We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hosteria Mar y Sol

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hosteria Mar y Sol
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hosteria Mar y Sol
See the most recent reviews
Showing 30: English reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 days. I will share the Good and Bad Good: the food cooked is to die for. Everyone is very kind and very personable. The grounds and rooms are very clean and well maintained. The AC works great in the room. Bad: it's far from everything. You have to catch a cab to do anything in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lmm20
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Good day, we believe that environmental conditions strongly influenced the negative that you express; however, we explain our location makes the place truly peaceful and quiet, so we are surrounded by greenery and natural water is part of that. The flora and fauna are lush in this part of the region, the lizards colors beautify this area and are harmless....

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I came from Brazil (Sao Paulo) and searched for a quite and peaceful place for vacation. It is a nice hotel, however it is located very far from the center. We were told that it is not a problem to walk on the surroundings of the hotel by day, what is not correct. We were robbed by a guy with...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Le T
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buen día. Lamentamos profundamente lo acontecido; ya establecimos contacto con las autoridades de la región para que se maximice la...

Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have just returned to Miami after spending 5 Nights at this hotel. It was an amazing and relaxing experience from start to finish. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The food is beyond Excellent!!! I had previously stayed in a few typical high-rise resorts but I wasn't too impressed... high prices, spotty service and too crowded. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marce4462
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por elegirnos. nuestro servicio se basa en una atención cálida para que nuestros huéspedes vivan una experiencia inolvidable. Nuestro...

Medellin, Colombia
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I had a pleasant stay and overall a great experience at the hotel. The place is like paradise with a beautiful view, excellent service hosted by Mr. Michael. If you are looking for quiet and pleasant rest, then this is the hotel to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cbas_Col
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. We are happy you enjoyed your vacations in our hotel and we hope you come back soon. Greetings.

Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was one of my most pleasant stays yet. Definitely took me off the daily routine. Staff was attentive, food is to die for, and the environment is very relaxing. Overall i had a great stay at Mar Y Sol.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clarayala
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

We work every day to provide our visitors the best care. We are happy that you enjoyed your vacations. Thanks for visiting and thanks for writing.

Elizabeth, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 July 2014

It was a great decision to stay at May y Sol for our vacations in Colombia! The hostel was very charming, peaceful and enjoyable; the rooms are very clean and provide enough room to store your luggage and keep your things organized. The service was excellent and everyone makes you feel like at home, especially Michael who was always very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cristina R
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buen día y gracias por escribir. Nos encanta que hayas disfrutado tu estadía con nosotros en San Andrés. Todo el...

Medellin, Colombia
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hosteria Mar y Sol its a beautiful place to spend your vacations, its close to one of the most beautiful places in the island call west view, although its not so close from downtown the hosteria provides and excellent shuttle service . its a really quiet and peaceful place where you can relax and enjoy the pleasures of nature. the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paloma V
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday. Our hostería is a quiet place away from noise and so it is the perfect place to rest. Thanks for visiting and thanks for writing.

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Tripadvisor Fail! We booked this hotel based on the positive reviews here - but were very disappointed. We knew the hostel was far away but there is literally nothing nearby. It is down a 1km dirt road off the coast. at least 5km from even a small shop. 17km away from the main centre. This would have been fine, except...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kimberley M
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buen día. Lamentamos la serie de inconvenientes ocurridos en tu estadía en nuestro hotel. Hay sucesos que, desafortunadamente, se nos...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We came to the Hosteria for one night stop over on the way to Providencia. We had wanted to stay near to the airport, for our early flight the next day, and were surprised it is a little further than we expected - Google Maps was wrong! However, the journey was well worth it. Superb home cooked food in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angbang
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing us, we wait for you again. Greetings.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hosteria Mar y Sol is a beautiful and cozy place to stay at San Andres Island. Great service, everyone makes you feel special and happy. Delicious breakfast with Colombian bread and coffe, fresh fish, shrimp, lobster, etc for seafood lovers like us. Gorgeus decoration inside and outside with large green areas and pretty pool. Perfect location for relax and enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 9AlimarT
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Good morning. We look forward to you again. Thanks for your comment. Greetings.

427 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (354)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (85)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
1.3 km away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#2 of 41 in San Andres Island
303 reviews
11.4 km away
San Andres Noblehouse Hotel
San Andres Noblehouse Hotel
#2 of 27 in San Andres
355 reviews
11.4 km away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#6 of 41 in San Andres Island
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Hotel Boutique Le castel blanc
11.0 km away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 27 in San Andres
1,414 reviews
6.6 km away
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
#11 of 41 in San Andres Island
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Hosteria Mar y Sol

Address: San Andres Island 00000, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Price Range: €50 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Mar y Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hosteria Mar y Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Andres Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hosteria Mar y Sol staff and other travellers.
43 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
Cali, Colombia
over a year ago

See all questions (43)

Questions? Get answers from Hosteria Mar y Sol staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“far away from the main house and pool area”
 of 5 bubbles AntonEgo1969, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel if you are looking for god food and kitchen with ala carte.”
 of 5 bubbles ao202, 20 Jul 2015 | Read review
“all of the rooms are equal in quality and atmosphere”
 of 5 bubbles idahomichelle, 19 Jun 2013 | Read review
“dont stay in the main house as there is a lot of noise from the kitchen at mornings and people using the stair case, Try to get one of the rooms at BLOQUE 1,”
 of 5 bubbles AndresFelipeEstrada, 19 Mar 2013 | Read review
4 of 4