We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge

Save
Share
874 US Highway 1, Avenel, NJ 07001-1343
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$165
Hotels.comUS$165
TravelocityUS$166
Agoda.comUS$165
HIExpress.comUS$165
getaroom.comUS$172
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (64)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 28/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge
Updated 28/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 8 hotels in Avenel
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Corporate businesses and New York City are close to this Woodbridge Hotel. On your next trip to New Jersey, consider staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge. With close proximity to many area businesses as well as Manhattan, this is a perfect place to stay for any business or leisure traveler. Our hotel in Woodbridge, New Jersey is conveniently located just off the New Jersey Turnpike and is only a 10 minute drive from Metro Park Station and a 20 minute drive from Newark International Airport (EWR). Our Woodbridge hotel is also one hour from both LaGuardia International Airport (LGA) and John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK). Business travelers can appreciate the close proximity to The New Jersey Convention and Expo Center and to many Corporate offices and job sites, such as Arcadis, Amazon, Tata group, Buckeye Partners, Wells Fargo, Brand Energy Services, Momentum Solar, Walmart, Black & Veatch, Parsons, National Property Solutions, DHL, Hackensack Meridian
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
36Car recommended
Grade: 36 out of 100
38Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
92Reviews3Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 28
  • 5
  • 10
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
David52555 wrote a review Jun 2022
West Hollywood, California31 contributions32 helpful votes
Where to start..I guess at check in. Arrived at the hotel around 3 pm and was told to wait in lobby until they could find a room. Very chaotic and disorganized but the clerk was new. When we got to the room we wanted to watch specific programs that were on MSNBC. Looked at the printed guide and found that the channels were all scrambled and no MSNBC. I went to front desk and was told that they changed providers and half the channels were removed. I told the clerk we would probably check out the next day. He assured me that a manager would contact me the next day. Never happened. Decided to stay and called housekeeping the next morning to make sure our room was made up..never happened. When we came home I encountered the ONLY bright spot with this hotel…Jessica at the front desk! She is amazing! Next day I asked front desk to make sure our two rooms were serviced..nope..only one had housekeeping. There are many, many hotels close by…we have to go back to Woodbridge this weekend and are staying at the Hampton Inn..we will never go back to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenny Halat, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are very sorry to hear that this was your experience. We would like to discuss these issues with you further. Please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience and ask for management.
Read more
DanEks wrote a review Oct 2021
New York City, New York36 contributions21 helpful votes
The hotel did honor the reservation (#42406540) made directly with IHG. Offered no help. "We have no rooms, go somewhere else. No idea where you can find one. Sorry" Was able to cancel the reservation afterwards, so that makes one star (or is it circle on this site). Otherwise zero.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenny Halat, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge
Responded 14 Oct 2021
We are sincerely sorry that this was your experience. This is unacceptable, and we will reiterate proper procedures with our team. Again we apologize this was your experience, and we wish you all the best in your future travels.
Read more
urgent1506 wrote a review Oct 2021
Brookfield, Massachusetts38 contributions4 helpful votes
Staff friendly and pleasant. Excellent job with updating hotel and rooms, especially bathrooms, however, they forgot guest comfort. Mattress extremely hard and you could feel the springs when lying down. Rooms so loud from truck traffic throughout the night, sleep was impossible. Ridiculous to have indoor pool only 3'9". Pool not heated and hot tub with only minimal heat. No towels. Basically chose this hotel because website appeared to offer better pool than competitors. What a mistake.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenny Halat, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge
Responded 6 Oct 2021
We sincerely apologize you were not happy with your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, and we will work hard to improve moving forward.
Read more
Vanessa M wrote a review Oct 2021
New Windsor, New York8 contributions
Stayed overnight from Saturday to Sunday and was pleased with the conditions of the room and property in general (newer/cleaner) Check in was very slow, only one attendant at 7pm. Pool is only 3”9inches deep, so it’s really more for kids. Hot tub seemed pleasant. Kids used the pool early morning before check out and basically had the entire place to themselves. Breakfast had core staples. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Slow check-in and rooms are light on toiletries. You will likely need more towels up front.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenny Halat, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge
Responded 4 Oct 2021
Thank you for the great review! We are pleased that you and your family had a great stay and enjoyed the pool every morning. We greatly appreciate your review, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Debbie T wrote a review Jul 2021
Tamarindo, Costa Rica40 contributions11 helpful votes
Never stay at this hotel! Everything was horrible! No hot water for 3 days! The first room was smelly and too loud from the highway, we changed rooms and the room was just ok. Not one person told us about requesting room cleaning the next day so in the evening we returned to the room, and it wasn't ready, no clean towels, bed unmade etc. Only 1 small bar of soap provided! No hot coffee in the morning, had to wait 20 minutes for some. Garbage overflowing from the messy breakfast room. The pool was full of people, kids running around not attended and also in the workout room, the floors to the elevator were so wet and dirty/muddy from people not drying themselves and wet feet etc. Staff were not very helpful, they just kept saying they don't know anything! Asked for manager/owner the staff kept saying he would be in about 1 1/2 hours, he never showed up! We are calling to get some money back, and not sure how that will work out?? my advice is DON'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenny Halat, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge
Responded 27 Jul 2021
We are very sorry that this was your experience. We have addressed your concerns with management and the staff, and we will work on improving moving forward. If you haven't already, please reach out to us so we can discuss your concerns further. Thank you.
