We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kamu Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Kamu Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kamu Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 130: English reviews
Peacham, Vermont
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Took the boat trip from Luang Prabang to Kamu Lodge on a cool December morning and arrived to find I was the only one there for two nights. What a treat! Tog Neng, the local manager who is from the Kamu village that adjoins the lodge property was a gem. The tents are luxurious - with comfortable beds, warm comforters...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie L
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 18 December 2013

So you are going to Luang Prabang. Lucky you! It's hard not to like this gem of a UNESCO World Heritage town. There is plenty to do, even if you just want to shop or spend the morning people-watching and waiting for your baguette to come out of the oven. The best part of my last trip to LP was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PickyInParadise
New Zealand
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have read what everyone else has said and all I can say is that knowing it was an eco lodge it surpassed all my expectations and I wish I had stayed longer. I did not want a hotel room or a sterile, faceless environment and what I got was brilliant. Thank you I have recently stayed at other eco...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank poohtravel
Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We were one English couple along with a 30+ group from France. We were made very welcome and were well looked after by Lee the lodge guide who accompanied us on site experiences. His English and detailed knowledge were exceptional. The food was OK and an effort was made for us not to be sidelined by the big group. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hogbaggy
Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our trip started with a beautiful trip up the Mekong on a large long boat with other guests. Coffee was served. Very civilised and we just sat soaking up the changing scenery and life going on along the banks. Very relaxing and stunningly beautiful. It took nearly 3 hours against the current to get to the lodge and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mabel98
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We spent one night at Kamu Lodge. We were one of only two couples in the property. Platform tents with minimal lighting are arranged along a series of dirt and stone pathways that are poorly lighted at night. The bed covers were soiled and the bathroom had a handheld shower that sprayed the whole room and doubled as the sink...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kathy S
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a really special place about 2 hours upriver of Luang Prabang, right on the Mekong. it's definitely worth staying here if you want peace and quiet and to learn a bit about Lao culture and meet local people. When we arrived by boat we were greeted with fresh green tea and talked through the optional activities during our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anna H, Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang... I would like to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your valuable feedback about your experience at Kamu Lodge. Without a doubt, i am sure that the whole team will be delighted to learn about your satisfaction. Thanking you again, I hope that we will have the chance to...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We did a 2 night stay at Kamu lodge and I think this is probably the perfect amount of time, shorter and you wouldn't really get a feel for the place. I think if you were after a retreat into nature a longer trip might work for you too but for us this was perfect. Our first night at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mellou33
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A good way to get to know rural life in Laos. Lovely jungle setting. Picturesque village and restaurant. They should tell patrons before they book that electricity will be rationed and there is no plug anywhere to recharge a battery or phone or anything. It was ok, but some warning would be better. The guide was excellent, the food plentiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denmelb
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Denmelb, We would like first to thank you for your comment, and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Kamu Lodge. The experience we provide is possible thanks to the Kamu people, and they are the one who make it enjoyable. We thank you again, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I am shocked to read the reviews of this place - think we went somewhere else! I will start by saying we went in the 'rainy season' - not a good idea! The solar power was limited so ... we had no hot water, the lights and fans did not work at the same time and the electricity ran out...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Julie C

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:33
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
21.1 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
231 reviews
20.0 km away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
377 reviews
21.8 km away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#9 of 68 in Luang Prabang
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#11 of 68 in Luang Prabang
323 reviews
19.8 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#4 of 68 in Luang Prabang
729 reviews
21.0 km away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sitting along the Mekong River, Kamu Lodge offers the unique opportunity to experience slow travel with accommodation in our spacious "African Safari" tents, each with a private balcony and thatched roofs. Our tents provide all necessary comforts and great river views. Using only solar power energy at the lodge, rooms have lights, fans and each has an en-suite private bathroom with shower facilities. The experience includes boat transfers to and from Luang Prabang. Step back in time visiting and getting to know the people from the neighboring Kamu Ethnic Minority Village. Activities include the chance to learn traditional crafts from the Kamu people of net fishing, gold panning and to learn with a "hands on" opportunity of rice planting and harvesting. We also offer traditional massages that complement the experience. Enjoy al fresco dining at the lodge's rustic restaurant in the middle of the rice fields. We serve Lao specialties, offering lunch, dinner and breakfast included in the package. There is also a well-stocked bar, offering a delicious selection of drinks and refreshments. Kamu Lodge is in Yoi Hai Village, a 2.5-hour boat ride from Luang Prabang, tour includes a stop at the revered Pak Ou Caves. The 2 day 1 night package departs Luang Prabang daily at 9.00am, returning the following day before 4pm ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kamu Lodge

Address: 44/3 Ban Wat Nong | Kham Kong Rd,, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Price Range: €135 - €308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamu Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kamu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamu Hotel Luang Prabang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kamu Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are tents but very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles malcolmm514, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All tents are in great locations.”
 of 5 bubbles GailD134, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Take a good torch”
 of 5 bubbles StevenL4212, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“All tented accommodation are in similar positions”
 of 5 bubbles 988SteveD, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All the tents seemed to have a view of the Mekong.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolineD967, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay