We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We went with 5 friends for a Birthday celebration. The location is excellent and the staff was great with the exception of Jasmine the bartender who was so unhappy with life in general it actually made me sad. But Goodness she was RUDE! The room as are a bit outdated but I’m not that picky as long as they are clean. The food at the resort want the greatest but the little beach places to the least were fantastic and cheap!
For activities do NOT book with the resort, find Shisty at the bar and she will hook you up with everything from massages to sunset cruises, and she will even braid your hair all for a fraction of 5e resort costs. She is easy to find as everyone knows and loves her.
The resort did set up a dinner in the beach which was outstanding for our friends birthday evening.
Not sure why other reviews claim that this place was costly, after a week of eating and drinking our tab was just $162 for two people! That was breakfast every day (included in room price) lunch 5 times and dinner 4 times.
I would recommend this place if you don’t mind a bit of a rustic atmosphere, but you are on an island so just go with it Mon!
If you have heard of San Andres or been to San Andres, you know it is beautiful!
I have been to San Andres 3 times now and this was definitely the worst place I have stayed in. I'm honestly NOT a complainer( SEE for yourself, CHECK OUT my other reviews). Where to begin?
CONS Check in took forever. I mean over 30 minutes (if not more). Our room was still not ready so we took our stuff to ANOTHER room, where people were keeping their things as well.
Once we got our room, I was all but impressed. I have stayed in hostels (that did not have running water), nicer than this place.
If you have any interest of going to town, it is far away, when talking about San Andres. Everything is suppose to be "close" because it is a small island. NOPE this place is about 25 minutes (San Andres driving time) to the town.
We were with a group of people because we were all in San Andres for a wedding.
1 of the couples' room was broken into and money stolen from there.
If you must eat dinner at the hotel it is not that great. Breakfast is okay, but then again it is hard to mess up breakfast food.
The hotel stay itself is extremely overpriced. Like I said before, I have stayed in hostels that were better.
Response from Luz Milena D, Gerente at Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We regret that you did not have a pleasant stay. We are a beach hotel and our biggest attraction is nature, our walk to RockyKay is an unparalleled tourist attraction, these advantages can only be achieved thanks to the distance we have with the city, but in front of the hotel you find easy and accessible transportation to get to the commercial area. Most of our guests like their food and we offer a meal plan where they can change the food of the hotel for the restaurant of the island in case they want to change.
In brief, an expensive tourist trap with some exceptionally rude staff members. The rooms are incredibly dirty and smelly as hell while I was there I had visited at least 3 of them trying to find a dignity room to stay our whole trip.
we reserved ahead through booking 15 days before and also called first because we weren't sure what kind of rooms they were offering they told us it was just two kinds of rooms "matrimonial" and "junior" we booked a matrimonial room we arrived there late at night we did the check in then they guided us to our room which was a totally nightmare it was dirty, gross and super stinky we immediately complain and they argued very rude to us as our money wasn't enough for them telling us that there didn't have more rooms available eventhough we were offering pay more money. feeling quite impotent and resigned and being late to find a better place we decided to stay they promised us change us to another room next day. Is enough to tell that I couldn't sleep it was super stinky so like 2 am I went to the reception begging to a guy to do something to help us that the room we had was just insanity and some how insalubrity he was super kind and then as a miracle it was next to that room another available a little bit more nicer but the stinky smell was there too a little bit more dim but still at least enough to sleep 4 hours and get out of there.
Next day we went to the reception to ask for what they promised they started saying that they didn't have any more rooms available but as soon the people started checking out then they will let us know so we wait in reception for that at 9am a member of the staff come to us telling us there were an option we follow her and she show us a room same as stinky a bit less than the first two though we didn't like so she show us another one but was stinky and also dirty. SO DON'T GO TO THIS PLACE IS A TRAMP DON'T TRUST THE PICTURES IT'S A HORRIBLE EXPENSIVE AND INSALUBRITY PLACE!!
THE PICTURE ARE FROM THE FIRTS ROOM SHETS DIRTY AND THE SHAPE OF THE STUFF IS INSANE THIS PLACE IS OPEN
First of all let me tell you about the location - Playa de San Luis is simply gorgeous and that is the reason we stayed at Cocoplum, not forgetting the staff who were friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is overpriced considering its current condition - it is tired and renovations are certainly long overdue. I understand San Andres is an island where most everyday goods have to be brought across from the mainland, however, blaming the island's infrastructure for the poor performance of the hotel is not justified. Other establishments near San Luis, manage to maintain their buildings in far better condition for similar prices. Breakfast is ok, however, the food on the menu is very average and we ate there only once. There is huge potential for Cocoplum to be well ahead of its competitors provided they take action and address the issues I and many others have mentioned. I sincerely hope they'll do so.
Location 5/5 Right at the most beautiful beach of the island. From the rooms to the beach less than a minute. Stingy jellyfish were present. The water is otherwise brilliant and you can snorkel, Jetski, bananaboat If that's your thing.
Rooms 3/5 Spacious and clean, but a little old. We could not get a room with one big bed but only 2 smaller ones. Rooms facing the street can be loud, on our balcony you could smell sewage 24/7. Overall okay though.
Restaurant 1/5 Limited breakfast with the essentials, at hostel quality I would say. For dinner / lunch: the usual selection of seafood and sandwiches, all in the 20-50.000 peso range. Staff often unattentive but nice overall. Every guest I spoke to had a funny stomach after eating there, including me and my girlfriend (who was actually quite sick for a day), but in the end it could also be stem from another food source.
Service 1/5 Whilst staff was attentive and friendly, some things just put us off. We could not switch to a larger bed room and did not really get through with our request, only at a significant price increase. When we tried to do laundry we were asked to sort and count the dirty laundry on the reception counter - for two small bags they asked for 80.000 pesos. I mean come on, if you don't want to offer laundry services, then cooperate with someone doing it at a fair price.
Pricing 0/5 450.000 pesos / 150€ per night brings you a long way in terms of hotels in most parts of the world. This hotel would cost around 40-70€ in most other tropical destinations. The beach is superb and one of the nicest I've been, but the rest of the hotel is rather average and therefore the place is highly overpriced. However, this is a general trend in San Andres apparently so Hotels are probably only reacting to the demand.