We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,012 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,003: English reviews
Highland Park, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have been to the Berkeley twice now. Both times I've been in the off season (February and March), and I have had a wonderful experience. The service has been consistently exemplary. While the shore is fairly empty in the winter, the quiet really makes it feel like an escape.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmanuel7126
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review! We truly appreciate your nice feedback. Yes Asbury Park is great year round - although a bit quieter in off season. Pleae come back to escape with us again!!

Riverdale
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was extremely helpful, especially the bellboy and front desk! I would definitely recommend to others, as we have been repeat customers. Great location and very close to lots of amenities. Plus dog friendly!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ef20092017
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please recommend us to your friends and family. We would love to have them come join us as well...

Laval
Reviewed 1 week ago

Elevators broke down during our stay guests were being disruptive and the service to deal with it was horrible. The rooms were not so decent. Beds were not comfortable. They took an unexpected deposit which took away a lot of money from our trip. overall horrible hotel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank danielafK1226YQ
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry your stay with us did not go as expected. We did experience a brief shutdown of the elevators for which we apologize. Our service provider did respond promptly and restore service in a very short time. It is customary with most hotels to ask for a refundable deposit for incidental expenses at check in.

Farmington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Berkeley is such an icon in Asbury Park. The location and pricing can't be beat! Lisa at the front desk was so friendly and extremely welcoming. She made sure we had a room that suited our needs perfectly. And Theo, our bellman, made us feel right at home with his welcoming and joyful attitude. We did not use the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patriciakQ7247YU
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It is great to hear that Lisa and Theo took such good care of you. Our restaurant is receiving a brand new look, so we hope you are able to come back and enjoy it with us!

Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed a night, and the staff from the time we arrived until the time we checked out was fantastic. They were so friendly and incredibly helpful. Lisa checked us in and she was wonderful. It is a beautiful hotel, great views. The staff also made suggestions of great places to eat, get a drink, relax. Amazing staff, can't say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cew19802017
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your five star review! It is very rewarding for us when our guests take the time to recognize memebers of our great Berkeley Team. I will see that your kind words are shared with everyone, especially Lisa. Please come back and visit very soon!

Clark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Berkeley is a great place with excellent service, friendly staff that goes out of their way to accommodate and please every guest! This was my second time staying at this hotel and the service gets better and better!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleensA3569MT
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review! We truly appreciate your kindness. Our team loves taking care of our guests and insuring they have a great time here in AP. Please see us again in the near future!

Brooklyn
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Both times I have stayed at this hotel it has taken them 30+ min to check me in. They also decided to do construction work in the room next to mine at 7am. Yes, the hotel is nice, but for the money you pay to stay here the service should be a lot better.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J176XClaurenb
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed. I will review your comments with our team so that we are more mindful not to disturb guests early in the morning. There are many new features we are adding for the coming year. We hope you do come back and visit us again.

Jackson, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've stayed at The Berkeley several times and are never disappointed. The room is always very clean and the bedding so very comfortable. We highly recommend The Berkeley. Our daughters wedding is later this year and we will be blocking several rooms for our guests to stay. At this time the bar and restaurant are undergoing renovations but being in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review! As you saw we are creating new and exciting spaces for the upcoming year. We look forward to welcoming you back for your daughters wedding. We promise that we will make it a very special day!

Fords
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect location, but the rooms themselves were slightly below average. Our room could have easily been broken into due to a faulty lock, because when we stuck the key in the door pushed a portion of the way open prior to the green light blinking. The bathtub didn't drain correctly, and the beds were not very comfortable. Staff was nice,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 488morganr
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Security is our highest priority. We will look at your room lock today to make a proper adjustment.

New City
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They said velet parking was full and we need to use metered parking on the street. Restaurant was closed no advanced notice. Leak in room over top our belonging. TV remote didn't work. The front desk wasn't very helpful. Nothing was done to adjust the bill. We were also told that room was known to have a leak in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juds2017
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to disappoint you. During the recent nor'easter we did have some minor room leaks. We believed we addressed them all soon after. However, it is clear that we missed the one in your room. We apologize that we caused this inconvenience to you. Please contact us so we can address your concerns.

304 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (274)
Viewed
Room/Suite (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.3 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
182 reviews
0.7 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
281 reviews
8.8 km away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
65 reviews
8.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
304 reviews
9.1 km away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As historic Asbury Park's premier boutique hotel, The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel enjoys a prime location along the New Jersey shoreline just steps from the famed boardwalk. Designed by noted Beaux Arts architect Warren Whitney of New York, the hotel recently underwent a renovation of historic proportions and is poised to experience the renaissance of this nineteenth-century seaside destination. Modern luxuries complement the classic grandeur of this 238-room famous hotel, with a nod to the Victorian architecture and oceanfront glamour of Asbury Park's storied past. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel embodies everything that is the revitalization of the famed Jersey Shore and itself represents the rebirth of this cultural icon. The Berkeley offers a bar and restaurant during the summer season only. Parking is available in our lot at an additional cost. Parking is provided on a first come, first serve basis as it is limited. The Berkeley prides itself on being a pet friendly hotel. Pet friendly rooms are offered on a designated floor at an additional cost. A complimentary coffee service is available daily from 7 AM to 11 AM for all overnight guests. For questions or concerns, please reach out to the email provided on our general information page. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Price Range: €114 - €266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
over a year ago
9 months ago
Hudson, New York
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
8 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean-view rooms are worth the money.”
 of 5 bubbles dmanuel7126, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Fourth floor is pet friendly. Yes, pet friendly. As in bring your pet. Great to know!”
 of 5 bubbles FlavaFlav, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Oceanfront rooms on the higher floors provide the best sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles ritaw406, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beach view Is worth it”
 of 5 bubbles nickhI5995IQ, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Its pet friendly on the 4th floor”
 of 5 bubbles rotololaw, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5