Read more
Leuys Taveras wrote a review Jul 2021
United States26 contributions13 helpful votes
We are still in the hotel until July 5, before arriving here we investigated a lot, we called the hotel to realize that everything was open without restrictions, we asked about the pool, they said it was open every day, when we arrived on July 2 the first What they tell us in the lobby is that the pool was closed that day until the next day ... well we checked and went to room 201 with a strong smell of cigarettes, but before going up in the lobby they tell you that they are rooms for non-smokers and if we smoke and leave the room smelling like cigarettes they fine us $150, we went back to the lobby and demanded a room change that doesn't smell like cigarettes, they gave us room 200 this smelled a bit like cigarettes but not like the previous one the room with some aroma and it was ready for us ... The next day we went for a walk and to eat when we returned we noticed that our room was not cleaned and we called the lobby where they told us that ue they only clean every 5 days ... we told him ok could you send us more towels he said yes but these never arrived. The present day! July 4 at 5 AM the fire alarm sounds and we evacuate the building by order of the firefighters, they said they are going to close the building, the hotel told us to come back after we are going to open again apparently it was a false alarm (I saw smoke I don't understand how they say it was a false alarm on the first floor), without having breakfast very sleepy and a pregnant woman and my 7-month-old boy had to go to spend half a day on the street :( this gets out of hand at the hotel I know that ... but what I don't understand is why they don't send you directly to another nearby hotel? Something serious is that the room alarms did not only sound those in the hall, luckily at that time I was awake giving milk to my baby.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Coppock, Marketing at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge
Responded 6 Jul 2021
We're so sorry about this experience. Our management has been in touch to extend a personal apology and try to make things right. We wish you safe and happy future travels.
Read more
hunneybun07 wrote a review Apr 2021
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, USA66 contributions14 helpful votes
When you walk through the halls there's nasty towels laying on the floors because housekeeping isn't cleaning the rooms so the guests are advised to put dirty towels/ washcloths in the hall floor. I requested several times to have my room cleaned and was denied by the front desk from 2 different people, 1st man saying they only clean the rooms every 3 days and the 2nd time the woman said they clean every 5 days. Bathrooms should be sanitized daily and this hotel does not do it. Front desk told me that there isn't anyone to serve the continental breakfast on the week end and gave us bags of granola bars, bagel, yogurt and a bottle of water. Monday I went for breakfast and was served molded bread ,that I took to the front desk and his response was " looks like penicillin. They used Covid19 as an excuse for everything wrong
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Ian P wrote a review Jan 2020
Boston33 contributions8 helpful votes
I want to start by saying that the hotel looks nice & modern and the staff was nice. Our room smelled a bit & we discovered water & black mold all along the windows. They did move our room but it makes you wonder how thoroughly they clean if this much mold was able to build. Thank you for moving our room to a cleaner one but I'll find another hotel when visiting town next year.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from jennyhHU, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge
Responded 9 Jan 2020
We are very sorry this was your experience. We alerted management and the team about the issue and addressed the issue immediately. This is not typical of our hotel, and we'll investigate further to ensure this isn't a problem moving forward. Again, we sincerely apologize this was your experience, and we hope you give us another chance in the future.
Read more
Ravi N wrote a review Jan 2020
Newton, Massachusetts2 contributions
We booked a suite and the room was very big with lots of space and a nice big restroom. The breakfast was the standard buffet type of breakfast, nothing to rave about. The location was what we wanted and it was easy to get in and out.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from jennyhHU, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Thanks so much!
Read more
Monty P wrote a review Nov 2019
2 contributions
Nice place to stay. Friendly staff. Hot tub could've been hotter. Breakfast was ok, a little on the cold side. Rooms were fine, bed a little hard. A little bit noisey from the highway. Ask for a room not facing the highway.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from jennyhHU, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge
Responded 7 Nov 2019
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate the helpful feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$162 - US$213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express woodbridge hotel avenel, holiday inn woodbridge, country inn woodbridge, woodbridge holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyAvenel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Colonia Dairy Maid, Pizza Time Restaurant, and Le Malt Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Avenel.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Thomas Edison Center at Menlo Park (4.4 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.