We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Alexandria

HolidayInn.comUS$140*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Boston MA
Reviewed 15 July 2015

I wonder if this ia an oldie but goodie of the Holiday chain. Sure needs an update. The entire place reaks of humidity from the pool. The corridors are dark with ghastly carpeting. The rooms retain another odor? Dark brown carpeting - had on clean white socks and they were dirty within minutes - last time cleaned and vacuumed???? Beds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mpd
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear your comments! I am curious to know what room you were in so I can follow up! We are currently updating and have come a long way but your comments are much appreciated! I will do what I can to make it right.

Wickford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Great location! Very near rail links into Washington, D.C., date is wrong on my review we were there May 2014. Memorial weekend and wow! The Harley's in the car park and area were stunners! All the bikers from across the U.S. Gather to do memorial weekend and they are very friendly! Alexandria town centre is just a few Minutes walker...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twinkletoes75
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I believe your review is for the hotel in Alexandria VA and it showed up on the Alexandria MN trip advisor page! Glad to hear you had a great time in DC! Take care.

Northfield MN
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Overall, this Holiday Inn feels dirty and outdated. We stayed two nights with a large group, and while we did enjoy the large indoor recreation area (pool, volleyball court, basketball hoops, ping-pong tables, and seating area) for all the kids, we were not pleased with the hotel's condition. Our room was NOT clean, with dust and dirt even on top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olliesmom51
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am sorry about the issues you experienced during your stay. I am aware of the issues we faced during your stay and are working on hiring and training/re-training so that the rooms are very clean and inviting! If there is anything I can do please contact Duane at the Hotel. Thank you for your feedback!

Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Initial arrival room was tidy after deeper inspection found a couple problems made complaint to management was corrected next night room was spotless third night bathroom not clean made another complaint was compensated and satisfied with that would recommend tipping security versus housekeeping staff since they do a better cleaning job. the food at Rudy's redeye grill was exceptional and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about you cleanliness issues, but am pleased to hear that our security team took care of you and that your restaurant experience was great! Thank you for your comments, I will work on coaching and fixing that!

Rosemount, Minnesota
Reviewed 25 June 2015

We got there and the hotel was full, we had a reservation waiting and got our room. The lobby was nice looking, but when we went to our room we quickly discovered a way to go back in time. I thought we were back in the late 80's or early 90's. Knowing the hotel was full due to a major...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell S
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I apologize for the issues you experienced and your comments will help me to correct these issues in the right areas. I am glad to hear that the staff treated you well. Thank you again for your feedback!

Saint Peter, Minnesota
Reviewed 23 June 2015

We traveled to Black Hills and back and this was our last night of the 8 night trip. Payed twice as much for the room as the other 5 hotels and like this one the least. Only came here because other places were full. We were tired and hungry, had a very long wait in the restaurant. Hard to understand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dreamredwing
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments. I will work on the issues you had that I can and we have noted that having the restaurant open earlier and putting the lobby coffee out at 6 instead of our usual 7 for this event is a good idea for next year. Looking at the AC unit in your room to ensure that...

Minnesota
Reviewed 22 June 2015

LOL is all I can think of think of to say about the housekeeping skills of the staff here. My kids could make a bed better than the girls I saw working here. I can't fault these young ladies, they are very young, and I'm not sure my housekeeping skills were any better at that age, but I paid to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JCJake
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I appreciate your detailed comments! I am glad your kids had fun in the pool area, and that you rated the service well. We all care about our guests and try to make everyone feel like family. Thank you for pointing out positives! I am concerned about the condition of your bed and the bathroom. There should never be "leftover"...

Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewed 18 June 2015

This hotel gives pet owners their worst room. T was damp from too wet carpet, the bathroom was dirty and the door was warped. The tub was so old it was black with embedded grime. I paid the same price as every other person checking in, but got a substandard room. Holiday Inn has lost its reputation in this case...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Echograndy4
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your room was not up to our cleanliness standards, I will work with and coach our housekeeping staff to make it right. If I can do anything for you please contact Duane at the hotel. Take care and thank you for the comments, I can't fix things without your feedback!

Red Wing, Minnesota
Reviewed 26 May 2015

We stayed in a room that allowed pets. The curtains and bed spread were stained and the shower was not cleaned prior to our arrival as there was long black hair on the shower walls and by the drain. The location is good and it was the only hotel in town that I could locate that did allow pets. Perhaps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am very sorry about the cleanliness issues you experienced, and thank you for letting me know. I will follow up with the staff who serviced your room and do everything I can to make sure it does not happen again! Glad you were able to bring your pet! We are pet people and are happy to offer pet rooms...

Hillman, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Nicely updated hotel. Smaller, but works for this area .Restaurant Rudy's had good food, but lighting was very dim where I sat, I used my cell phone flashlight app to read the menu. Only thing I didn't care for was a strange smell in stairway>beginning of hallway-some type of combination between musty and bathroom smell??? Very friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjohnsonlindgren
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and I will look into your comments to find out what is the cause. Take care!

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
2.5 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
0.8 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Best Western Alexandria Inn
Best Western Alexandria Inn
#3 of 12 in Alexandria
176 reviews
0.7 km away
Days Inn Alexandria MN
Days Inn Alexandria MN
#11 of 12 in Alexandria
243 reviews
36.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Sauk Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome!The Holiday Inn Alexandria offers a casual resort like atmosphere and is conveniently located at the intersection of I-94 and Hwy 29 South. Our unique setting makes us the ideal destination for the business traveler as well as those looking for a relaxing getaway. We also offer meeting accommodations for up to 400 people.The beautiful community of Alexandria, MN features a landscape lavish with lakes and offers a variety of outdoor activities. The Holiday Inn Alexandria is near several local attractions, golf courses and a stroll through our beautiful downtown is always a treat. Attractions near the hotel include: Carlos Creek Winery, Casey's Amusement Park, Viking Speedway, Runestone Museum, Maritime Museum, Andes Tower Hill with skiing and tubing, 500 miles of snowmobile trails, and a variety of unique Antique Shops. Brought the kids? We offer a large indoor recreation area which includes a swimming pool, whirlpool, wading pool, sauna, fitness center, game room, volleyball court, basketball hoop, hockey nets, pool table, and ping pong.Hard day at work or play? After you ve had a chance to settle into your newly renovated room, join us in Rudy s Redeye Grill; conveniently located inside the hotel, for classic American fare in an Old Chicago style setting. Rudy s has the best steaks in town as well as fabulous sandwiches and pizza.We look forward to your stay here at the Holiday Inn Alexandria where it is always our pleasure to serve you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria

Address: 5637 Highway 29 South, I-94 and Highway 29, Alexandria, MN 56308
Region: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Price Range: €89 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Alexandria staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are traveling without kids, the best room would be at a different property.”
VikingJake, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the first floor due to the lack of an elevator.”
253bretta, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Stay Somewhere Else”
MomRocco, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
“To be near the activities center, you need to choose a room location, or it is a bit of a walk from the hotel wings.”
FrankR_42133, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
“To have a quiet room ask for one away from the pool, but if you are there for the amenities, choose a pool facing room.”
JCJake, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
HolidayInn.com
US$140* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$181
Expedia.comUS$141
TravelocityUS$141
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates