We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Espana

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Espana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Espana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 11 October 2015

The hotel was very clean and nice. There was free water dispencer at the lobby. The rooms were big and clean. Unfortutanelly did the wifi only work at the lobby, and the connection was slow. we heard a lot of noice from the hallway (doos and talk during the eveing/night)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SanneSimonsen
Carolina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Espana, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimada Sanne : Hotel España te agradece por tu opinión y también su tiempo y sus palabras, nuestro objetivo principal...

Cuenca, Ecuador
Reviewed 3 October 2015

I stayed here for 4 nights and have no complaints. The room was large with plenty of closet space, and was cleaned daily. Fresh towels were provided daily too. There is no view to speak of, but it was worth the price, and conveniently located.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CGGlobeTrekkers
Carolina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Espana, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped : Hotel España te agradece por tu opinión, la misma que nos ayudará a mejorar nuestro servicio y...

Melbourne
Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

Location is fine and rooms are clean, however staff not particularly helpful, breakfast below average (for the price you can get better in town), wifi is terrible and the stairs are worse! We were on the third floor and stayed 5 nights, but wouldn't go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FalconOnTour
Carolina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Espana, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimada Huésped: Hotel España le agradece por su opinión, la misma que nos ayudará a mejorar nuestro servicio y motivar...

ok
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Esthar ( the wonder ) did a great job with our group once again! Rooms and breakfasts are good and location is great! Esthar is very good at helping with tours and logistics as well. She organized our buses, boats, guides, and all went as planned! I look forward to bringing more groups in the future!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sgoley
Carolina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Espana, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimada Huésped: Hotel España le agradece por su opinión, la misma que nos ayudará a mejorar nuestro servicio y motivar...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We stayed at the Hotel Espana two separate nights after trips to the other islands. I needed to change our reservation several times due to some spontaneous decisions and each time the management was amazingly accomodating and flexible. I communicated with Esther by email - never actually met her - and she got back to me promptly so we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manyr0ads
Carolina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Espana, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped: Hotel España le agradece por su opinión, la misma que nos ayudará a mejorar nuestro servicio y motivar...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in July. The room was always clean and supplied with towels. Hotel staff was always helpful with our large group. The breakfast is a real deal with fresh orange juice, eggs, delicious bread and jam. Close to everything. We had a blessed stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blessedmom2013
Carolina P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Espana, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, siempre buscamos que nuestros huéspedes tengan la mejor experiencia durante su estadía con nosotros. Nos...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 20 July 2015

I stayed here for a week with my mission's group!! I had a great time-homemade breakfast, comfortable seating including hammocks. Lots of stairs to the rooms so it gave me exercise everyday. I'm glad they have pretty good a/c, comfortable beds and hot water for showers. I was here on a mission trip not a vacation so I felt blessed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missunshine93
Carolina P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Espana, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias Carrie tenemos muy marcada tu estadía con nosotros, te agradecemos por tus comentarios, siempre buscamos que nuestros huéspedes...

Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

Great value for money, clean, comfortable beds, air con in all rooms, consistent hot water, friendly staff, nice communal hang out area with hammocks and sofas. We got one of their smaller double rooms for $30 a night and it was perfect for us. The staff were friendly and even advised us on where to visit while we were on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
Carolina P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Espana, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, siempre buscamos que nuestros huéspedes tengan la mejor experiencia durante su estadía con nosotros. Nos...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015

I stayed here several times. Good location, day-time reception staff friendly and helpful, single rooms with decent attached bathrooms, hot water, powerful shower, toiletries and towels refreshed every day, cable tv with English speaking channels. Wifi only in reception area and unreliable but this was the same across the island. Only issue is that I had a problem with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne C
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We were delighted to find that this hotel was right beside where the bus stops, but disappointed that the first thing that the lady at reception said, that we were to pay the bill straight away. This is really more of a hostel than a hotel.It is o'k for the price but has really nothing going for it.Wifi in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 18Marion

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
291 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#11 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
89 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#10 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
175 reviews
1.2 km away
Galapagos Best Hostel
Galapagos Best Hostel
#6 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
372 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Galapagos Suites
Hotel Galapagos Suites
#1 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Tomas de Berlanga and Islas Plazas, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Price Range: €30 - €61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Espana staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Espana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are noisy because stone, tile and heavy wood doors. When a door was closed the whole hotel could hear it, and at 3am not so nice”
TravelerOana, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room had a little balcony which was great for drying our clothes after a day at the beach.”
ericmO4615HS, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to request a room on the lowest floor if you have trouble with stairs.”
susanbaldwin1009, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Request a lower floor. There are six and no elevator”
B423BEjohnm, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room in the first floors, There's no elevator.”
CatFL0, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5