We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hosteria Mar y Sol

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hosteria Mar y Sol
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 30: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

I stayed here for a couple of nights - I had a nice stay and the staff were really helpful, especially Cesar the owner and Michael on the front desk. it is in the southern most part of the island which is really beautiful and out of the way of all the noise. There is really good diving here and... More 

Helpful?
Thank jemstoane
jsayala01, Comunicador. at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and visit. We are pleased to offer the best to our guests. We hope to return. More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We went for diving in Providencia and we stayed 1 night in this hotel waiting for the flight to Providencia. We didn't like the hotel, it is very far from the center, we had to share the room, the air conditioner was not working well and they cut the electricity at 1 am so the room was super hot and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nazly L
jsayala01, Comunicador. at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience, sometimes they are general problems of the island and it is difficult to fix. (Water and electricity) The island is withdrawn, because we offer our guests rest and relaxation away from the business side of San Andrés. Thanks for the suggestions. More 

Prague
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Hotel is situated on south tip of island and you need transportation to get around but they provide free shuttle to San Andres city center every morning. Hotel says on booking portals it has 8 rooms but they have much more. Rooms are quite basic and small but clean and if you are fine with cold salt water in shower,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mactomi
jsayala01, Comunicador. at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment. In the hostería Mar y Sol will always be at your service to provide a comfortable accommodation on the San Andres Island. This is your house! More 

Schrobenhausen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2016

we stayed at this hotel for nearly 2 weeks because we loved it so much! luis and marisol are amazing and very helpful. the room was clean and the food was really delicious, especially the fruta di pan! location is perfect to relax and have your privacy! i loved to chill at the hammocks and the pool was very refreshing... More 

Helpful?
Thank lisalisalisa3
jsayala01, Comunicador at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and choose us! We're glad you had a good holiday in our hotel. We wait forever. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

One of the reasons we stayed here was downtown can be very noisey all night. Once you're there you'll understand why. Island has way too many people on it and tons of mopeds. Anyway this is really out of the way and not close to anything so we just used it as a place to sleep. Breakfast was poor. WiFi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
jsayala01, Comunicador. at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

We want to apologize for the bad times and the not nice service for you. The problem with the internet was general throughout the island not only in our hotel. We will work to improve and apologize again. More 

Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2016

The place located down south of the island, very quiet neighborhood but, the hotel is not, lots of families with screaming kids, maybe it was only those days i was there but my notion of relax was interrupted very often by screaming kids, sometimes by the owner, the lady loves to stand on her balcony and cream orders to her... More 

Helpful?
Thank AntonEgo1969
jsayala01, Comunicador. at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Thank you for your suggestions and comments. We hope to improve our service for our future visitors feel comfortable. Thanks for visiting and sorry for bad times. More 

Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2015

My Family and I , take vacation very seriously, we have travel thru out the Caribbean but, When we arrive at San Andres 07/04/2015 I was recommend the Hosteria Mar Y Sol .. I can never be more grateful of been recommend to stay on this excellent resort. Love it , This place is run by family , we meet... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JGMiamiBeach
jsayala01, Comunicadora at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review
Google Translation

Encontrarnos con este positivo comentario, hace que cada vez nos esforcemos por brindar un mejor servicio para que así como... More 

Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We stayed at the hotel for nearly two weeks July 2015. The hospitality was good but the food was not the best. Almost every morning they served the same small breakfast (4-5 pieces of some fruit, eggs and sweet bread, café or tea and fresh juice) and the dinner is not recommended (more and less tasteless). The main problem was... More 

Helpful?
Thank A O
jsayala01, Comunicadora at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for sharing your opinion with us undoubtedly will review these aspects to improve. We regret that your experience here has not been the best because of the things that you tell us as pets, rooms and food have been highlighted by the other guests. We hope you've recharged energy on the island of San Andres to continue... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2014

no problem seems to be the motto of this hotel. No matter what you ask for, they are willing to help you out with the request. We asked for a late check out and were granted it. We said we would not be eating dinner at the hotel that night (they ask for orders in the morning) and ended up... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank livetravellaugh
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Good day. We regret the minor inconveniences that occurred during your stay with us, we wanted everything to be perfect, but unfortunately there are small details that sometimes fail. Your feedback helps us to improve our services every day and be a better hotel to provide the best care to nuetras visitors. Thanks for choosing us and thanks for writing.... More 

Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The Hosteria Mar y Sol, is definitely the best option for the people who is looking for a place to rest and enjoy the best service. It has the perfect location, far away from the noise. The food is amazing, I highly recommend to take the plan with dinner included.

Helpful?
4 Thank Mikeserge
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us, we're glad you enjoyed your days off at our hostel. Our concept of quiet amidst nature allows visitors to relax and go home with the best holiday memories. The restaurant has the best hands that prepare wonderful dishes. We hope you come back soon. Greetings. More 

404 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (331)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (127)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
1.3 km away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#1 of 40 in San Andres Island
283 reviews
11.4 km away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#6 of 40 in San Andres Island
1,037 reviews
11.8 km away
Hotel Boutique Le castel blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
3.8 km away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#19 of 26 in San Andres
195 reviews
6.6 km away
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
#11 of 40 in San Andres Island
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Hosteria Mar y Sol

Address: San Andres Island 00000, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Price Range: €48 - €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Mar y Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hosteria Mar y Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Andres Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hosteria Mar y Sol staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
Cali, Colombia
over a year ago

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Hosteria Mar y Sol staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“far away from the main house and pool area”
 of 5 bubbles AntonEgo1969, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel if you are looking for god food and kitchen with ala carte.”
 of 5 bubbles ao202, 20 Jul 2015 | Read review
“all of the rooms are equal in quality and atmosphere”
 of 5 bubbles idahomichelle, 19 Jun 2013 | Read review
“dont stay in the main house as there is a lot of noise from the kitchen at mornings and people using the stair case, Try to get one of the rooms at BLOQUE 1,”
 of 5 bubbles AndresFelipeEstrada, 19 Mar 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay