We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Kensington Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kensington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 328: English reviews
Tecumseh, Michigan
Reviewed yesterday NEW

From the time we walked in the door, we were treated very very nice. Our room did not have a microwave, but I'm sure others did. The pool was nice and warm, and the hot tub was great. Exercise room was clean and big. I would recommend this place to anybody.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The rooms were immaculate. The service was very professional and kind. When we discovered the NFL game was being broadcast in a foreign language, the staff was very concerned about fixing this issue for all affected guests. We also were very happy with the water pressure in the shower.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottkV9686EQ
Detroit
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I love this hotel! The champagne on arrival is a lovely touch. The one big bummer of our stay was the alarm that went off several times at night as we were sleeping. This is what prevented me from giving a 5 star review.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 694lizziew
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Kensington Hotel was far and away the right decision for me during my stay in Ann Arbor. The front staff was very accommodating, the bar staff was friendly, the rooms were very well kept... I couldn't have asked for a better stay!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brentfalwell
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is gorgeous, the customer service was not. Walked in to a beautiful champagne display at the front desk while checking in, but was never offered a bubbly (just asked for the credit card). Great Trip Advisor reviews about the champagne welcome but it was not meant to be and didn't feel it was my place to have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

I absolutely love all of the staff members and how wonderful and attentive they are to their guests. They went above and beyond my expectations. We checked in 2 days before Christmas and they even gave my 3 little ones wrapped Christmas presents that were age appropriate. That was so incredibly sweet!!! I will definitely be staying there again. When...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly A
Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was clean and bright. Pool area and exercise facilities more than adequate. Restaurant was closed. Great location. Staff friendly. Have stayed here before and got a great rate. Would recommend anytime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
GrahamHotelSystems, Front Office Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bill C, Thank you for your excellent review of The Kensington Hotel on State Street. We appreciate your lovely compliments towards our rooms, pool, location and friendly staff. We are glad to have your recommendation and look forward to your future visits. Thank you again for your feedback. Kate Shrosbree Front Office Manager

Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at the Kensington Hotel at about 4pm and received obtained a room on the third floor at the end of a wing. The room was cold upon entering it, even the the thermostat was at 70. I turned the thermostat to 72 and we went to Briarwood mall to pass some time until we could go to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry T
GrahamHotelSystems, Front Office Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Larry T, We are very appreciative of all of your feedback on your recent stay with us at The Kensington Hotel on State Street. On behalf of our entire team I apologize for the poor experience you had with us during your stay. If there is anything at all I can do to rectify the situation please let me...

Potomac, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great value, great location, great comfort, and great service. Rooms are well maintained and so quiet for sleeping. Cannot hear showers or any other noises from adjoining rooms. Staff is attentive and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank essgees
GrahamHotelSystems, Front Office Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear essgees, What a wonderful review! We are very glad you have shared your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your compliments on our service and room condition. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kate Shrosbree Front Office Manager

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We normally stay with friends in A2 but will be staying at Kensington from now on when we come to town. We had a very pleasant and relaxing stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the property was also very nice and convenient.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank abelauraham
GrahamHotelSystems, Front Office Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear abelauraham, Thank you for your review of your reservation at The Kensington Hotel on State Street. We strive everyday to exceed our guest expectations and I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay. Next time you are here be sure to bring your friends with you! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
5.2 km away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
0.5 km away
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
#12 of 34 in Ann Arbor
336 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kensington Hotel is the premier destination in Ann Arbor for overnight accommodations, your next meeting, wedding, family gathering or staycation. Conveniently located just of of I-94 and State Street exit near Briarwood Mall. Come enjoy our recently renovated guest rooms and Union! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 3500 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1620 (Formerly Kensington Court)
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Price Range: €98 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kensington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Court Ann Arbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kensington Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Goodyear, Arizona
Detroit, Michigan

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Kensington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room near pool area”
 of 5 bubbles BillC892, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't pick a room on the third floor at the end of a wing when temps are below 60.”
 of 5 bubbles LarryT340, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bathroom could have cleaned better each morning. ”
 of 5 bubbles timothya936, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Concierge floor is an inexpensive and nice upgrade that is worth the cost”
 of 5 bubbles jswATL, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Terribly expensive room rate for a very poor experience. Very disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles SallyB44555, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay