We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Chelsea

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Chelsea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,069 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,027: English reviews
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our trip was fabulous I would highly recommend you stay here this place was very hospitable everyone greeted us everything went smoothly we had the best time here and our room was nice and clean, this hotel is literally on the beach it's gorgeous we enjoyed happy hour free cocktails, can't wait to come back again. #Awesome Anita P.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anita67-14
Brielle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear Anita67-14, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your comments are very valuable as they continually assist us with making enhancements to our hotel. I was delighted to hear of your experience and the positive service we were able to provide you . We would love to welcome you back again the next...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I celebrated my 22nd birthday it was nice clean and everyone was friendly. I would go back again :) it was a really nice accommodating place. I did get carried away so I was unable to take pictures but it's worth it .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erika R
Brielle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear Erika R, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your comments are very valuable as they continually assist us with making enhancements to our hotel. I was delighted to hear of your birthday celebration with us and the positive experience we were able to provide you. We hope that you stop by and...

Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here last weekend (it was my second visit). Everything was fine, but it was a major letdown when we headed to the hotel bar on the 5th floor for much needed food and drinks. We ordered 1 round of drinks and discussed food ideas with the bartender. Then a few minutes later someone yelled that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine O
Brielle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear Jeanine O, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your comments are very valuable as they continually assist us with making enhancements to our hotel. I was disappointed to hear that your stay was not up to par during your Anniversary. I would like to explain that our restaurant hours are subject to...

Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First impression was modern hotel. Updated rooms are nice. Bed was worn in a little too much for my liking. We found a dirty towel and empty beer can in our closet. The place had a marijuana sent in elevators and urine smell in the parking lot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickey75570
Brielle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear Nickey75570, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your comments are very valuable as they continually assist us with making enhancements to our hotel. I was very disappointed to hear of your experience with us as this is not our standard. I have addressed my team with your review to ensure all areas...

Columbus
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Chelsea hotel in the lux tower. Off site parking was 10$ so we opted for valet at 15$ a day with unlimited in and out. The valet guys were really nice and took good care of us and the car. The hotel only got an average rating from me solely because of it isn't a casino,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
Brielle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear Stephen P, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your comments are very valuable as they continually assist us with making enhancements to our hotel. We do have plans for Winter renovations of the property and would love if you returned after we have finished. We hope to make your "average" experience a...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my 5th trip to Atlantic City and my first time staying at The Chelsea. It will not be my last! My ocean view room 1511 in the Luxe Towers was wonderful, clean, quiet, and with a comfortable bed. I slept soundly for 8 hours, for the first time in a long time. It's on the boardwalk and next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loreen S
Brielle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear Loreen S, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your comments are very valuable as they continually assist us with making enhancements to our hotel. I was delighted to hear of your experience and the positive service we were able to provide you during your stay. I will be sure to let our...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good value for location and cleanliness. Was what i expected when I researched where to stay. Food was average but edible. Staff was nice during check in and check out. No complaints from the stay. Would do it again for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chi-Ming W
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently my husband and I stayed at The Chelsea. After reading some of the reviews, I have to admit, I was a little worried about our choice of hotel. However, once we arrived at the hotel, I saw that the location is wonderful. The front desk was quick to check us in and the room was lovely. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLB12505
Brielle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear JLB12505, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your comments are very valuable as they continually assist us with making enhancements to our hotel. I was delighted to hear of your experience with us and the positive service we were able to provide you. We hope that you stop by and visit us...

Collegeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at The Chelsea several times over the past 10 years and it is definitely showing it’s age. The pluses – staff as usual were great. Had a nice drink and appetizer at the Fifth Floor. Food at Teplitzky’s was great – overpriced but very good ($3 for an English muffin – get real). The minuses - the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
Brielle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear Laura A, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your comments are very valuable as they continually assist us with making enhancements to our hotel. I was very disappointed to hear of your experience with us as this is not our standard. I have addressed my team with your review to ensure all...

Dover, Delaware
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Great hotel staff were friendly and handled all check ins rapidly loved the room and view my daughter didn't want to leave will definitely stay again when I go back to Atlantic City just awesome overall

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ish D
Brielle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear Ish D, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your comments are very valuable as they continually assist us with making enhancements to our hotel. I was delighted to hear of your experience and the positive service we were able to provide you during your stay. We hope that you stop by and...

699 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (685)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (222)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (205)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
4.0 km away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 52 in Atlantic City
13,324 reviews
1.5 km away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
#9 of 52 in Atlantic City
939 reviews
3.2 km away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 52 in Atlantic City
3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#6 of 52 in Atlantic City
704 reviews
1.4 km away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
1.4 km away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#10 of 52 in Atlantic City
6,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Chelsea

Address: 111 South Chelsea Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Price Range: €101 - €311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City
Chelsea Atlantic City
Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Chelsea staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Browns Mills, New Jersey
over a year ago
4 months ago
18 days ago
Princeton, New Jersey

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from The Chelsea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views, quiet, close to the boardwalk and the Tropicana.”
  • Room 1511 view was breathtaking!
 of 5 bubbles loreens864, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“look for another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles copa2026, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try the Irish Pub Inn if you are looking for a budget place.”
 of 5 bubbles darryl370, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had the Bay View room, king sized bed. Spacious with partial view of the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles 812dannys, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask not to be near an elevator!”
 of 5 bubbles 912janrr, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay