We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Grand Makadi Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Grand Makadi Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 729: English reviews
Colne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Once you get past the tired rooms and the poor wi-fi this hotel really is great value for your money. The pool is enormous and they're are plenty of sun loungers, the service from the lads around the pool is great and you are regularly brought drinks without having to constantly trying to attract someone's attention. The two boys in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ValerieG74
Grand-Makadi-Team, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ValerieG74, Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad that you enjoyed your holidays with us, and I will pass your comments on to our team. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectation in all aspects of your holiday, but rest assured, your comments are noted and we are working to resolve them for the future. We all...

Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

When arriving at Hurghada, make sure you branch off to the right going towards the agents, go to the bank for your Visa. All the agents are still overcharging for visa applications. Now its £5 extra per person, go to the Bank. Grand Mackardi hotel is a bit tired due to lack of visitors, however, the staff are very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann c
Grand-Makadi-Team, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ann c, Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad that you enjoyed your holidays with us, and I will pass your comments on to our team. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectation in all aspects of your holiday, but rest assured, your comments are noted and we are working to resolve them for the future. We...

uk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Headed to hotel with great anticipation and looking forward to standards previously experienced over my last 8 visits to Egypt. Unfortunately it was not delivered. I cannot agree with the reviewer who said not to go by official rating because it's Egypt as I have always booked 5* and it has been delivered every time until now. Bathrooms are a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderer049
Grand-Makadi-Team, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wanderer049, Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad that you enjoyed your holidays with us, and I will pass your comments on to our team. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectation in all aspects of your holiday, but rest assured, your comments are noted and we are working to resolve them for the future. We all...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was average, some staff were friendly but not all which surprised me, any other time I've been to Egypt (Sharm and Hurghada) every member of staff was friendly but here only a few. Jessica, guest relations is a fab lady though and does all she can to assist. We arrived at 9.30 p.m. and there wasn't much food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caitlinm716
Grand-Makadi-Team, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi Hotel, responded to this review

Dear caitlinm716, Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad that you enjoyed your holidays with us, and I will pass your comments on to our team. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectation in all aspects of your holiday, but rest assured, your comments are noted and we are working to resolve them for the future. We all...

scotland
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Wasn't expecting to end up in Hurghada but long haul holidays to somewhere hot in October were priced through the roof this year, including this holiday but I was Defo going somewhere. We used the bank inside the airport to pay for our visas and due to the exchange rate were charged £21.50 I chose this hotel due to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nessie2665
Grand-Makadi-Team, Assistant Guest Relation Manager at The Grand Makadi Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nessie2665, Thank you for your positive feedback. I’m glad that you enjoyed your holidays with us, and I will pass your comments on to our team. We all are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Your Assistant Guest Relation Manager Jessica

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

My first time at the Grand Makadi Hotel exceeded my expectations. The room was clean, quiet and spacious. Due to my reduced mobility I was given a room on the ground floor close to Reception, Bar and Restaurant. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from and the buffet has something for everyone. The pier projects from the beach right...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna L
Grand-Makadi-Team, Assistant Guest Relation Manager at The Grand Makadi Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anna L, Thank you for your positive feedback. I’m glad that you enjoyed your holidays with us, and I will pass your comments on to our team. We all are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Your Assistant Guest Relation Manager Jessica

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I have read comments about our beloved Grand Makadi and please please don't let them put you off booking. We have visited 4 times and plan to go at least once a year. Fantastic food down at the Mall and friends for life at the bar!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vic14west
Grand-Makadi-Team, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vic14west, Thank you for your positive feedback. I’m glad that you enjoyed your holidays with us, and I will pass your comments on to our team. We all are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Your Assistant Guest Relation Manager Jessica

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Grand Makadi, Egypt Oct 2015 The complex is the cheapest of a block of 4 hotels. I understand that some reviews have said that not many staff understand English, I have to say the speak better English, German, Russian, Italian, then I do Egyptian. Yes some are still learning, but as there is few Brits using the resorts, they have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kurtRclark
Grand-Makadi-Team, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kurtRclark, Thank you for your positive feedback. I’m glad that you enjoyed your holidays with us, and I will pass your comments on to our team. We all are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Your Assistant Guest Relation Manager Jessica

Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We were book to return to The Grand in Sharm. But due to the restrictions on flying the Red Sea Holiday Advisor suggested The Grand Makadi. We were not disappointed. We were given an enormous junior suite overlooking the sea. It certainly was value for money and exceeded our expectations. The friendly staff were always eager to help. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pethalliwell
Grand-Makadi-Team, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pethalliwell, Thank you for your positive feedback. I’m glad that you enjoyed your holidays with us, and I will pass your comments on to our team. We all are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Your Assistant Guest Relation Manager Jessica

Barking
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and i went to this hotel for 10 days . This is my 2nd review as my 1st review was removed . They obviously dont want people to know the truth . Its true isnt it , that saying .......the truth hurts !!!. Well my husband and i had a terrible holiday with stomach cramps and diarrhea ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DENISE B
Grand-Makadi-Team, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DENISE B, Thank you for taking the time to feed back to us. I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do not believe that the issues you describe are typical of our guest experience, but we take all customer feedback seriously. I will take steps to address your comments. Kind Regards, Your Assistant Guest...

1,174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1135)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (212)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (257)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (103)
Viewed
View from Room (51)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
0:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (413)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 km away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#11 of 28 in Makadi Bay
1,954 reviews
0.3 km away
The Makadi Spa Hotel
The Makadi Spa Hotel
#5 of 28 in Makadi Bay
1,116 reviews
1.4 km away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 28 in Makadi Bay
663 reviews
0.9 km away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
2.2 km away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Makadi Hotel is a lively destination with the needs of younger families firmly at its heart. There is a large sweeping beach, and a jetty that takes guests directly to the house reef where they can enjoy snorkelling in the crystal clear Red Sea waters. The large swimming pool and sun terrace offer plenty of space for sunbathing, and the children’s club and sporting activities keep the children occupied. Add a diverse choice of restaurants and it really is an ideal base for enjoying all the Red Sea has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grand Makadi Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly The Grand Makadi)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Price Range: €75 - €309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Makadi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Grand Makadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Grand Makadi Hurghada
Grand Makadi Bay
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grand Makadi Hotel staff and other travellers.
62 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (62)

Questions? Get answers from The Grand Makadi Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with large balcony facing the sea”
 of 5 bubbles 791annc, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Inspect the bathrooms before unpacking”
 of 5 bubbles wanderer049, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Tip the Reception”
 of 5 bubbles Egyptian_romeo , 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 2214 is great if available or any other along that corridor. Great views”
 of 5 bubbles Bern_Hazel, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles katej470, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay