We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Alexandria

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
North Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2015

We stayed March 20, 2015 for a volleyball tournament. The room was nice and clean with pool view. Nice pool area. Food at Rudys delicious. Nice cozy bar. Only thing I'd like to see is a mini fridge in room like most Holiday Inns have.

Helpful?
Thank NDTravler
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words! I am curious about the mini fridge comment. All of our rooms are supposed to have a fridge and microwave and if you would call me at the hotel I would like to look into the room you were in to fix that!!! Take care and see you again soon. Duane More 

Mpls
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2014

This is a CLEAN, Comfortable hotel with a VERY GOOD restaurant. I was here for business. The desk staff were very pleasant and the hotel lobby had GREAT decorations for Christmas. The hotel IS OLDER, but it is clean. The room had comfortable beds. Bathroom IS VERY SMALL but I was here alone so it was not a big deal

Helpful?
Thank SusanMcP
Duane R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad you found our hotel clean and comfortable, and as always we pride ourselves in our service. Your comments are truly appreciated! More 

Regina - Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2014

This is a typical Holiday Inn property. It is huge, old, and very dated. The hallways are long, and narrow (imagine The Shining). The bathroom was very small. The room itself was on the small side. Bed was OK – not bad, not great. Lighting was very dim. The halls smell musty. That smell was masked in the room by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joebaba
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your stay was not what you had expected. We are renovating and making our hotel the best it can be! I was glad to hear that your service and staff experience was positive! We are proud of our place and try to make every guest feel like family. Take care and thank you for your feedback. More 

Travellers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2014 via mobile

Clean but older holiday inn. Currently under renovation. Service excellent. Convenient location off highway. Nice restaurant in the hotel. Staff very pleasant. Furniture needs updating also. Older but very clean.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Excellent! Glad you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your comments to the rest of the staff, we take pride in what we do and your feedback keeps us going! More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2014 via mobile

Not bad, right off the highway, has a very good restaurant attached (Rudy's Red eye Grill), awesome pool area and conference facilities. My September stay they were doing some renovations to keep the property. Stayed 4 nights.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy D
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments! Sorry about the mess from renovations, we are moving as quickly as possible! Hope to see you again soon and you can check out our progress! More 

Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2014

The front counter was very pleasant to work with. They let us check in a little early as we had many things to get done in town. The room was o.k. but it had a musty smell and the carpet wasn't as clean as it should be for the price. The area for the kids to play and have fun... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank papadew_10
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your experience was less than perfect! We are as you saw remodeling and taking care of the concerns you mentioned. I am curious about the restaurant comments. The majority of our diners love the food and service and we use the best quality product in our menu. I would love to follow up so I can... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. That's as good as it gets. The room had a horrible musty damp smell and the carpet seemed wet. Coffee pot had not been cleaned in days as there was moldy coffee still in it. There are much better options in town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

We do take pride in our service, and the issues you mentioned are being repaired starting last Tuesday. We had trouble as well as the contractors pinpointing the cause, and I am very sorry that you experienced what you did. If I can do anything for you please contact Duane at the hotel. Thank you for the comments and take... More 

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

They were going through some renovations the weekend we were there. I think they are re-doing all the carpet in the hallways. It had a musty smell but it was to be expected. Rooms were average sized but the bed was super comfortable. It wasn't too far away from anything in town as the hotel was right off I-94 and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Slypatnode
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am glad your experience was positive overall, and yes, we are in the middle of a large remodel to update and take care of the issues you mentioned. The beds are wonderful as well as the pool area and restaurant, and when the walls and carpets are done, we will be able to give you a truly 5 star... More 

Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Staff was very friendly at front desk and in restaurant/bar....couldn't ask for friendlier people. Long miserable walk to room, room had horrible musty order to it like it was a previous smoking room and not cleaned before conversion. Sheets were stained with nail polish or something and carpet was stained. Buffet in a.m. in restaurant was okay but omelet bar... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank btravelball
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that parts of your stay were not up to our standards! We are taking care of the property issues as quickly as possible, but the buffet quality is normally top notch and our staff tries hard to be as helpful as possible in every situation. I would like to discuss your experience to fix... More 

Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for a wedding up at Arrowhead, booked us a 2 bed hotel room per stating they didnt have 1 queen bed rooms, but asked at front desk to change to single bed hotel room at check in. They changed rooms alright, but just moved us to another 2 bed hotel room. Room must have been cleaned in 2... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Korey B
Duane R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear your experience wasn't up to par...We did have some issues with room bookings and moved some people to accommodate and had to re clean several rooms. We are proud of our hotel and never want our guests to feel like they are just a number, and I am embarrassed you felt that way. If... More 

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
2.5 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
#3 of 12 in Alexandria
162 reviews
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
0.7 km away
Days Inn Alexandria MN
Days Inn Alexandria MN
#10 of 12 in Alexandria
222 reviews
21.4 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Glenwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome!The Holiday Inn Alexandria offers a casual resort like atmosphere and is conveniently located at the intersection of I-94 and Hwy 29 South. Our unique setting makes us the ideal destination for the business traveler as well as those looking for a relaxing getaway. We also offer meeting accommodations for up to 400 people.The beautiful community of Alexandria, MN features a landscape lavish with lakes and offers a variety of outdoor activities. The Holiday Inn Alexandria is near several local attractions, golf courses and a stroll through our beautiful downtown is always a treat. Attractions near the hotel include: Carlos Creek Winery, Casey's Amusement Park, Viking Speedway, Runestone Museum, Maritime Museum, Andes Tower Hill with skiing and tubing, 500 miles of snowmobile trails, and a variety of unique Antique Shops. Brought the kids? We offer a large indoor recreation area which includes a swimming pool, whirlpool, wading pool, sauna, fitness center, game room, volleyball court, basketball hoop, hockey nets, pool table, and ping pong.Hard day at work or play? After you ve had a chance to settle into your newly renovated room, join us in Rudy s Redeye Grill; conveniently located inside the hotel, for classic American fare in an Old Chicago style setting. Rudy s has the best steaks in town as well as fabulous sandwiches and pizza.We look forward to your stay here at the Holiday Inn Alexandria where it is always our pleasure to serve you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria

Address: 5637 Highway 29 South, I-94 and Highway 29, Alexandria, MN 56308
Region: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Price Range: €93 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Alexandria staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are traveling without kids, the best room would be at a different property.”
 of 5 bubbles VikingJake, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the first floor due to the lack of an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles 253bretta, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Stay Somewhere Else”
 of 5 bubbles MomRocco, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
“To be near the activities center, you need to choose a room location, or it is a bit of a walk from the hotel wings.”
 of 5 bubbles FrankR_42133, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
“To have a quiet room ask for one away from the pool, but if you are there for the amenities, choose a pool facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles JCJake, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay