We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Opatija

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Opatija
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Huge price for an ugly and small room, dirty walls and torn towels. Empty parking lot, which is expensive charges. Incomplete and misleading information from staff. Never again... Be sure to avoid this object

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danijel M
CustomerRelationsOHM, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Danijel M, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. I do hope that You were aware when booking our hotel, You booked a 2 star hotel and even though we have only 2 stars, everything in our hotel is according to standards. For your next...

Reviewed 3 October 2016

The only thing that was a normal office. It was close to the beach. A very high price. This is a horrible outhouse. No room with air conditioning. 35+ degrees outside. Breakfast was disgusting.Swimming pool separate for money. The room was dark and still Kemps was particularly nasty. It was a terrible experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivaat r
CustomerRelationsOHM, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear ivaat r, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. I do hope that You were aware when booking our hotel, You booked a 2 star hotel and even though we have only 2 stars, everything in our hotel is according to standards. For your next...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

This is one of the worst hotels i have visited. There are over 50 stairs to walk down to visit the beach and the rooms, despite booking superior rooms were not big enough for two beds let alone three. The towels had dirt on them, the ceiling had mould and the fire alarm was taken down to allow people to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mickeyboy777
CustomerRelationsOHM, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Mickeyboy777, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. For your next stay in Opatija we would kindly suggest to book one of our sister hotels Hotel Bristol or Hotel Astoria, which are both four stars hotels and are therefore maybe more suitable to meet your...

Covasna, Romania
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I stayed at Opatija Hotel for 5nights in august. Hotel is well located, like5min walking to the beach, hotel staff very friendly BUT the rooms are just awfull.. Carpet looked like it wasnt cleaned for ages, furniture old and broken, no wifi in the rooms just in lobby and very slowly.If you don't pay more for a room with balcony,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelerchr2016
CustomerRelationsOHM, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear travelerchr2016, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. For your next stay in Opatija we would kindly suggest to book one of our sister hotels Hotel Bristol or Hotel Astoria, which are both four stars hotels and are therefore maybe more suitable to meet your...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Actually we were charmed by the end of our second night. After a hurried last minute search on booking.com for somewhere to stay we chose hotel Opatija because it was first on list, was the cheapest, the only photo on the booking site of a loft room actually looked quite nice ( No other photos of other rooms on this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmcosovic
CustomerRelationsOHM, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear rmcosovic, thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you consider our hotel great and staff excellent. It is our job to make Your stay as comfortable as possible. We are happy that you are extremely satisfied with our restaurant offer especially with our breakfast selection and...

Rijeka, Croatia
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

An old fashioned hotel, but very nice and charming. The poll was the best, kids really enjoyed it as it was raining and we didn't go to the beach. Our room was great, with ac and balcony and sea view. We are going to come again for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marina_7_V
CustomerRelationsOHM, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Marina_7_V, thank You for taking the time to provide us with your review and for allowing us to host You during your recent stay in Opatija. We are delighted to read your feedback and learn You had a wonderful experience with us and that You enjoyed our accommodation. We invest a lot of effort in providing a spectacular service...

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

About 70 meters from the sea there is a building. It is old fashioned but seems good. When you get inside, you can see the reception desk. There are friendly and helpful workers. After checking in you get in the room which is very old and not so attractive. I felt smoke in the room. The room was clean. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ádám T
CustomerRelationsOHM, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Adam T, thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay. It is our job to make Your stay as comfortable as possible. We are happy that our guests are extremely satisfied with our restaurant offer especially with our breakfast selection as we have guests coming in from all the corners of the World. In the...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Opatija Hotel for 2nights in august. Hotel is well located, like5min walking to the beach, hotel staff very friendly BUT the rooms are just awfull.. Carpet looked like it wasnt cleaned for ages, furniture old and broken, bathroom really dirty, no wifi in the rooms just in lobby, parking 15euros per day. It was ibviouse that the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tiganilaoana11
CustomerRelationsOHM, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear tiganilaoana11, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. For your next stay in Opatija we would kindly suggest to book one of our sister hotels Bristol Hotel Opatija or Astoria Designhotel Opatija, which are both four stars hotels and are therefore maybe more suitable to...

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Very old hotel room, there was an awful smell in the room from the drainage. Half of the rooms has A/C half doesn't, guess what ours did not have. aInternet available in all public spaces means it's only available in front of the reception and also there is very bad quality. Neither in the restaurant is not available. The WC...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zoltan m
CustomerRelationsOHM, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Zoltan m, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. I do hope that You were aware when booking our hotel, You booked a 2 star hotel and even though we have only 2 stars, everything in our hotel is according to standards. For your next...

Topolcany, Slovakia
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I visited this hotel already 8 times and for sure I will come back,but not during highest season July-August. The reasons are 2. First- the hotel is very crowdy and noisy. Second- the breakfast are very poor,variety of food is smaller than in other months during the year,many things are missing as cheese,butter,sausages,bacon. Big dissapointment. And at the end tha...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Tom T, thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay with us and for being our loyal guest for all these years. It is our job to make Your stay as comfortable as possible. We can assure You that our guests are extremely satisfied with our restaurant offer especially with our breakfast selection as we...

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
7:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Bristol by OHM Group
0.4 km away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#11 of 31 in Opatija
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
0.3 km away
Hotel Milenij
Hotel Milenij
#3 of 31 in Opatija
450 reviews
0.3 km away
Smart Selection Hotel Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Opatija, just a few steps from the Lungomare seaside promenade, this hotel offers an unforgettable stay at an excellent price/performance ratio. On the hotel terrace, one of the largest and most beautiful in Opatija, surrounded by oasis of greenery, the guest can enjoy an unforgettable combination of Mediterranean flair and refreshing delicacies. The Hotel Opatija’s sports and leisure offer includes: own tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, sauna and massages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Opatija

Address: Trg Vladimira Gortana 2/1, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Price Range: €46 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Opatija 2*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Opatija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Opatija staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Opatija staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with seaside view! :)”
 of 5 bubbles Girasole1977, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“With balcony overlooking the sea - very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulQ492, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Newer extension with sea view worth it”
 of 5 bubbles dafyddwynford, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Dont pick 3 stars rooms it is simply terrible and not worth money”
  • 3 star room with two beds...poor ambience with old TV
  • 3 star bathroom...no need for further comment
  • This is balcony view from the third floor. You can see parking lot.
  • This is balcony view from the third floor. You can see sea, it is about 0,3 miles from hotel
 of 5 bubbles TripFreak666, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“High floor sea view”
 of 5 bubbles johnmI9183UC, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay