We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostel Mamallena

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostel Mamallena
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostel Mamallena
See the most recent reviews
Showing 347: English reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

This hostel is located in a great spot. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms are cleaned daily, areas are kept clean, air con is standard in the rooms. You can organise all the main tours from the hostel and any transport required. Hostel is safe with security at nighttime and has cool bars nearby. Only reason for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie R
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

We organised our your from cartagena to Panama city with this hostel. We chose la gitanita. This tour was fantastic. No problems. The captain and crew were professional and helpful and communicated the daily plan well. The good was simple but hearty. We caught 2 big fish on the first night so we had fresh raw tuna every day. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlybowers
Palm Beach Gardens
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at a lot of party hostels. But this place brought a whole new meaning to party. I felt like a nightclub was in my room. I was in dorm upstairs above the bar and across the street was a bar. However, it didn't bother me and I have a sound machine app on my phone to block...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gia H
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 6 July 2016

This is a party hostel with a lot of young people -- no doubt about that. As long as you come prepared with that expectation, you'll be fine! The staff was super helpful and all spoke English. Only cold water in showers but like others have said, you don't need hot water since outside, it's so... hot... all the time....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omika J
Hannover, Germany
Reviewed 25 June 2016

I really liked Mamallenas in Cartagena! It is located just across the big Media Luna Hostel where you can go to the rooftop party on Wednesdays. Mamallenas itself is not a party hostel, but is has a very good vibe and you can always find nice people to start your night with in the courtyard when night has fallen which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steffman
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

We booked to stay 4 nights but left after 1, unfortunately it was just too loud for us to sleep. We were in the bar until 2am (which was good fun) but could still hear noise from it in our room after that time. We were in room 18 which is closest to the bar, so avoid that one. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ajs245
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

And this is the reason that we put on our website that if you might be affected by the noise then it might be a good idea to look else where. We do everything possible to inform people of this risk before booking, so its a little bit rough to then complain about the same things that you knew about...

Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Dorms are comfortable, but no hot water in the shower (although this was unnecessary because of the hot weather). The vibe of the hostel is really cool, with lots of young backpackers. Great if you are looking for making friends and for party (do not expect a calm and quiet place)! The location of the hostel is reeeally amazing. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natalia B
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

Thanks Natalia, thats basically what we are going for, a fun place for you guys to hang out

Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

This is a great hostel if you are looking to budget and make new friends. The hostel is a 10 minute walk to the old town and a 8 minute walk to the Castillo de San Felipe. They also have a bar in the hostel which is perfect if you want to make new friends. I would recommend this to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saul B
Reviewed 23 May 2016

I loved my stay in Cartagena at the Mamallena Hostel - not only is it THE hub for the city in terms of access to nightlife and great street food, a special mention must go out to Stuart, the hostel owner. I left my rucksack in a taxi on the way to the hostel from the airport (a great way...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Freddie C
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Centrally located in the Old City. Good (as opposed to great, but not meant as a slight in any way), reasonably priced small hostel with a fun, younger vibe. I had a single private with A/C, which I would deem absolutely necessary in sweaty, steamy Cartagena. My shower pressure was adequate. Room was clean, bed better than average hostel comfort....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JBee2500
Casa762, Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, and I think you got us just right as a hostel. We will never be perfect for everyone but as long as the majority of our guests are happy then so are we

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartagena
25.4 km away
Mucura Club Hotel
Mucura Club Hotel
#2 of 2 in Isla Mucura
52 reviews
11.5 km away
Decameron Isla Palma
Decameron Isla Palma
#1 of 1 in Isla Palma
370 reviews
70.8 km away
Hotel Marina Suites
Hotel Marina Suites
#113 of 147 in Cartagena
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Punta Faro
Punta Faro
#1 of 2 in Isla Mucura
459 reviews
74.2 km away
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
73.4 km away
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
#2 of 153 in Cartagena
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hostel Mamallena

Address: Calle Media Luna, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Price Range: €14 - €46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Mamallena staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Mamallena staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor is the loudest”
 of 5 bubbles amandaanders, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There may be fewer customers on weekdays than at weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles TrangPea, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Back of courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles RebeccaW286, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Air-Condition needed!”
 of 5 bubbles Steffman, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All dorm rooms have A/C, really good choice!!”
 of 5 bubbles rhiannonb815, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5