We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Akwa Palace

Jumia TravelUS$145*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$152*
US$145*
Great Deal
US$150*
US$152*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Akwa Palace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Akwa Palace
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is quite good . It offers nice fresh food. The rooms are quite spacious and there is exquisite furniture. The staff hospitality is excellent. If you request for room service you get it promptly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank zvinaiye2017
Chisinau, Moldova
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks and found that it's quite good. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Breackfast is good as well (meat, fish, rice, benas, fruts) - standard. Hotel isn't providing water/tea in the room and definetly 4 star is too high note for this hotel. Safe box provided, but hadn't worked... Hotel providing free transfer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DmitriiGangan
provinces, Responsable réception at Hotel Akwa Palace, responded to this review

Dear Ms DmitriiGangan , Thank you for this constructive and rewarding comment for the staff of the hotel Akwa Palace.

Paris, France
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed for a couple of weeks and all the flaws of the hotel got on my nerves. Between the amenities that didn't always work (lift out of order, the electricity on one side of the room, hot water sometimes...) and the staff on the front desk who are not paid enough to care (being warned that you'll need 1h30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bebsaurus_13
provinces, Responsable réception at Hotel Akwa Palace, responded to this review

Dear Ms Bebsaurus, Thank you for this comment, we understand your great disappointment and we are dissatisfied and regret that you left dissatisfied. Your remarks shall allow to improve the quality of our services so that your next stay is better.

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

With reference to the cost (around 120 EURO) excluding the breakfast the service provided has to improve: - Lift breakdown during 3 days - Lighting issue in the room - WIFI not stable and have to be granted every 3 if the stay is longer - The street noise is being heard inside the room ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Souleymane T
provinces, Responsable réception at Hotel Akwa Palace, responded to this review

Dear Ms SOULEYMANE, This comment welcome is because he will allow us to improve our services to serve you better. Sincerely Yours.

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed with my husband and my little babies last week. I taught it was a good hotel..I totally wrong. We needed to change room because the a.c was broken(the technician came 3 times for arrange). As I wrote we travelled with two little babies..then the hotel gave us both rooms with broken windows,at 3 floors,with the balconies at all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marta2406
provinces, Responsable réception at Hotel Akwa Palace, responded to this review

Dear Marta, We thank you for this comment. We are disappointed whom you are to leave without speaking about thèse inconveniences in the direction of the hotel which is sensitive to your remarks and which would have been able to found a solution so that you leave the hotel with the smile. We hope that you will give us the...

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Close to city and a casino nearby. But too much smell with detergent or something like that. Rooms are safe and clean, personel is very kind. Pool and fittness is nice. Dont hesitate to come this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murat Ö
provinces, Responsable réception at Hotel Akwa Palace, responded to this review

Dear Ms MURAT, Thank you for this pleasant comment. For the detergent, it will be correct at once so that your next stay is completed.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Well located hotel, friendly and quick staff, good restaurant and breakfasts, ok price. It is an old hotel what you can see in its decor etc. but it is clean and its age is not an issue. Rooms are spacious, restaurant and bar open until 23:00 hrs. Small pool and bar next to it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eryk932
Eric L, Directeur général at Hotel Akwa Palace, responded to this review

Dear customer, We are very happy that you enjoyed the AKWA PALACE, and we thank you for your comment. Please note that we do everything we can to satisfy the well-being of our customers.

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

This WAS a very nice hotel, but money has only been spent on the bits everyone sees after its 50+ years of existence. e.g. really great pool and poolside area but room safes don't work. However the cost of meals etc is certainly London prices with a 1.5litre bottle of water costing over £3! Most half decent hotels in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnHellier
Eric L, Directeur général at Hotel Akwa Palace, responded to this review

Dear customer, We appreciate your comments. Know that we are in a period of renovation and that we are doing everything possible to satisfy our customers.

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 21 September 2016

If you are in Douala for business, this should be your hotel. Close to everywhere, especially in the center of Akwa area, which is comercial center of city. There is no smoking room, but it is allowed to smoke in the balcony of rooms. Breakfast variation is enough, but it should be developed with more alternatives. Room service for drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gürkan K
Eric L, Directeur général at Hotel Akwa Palace, responded to this review

Dear customer, We are very happy that you enjoyed the AKWA PALACE, and we thank you for your comment. Please note that we do everything we can to satisfy the well-being of our customers.

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Very friendly staff Speak French and English Convenient for business in the city and 20 min from the airport Shuttle to airport available and free Rooms are clean and well serviced Wifi available free, but weak in my particular room Restaurants (2) on the premises ( Buffet and al a carte) Food very good Inside and outside bars Gym and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KenCooper1953
Eric L, Directeur général at Hotel Akwa Palace, responded to this review

Dear customer, we are very happy that you enjoyed the AKWA PALACE, and we thank you for your nice comment.

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douala hotels
1.5 km away
Ibis Douala
Ibis Douala
#1 of 31 in Douala
317 reviews
2.2 km away
Pullman Douala Rabingha
2.8 km away
Star Land Hotel
Star Land Hotel
#2 of 31 in Douala
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Prince de Galles
Hotel Prince de Galles
#4 of 31 in Douala
63 reviews
0.9 km away
Bano Palace Hotel
Bano Palace Hotel
#3 of 31 in Douala
63 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Sawa
Hotel Sawa
#16 of 31 in Douala
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located in the heart of Douala, the Akwa Palace Hotel combines the charm of the colonial tradition with the most modern comfort within a refined and warm atmosphere. The Akwa Palace Hotel is close to the vibrant cultural and tourist centers and is situated in the middle business district of Douala, the economic capital of Cameroon. The Akwa Palace is made of 2 buildings, the Akwa 1, 3*** and the Akwa 2, 4**** Deluxe. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Akwa Palace

Address: Boulevard de la Liberte 920, Douala 4007, Cameroon
Region: Cameroon > Littoral Region > Douala
Price Range: €113 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Akwa Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Akwa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Akwa Palace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel is situated along the street, better to chose rooms facing inside square/pool”
DmitriiGangan, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose Back rooms pool view”
KenCooper1953, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Nearer the lift the better. Can be confusing to navigate from one section to another”
Srivatsan, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a garden room for a nice quiet night.”
SimSar, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Nice crew, very helpfull”
grigoreanka, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Jumia Travel
US$145* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$150
Hotels.comUS$152
Booking.comUS$150
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates