thanks Alice !!!! Hope you will keep it up! May be we shall see you in our new place! It was great having you! Viola and everyone!

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Pick up mic, continue: If you're looking for a super romantic couples getaway this is it--remote, no roads, leave your room unlocked, on the beach, etc. And if you're a diver this is it--two of the best diving site sin the world (The Great White Wall and The Rainbow Reef) are just 5-10 minutes from the lagoon. The Dive operation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Whispersthat W
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Vinaka Vaka Levu! We will certainly pass your review on to our staff! Thanks for staying with us and hopefully we will see back in our new place! Viola

Everett, Washington
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Dolphin Bay resort is a little piece of paradise. A secluded cove, perfect for swimming, paddle boarding, snorkeling or just dreaming in a hammock, I loved it here. The food is fantastic (especially for a vegetarian), the people are lovely, the bures on the beach are a great little home-from-home. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyViolet1986
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Nothing conpares to the beauty and authenticity of this Fijian beauty spot. In its own bay with a number of Bure and tents the budget traveller has found the real Fiji. I first visited this place 12 years ago , drawn by the write up in the Lonely Planet guide regarding the hospitality and the top dive sites offered just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chantalhockey
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

It was wonderful to see you again and thank you for the nice review. I hope you will not wait another 12 years for your next visit:-). Keep on diving!

pukapuka
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Just some basics about the area. So if you are like me trying to figure out how to get there and where to fly into, read this first paragraph. I flew into savu savu thinking I would dive and have a walk about and then go to dolphin bay. Savu savu was nice but in actuality if you are not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mamboveepee
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

All so true;-) We had fun having you here and hope to see you back soon! Viola

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

This was my second repeat visit to dolphin bay. I feel they are home and family.the scuba diving and instructions are great. I feel comfortable and relaxed. The fiji family that fix food are amazing and I love the group dining meeting other guests. It is clean and authentic...I needed a place back in taveuni and they booked me their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This has to be the most memorable holiday ever.The Swiss and German owners were so friendly.Good food and diving was fabulous.Such amazing reefs.Be carefull about getting sores here.My heal got chaffed from my booties (suggest you wear swimming socks under booties)and it got infected to the point where I could not walk when I arrived home.Charcoal poultice and green soap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andre S
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Andre, Thanks for your review.....Just a tip:-) CONTRARY to common belief it is NOT good to have the wound open. This is a tropical climate. So we ALWAYS recommend to have a wound, never mind how small, attended to immediately. This means putting Magnesium Sulfate on it if it has closed on the top, so it can stay open...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We visited Dolphin Bay early August 2016 and stayed for 5 nights with a light meal plan. The staff is lovely and helpful, and dinners on the beach with candle light lovely. We went diving only one day and snorkelling the other days - definitely a good place for diving with the rainbow reef. Snorkelling off the beach and further...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank reefshark2016
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the diving, snorkeling and your time with us. While the dive sites are good, unfortunately Winston did a number on some of the snorkel sites.......Our site of the island has a micro climate with very little water and therefore, if we have no rain for a long period in our winter time, we have to...

Beechwood, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Close to Rainbow Reef. Secluded & quiet accommodation with good snorkeling off the beach but unfortunately the management didn't seem interested in taking snorkelers out to the reefs. The food was excellent and the light meal option is sufficient with seconds freely available. The bures however were in need of repair & renovation. Staff were friendly & welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ian6633
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Ian, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry you did not get all the snorkeling in you wanted off the boat. However, we only have 2 boats and it is first come first serve. Unfortunately we were fully booked the week you were here. For safety reasons we do not allow snorkeling...

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taveuni Island
10.8 km away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
56 reviews
38359.1 km away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Taveuni Island
325 reviews
38358.9 km away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38359.5 km away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#1 of 2 in Matei
102 reviews
5.4 km away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
38359.2 km away
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat is a small family style dive resort on the Rainbow Reef in Fiji. Accessible by boat only it nestles in a horseshoe bay, surrounded by Rainforest, White Sandy Beach and Palm trees. Minutes to all the dives sites including the world famous white wall, famous for Softcorals, 20+ dive sites to choose from this is the ideal dive spot. Dolphins, Reef Sharks, tropical fish, it's all there, including a PADI dive shop where you can take courses in English or German. Accommodations range from bure with private bathrooms to Jungle Tents with shared bathrooms, all with comfortable beds and mattresses and very close to the beach. Let the soft lull of the waves put you to sleep, sip a glass of wine in your hammock and let the fish go by! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat

Address: Vanaira Bay | Rainbow Reef, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Price Range: €22 - €105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat Hotel Taveuni Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bures have their own toilet and shower, tents have access to shared toilet and showering blocks.”
 of 5 bubbles Waratah17, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a massage on the beach. Heavenly!”
 of 5 bubbles LadyViolet1986, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“While the tents are very comfortable, if a private bathroom and hot showers are important to you, definitely get a bure.”
 of 5 bubbles snapjanet, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I suppose trust in traveller photos and reviews”
 of 5 bubbles geraldineo211, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“We would recommend the bures”
 of 5 bubbles TheAusieVons, 8 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5