We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique  Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

439 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 377: English reviews
Start your review of Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for five days at the beginning of March. I really enjoyed the retro atmosphere of the place. It's convenient to Pub Street and the main gay bar (Barcode). On the negative side, the staff could use a little more training. Also, their coffee is not good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray K
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed 9 nights and thought the place a credit to the owner and staff. All are so helpful and friendly with no obtrusiveness. Perfectly situated in a quiet lane. Such a choice of bars and eating places on the doorstep Great shower, free drinking water in room every day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinst57
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for two nights in February. We booked 2 standard double rooms. The check-in process was quick and courteous. There are multiple buildings here, I believe our rooms were in the "garden" area of the hotel (next to the reception). My room was small but adequate for one person. There was a safe, a small TV (probably the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnathan H
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was recommend GB from a friend of mine who is a frequent traveler to Siem Reap and the GB. The location is near all the local hot spots in Siem Reap but still quiet when you were ready to sleep. The room was cozy and cool for those naps to beat the heat of Siem Reap. The room has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here at the urging of a friend. The location is absolutely perfect, a few blocks walk to the bustling market and Pub Street, down a quiet alley. The concierge was incredibly helpful to us naive westerners. We booked excursions and a driver here. (Do not agree to any hire in Siem Reap until you arrive at your hotel!)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ginger R
KeePeung, Owner at Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ginger R Thank you for your review. We are very happy to know that you had a great time staying with us during your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you again if you do return. Please recommend the hotel to friends, etc.. Thank you again. Regards Kee

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best boutique I ever stayed! I found the location very near to pub street and night market. The swimming pool and pool side bar are very handy. The garden view is where I love to spend sometime with my book.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chanrath
KeePeung, General Manager at Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chanrath Thank you for taking your time to write the review. I and my staff are very pleased to learn that you love our hotel and you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back and your friends. Your recommendation to friends will be greatly appreciated. Best regards Kee

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Don't let the pictures and reviews deceive you! Our hotel was not what is in the pictures. We were taken down a dark and dirty alley to a building under some sort of reconstruction. The lobby was filthy and covered in dirt and the floor had a plastic film over it. The front door was a gate that was unsecured...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
KeePeung, Owner at Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

KeePeung, Owner at Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review Dear Sam I am very disappointed to read your review. There are three buildings or sections at the Golden Banana Hotel. Unfortunately in the front two buildings of the Golden Banana Hotel could have bee fully booked. The back building, which you stayed in, is...

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewed 4 February 2017

I'm disappointed to have to write this review since I've stayed at other Golden Banana properties and had a great experience, but I was up all night swatting away mosquitos and am utterly exhausted. My room seems to have dozens of them, and they are relentless; I kill one and another appears. At least the hotel could have provided a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tverdomnar
KeePeung, Owner at Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tverdomnar I find your review equally disappointing. As the owner of the property, I and my staff are very eager to solve problems. If other potential guests read all the reviews, there are hundreds of happy guests. My question is when did you stay? What room number? You wrote "Yesterday" when you stay! You mentioned other Golden Banana hotel...

Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We arrived in holidays for visiting Siem Reap but we were stole in our room during exactly the two hours we were outside. Moreover, they didn't care and the manager didn't come also, just as if they didn't care. It was awful for a such awaiting moment. And their breakfast and cocktails are not good : not enough food compare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastien B
KeePeung, Owner at Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Golden Banana Hotel opened more than ten years. Our rooms are charmingly decorated and very clean with daily room service. Our breakfast menu is adequate for the price of the room rate. If this guest was so unhappy and found that my hotel room is dirty and bad breakfast, why did he and his friend check out? They stayed three...

Reviewed 31 January 2017

Not a good place to stay, Food and Beverage way under average Rooms are small, towels are not changed on a regular basis... Everything is old and dusty, We got robbed 200USD in our room (not pointing at the staff there...but except me and my friend there were the only one with a key.) Move along, hundreds of better hotel/BnB...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iquel T
KeePeung, Owner at Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

I find this review misleading. When the guest arrived at the hotel, he asked my staff for the bus company's telephone number. We wonder why and what for? May be he lost his money in the bus? When he claimed that his money was stolen from his room, he has no evidence to back it up. One night when he...

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 km away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#120 of 338 in Siem Reap
700 reviews
0.5 km away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.0 km away
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
#30 of 338 in Siem Reap
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
#115 of 338 in Siem Reap
465 reviews
1.2 km away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#9 of 499 in Siem Reap
649 reviews
0.2 km away
Kia Kaha Villa
Kia Kaha Villa
#92 of 499 in Siem Reap
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Private,free-standing, pagoda-like, authentically Khmer stylish ENSUITE rooms with A/C in room, some room has high ceiling fan, hot water, garden & courtyard. Laundry service, friendly & capable staff. TV, no telephone, fridge or telephone inside the room for B&B rooms. Breakfast is included in the room rate. Swimming Pool for Superior Hotel and B&B guests. Swimming pool opens to all guests staying at Golden Banana. Gay friendly, owned & operated, but friendly and open to all guests from all walks of life.This hotel is centrally located in the old colonial area of Siem Reap Down Town,built in the tranquil secluded Khmer Village, few minutes stroll to the Old Market, shops, Pub Street, restaurants & nightlife. Only 10 minutes drive to the world-famous temple of Angkor Wat, & Siem Reap International Airport & Tonle Sap Port. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel

Address: Close to Pub 'Street and night life but locatedin a very quiet lane | Phum Wat Damnak, Khum Sala Komreuk, Krom 10, Siem Reap, Siem Reap 888, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Price Range: €22 - €36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Austin, Texas

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i asked on booking for a quet room and it was brilliant”
 of 5 bubbles kevinst57, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with the pool have a better view”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“good location”
 of 5 bubbles 267hazelh, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in B&B are quieter. Rooms across the street are lovely and overlook the pool. There is some construction going on next door though.”
 of 5 bubbles mcspeight, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Superior rooms at upper level accessed by steep steps - choose ground floor if you have mobility problems”
  • B & B cottage in shaded garden
 of 5 bubbles 165francesh, 19 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates