We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostel Casa Blanca

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hostel Casa Blanca
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 33: English reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Is a beautiful place un expensive and with nice people had a awesome lounge right next to de Medellin metro station el poblado very clean and comfortable it have tours to the best city attractions and is also closed to the lleras park

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonny C
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Noisy. Hot. No fan. Uncomfortable bed. Unhelpful staff. Wifi poor. Worst hostel I've stayed in in South America. They say breakfast is included, but you get given 2 slices of bread and 2 raw eggs and are told to make your own. Was going to stay 3 nights. Left after one and moved next door to the competition.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thebrightstuffdotcom
Hostel B, General Manager at Hostel Casa Blanca, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments However I don’t understand why you don’t mention that I talk to you and offer you to change you in to a bigger room and in the event that you did not like it we will refund your money and you decided to stay. If you needed a fan you could just ask for one...

Sapzurro, Colombia
Reviewed 5 February 2016

not my first and for sure not my last stay in here. a lovely peaceful beautiful hostel in el poblado medellin. i stayed here before and will come back. everytime i want a nice family, the owner benjamin who became a personal friend i go to casa blanca. highly recommand, wish you all as well a great stay, z

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zohan2015
Kingston, Jamaica
Reviewed 4 February 2016

By far this is the best hostel in Medellin the make you feel like home in fact that is the slogan of the hostel Casa Blanca your home in Medellin!! an that is rigth on the money is clean and also has very good rates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonythemanyea
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

After I spent few month in South America and been in tons of hostels, this one is taking the first place! The location was amazing, great and safe environment, beautiful and colorful hostel, with sitting places, sofas, pool, T.V, neat kitchen and even nice convinent supermarket! The treatment was G-R-E-A-T, and the owners of the hostel are such friendly kind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ניצן ב
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed here without reading prior reviews the end of December 2015. I got the private room. The first night well laying in bed I seen a bug on my blanket. I got up and inspected thoroughly. There were multiple bugs. I google searched and learned they're bed bugs. I showed them and they moved me to a shared dorm....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brennan B
Hostel B, Manager at Hostel Casa Blanca, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for you review; At the time that you refer to we did have a bedbug problem and it was something that we allredy deal with, we hired the Best pest control company in Medellín and we did change not only the mattresses, but every thing in the 3 room that had the problem, as you will know...

Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

The ventilator in the room was not working. The shower was cold. And last but not least: BED BUGS! My arm and legs were covered in bites. Was not even compensated. Don't go here! Rather go to Black Sheep in the same street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
Hostel B, General Manager at Hostel Casa Blanca, responded to this review

BH Dear costumer we apologise for the cold water at the time we were experience a problem with one of the water heaters, and because the clim in Medellín we only offer fas in our suits, in reference to the bed bogs that you are talking about we do not have that problem, since we fumigate every week to prevent...

Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

THE GOOD : This hostel is conveniently located in the "El Plobado" neighborhood which is close to good restaurants and the nightlife scene in Medellin. It is also known to be a relatively safe neighborhood - we walked around after dinner and never felt like we were in any danger. Of course, as always one must always be diligent and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon S
Hostel B, General Manager at Hostel Casa Blanca, responded to this review

BH Dear costumer are you sure you are rating hostel Casa Blanca in patio bonito? Because we do not have any one by the name of Sheila. Any way could you send us your reservation also since we cant find any reservation at hostelworld or hostelBooker with the característics that you describe in your complain, if you please contact me...

Cartagena, Colombia
Reviewed 23 November 2015

I loved this hostel but the owners are amazing they help me alot I realy felt at home and the prices were good to I did not left the hostel in 4 days I had every thig right there next time I come to medellin I will go there for sure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexca205
La Paz, Bolivia
Reviewed 31 August 2015

I recommend this hostel very much the people is nice the prices ar good is clean and is very closed to the metro station malls and restaurants is big since it has 2 houses together it even have garage and a mini market where you can find every thing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanethe A

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.5 km away
La Presidenta Hostel
La Presidenta Hostel
#44 of 173 in Medellin
35 reviews
0.1 km away
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
0.3 km away
Pitstop Guest House
Pitstop Guest House
#32 of 173 in Medellin
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
The Wandering Paisa
The Wandering Paisa
#13 of 173 in Medellin
152 reviews
4.4 km away
Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin
Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin
#27 of 173 in Medellin
148 reviews
0.6 km away
Panela Hostel
Panela Hostel
#93 of 173 in Medellin
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostel Casa Blanca is one of the better and bigest hostels in Medellin, ideal for executives, couples, family groups, solo back packers, athetics and people looking for a nice and quiet place to relax. Located in the best area of el poblado Patio Bonito, offers our visitors a quiet ambiance in a safe and beautiful neigborhood. the hostel has a big private parking area and lot of extras: Pro Billar Table, Ping pong table, Dards, Basket ball court, Spanish classes, lockers, Garage, a full equipped kitchen, microwave, big patio with fruit trees and tanning deck and Bar-BQ, Plasma TV with 300 international channels, DVD, onward booking for all hostels in Colombia and much more..... Come and enjoy your time in Medellin, we are located close to the Zona Rosa of Medellin where the best night clubs, casinos and restaurants are. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Blanca

Address: Transversal 5a #45 256, Medellin, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Price Range: €13 - €38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Casa Blanca staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the ones by the south house are more calm”
 of 5 bubbles 124jeanethea, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Take the Presidential suite, it's worth the extra $$”
 of 5 bubbles financecounselor, 29 Oct 2014 | Read review
“If you are traveling with 2 people, get the private room. It is not much more and you can feel safe leaving your stuff behind for an adventure!”
  • Main Lobby 2
  • Main Lobby 1
  • View from side window in private room
  • Beds in Private Room
 of 5 bubbles K4405SEdavidr, 7 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Couples room which we saw was cabin like, dorm room was quiet, beds were hard, but I slept perfectly, better than I do back home!”
 of 5 bubbles 000Lauren000, 17 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Private Room upstairs is (probably) the best.”
 of 5 bubbles Rolandinho10, 1 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay