We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Villa Pumalin

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Villa Pumalin
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Villa Pumalin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 37: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 April 2014

They accomodated the room request far in advance. Last stay at this property was April 2012 and they were very accomodating. Got the same room on this visit. PRO: reliable WiFi with limited bandwidth, breakfast made to order, daily bottles of drinking water, good running water in the showers, awesome location in town center, room 101 very spacious. CON: mosquitoes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KKua
Paris, France
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is the third year in a row that I have stayed at the Pumalin. It may be overpriced (The walk-in rate is certainly overpriced) but it is so conviently located. Many inexpensive guest houses are located up and down the same narrow street and also along the next 3 parallel streets. For people who do not have advance reservations...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hal38
American Canyon, California
Reviewed 15 November 2013

this hotel very nice room for relating for vacation to Asia more beautiful I booked the room by email to make reservation the room 201 for 4 night very large room and balcony to relating the staff in morning very friendly and give me information I would not recommend the rooms 201 Double Bed 1 Big bed i love it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brend dreter c
paris
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We have been there for 3 nights. I would not recommend the rooms at floor level because very low light inside but we had a large room at 1st floor. The room was very comfortable, all wooden with separated shower and WC. The staff is very friendly but I would not recommend that you book any tour with them: we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank solarios
campLuang_prabang, Owner at Villa Pumalin, responded to this review

Dear Valued customer, thank you so much for your generous review. I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We've changed the low lights in the first floor. Thank you for letting us know about that.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I don't submit reviews that aren't 5 star, as I don't like to hurt a business, however in this case I will break my personal rule. Many hotels I stay at simply don't get a review. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! The room was OK, clean, well appointed, good size with very nice verandah. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nzdiver
campLuang_prabang, Owner at Villa Pumalin, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for taking you time to write about your stay in Villa Pumalin. I just would like to apologie for the inconveniences caused when you were staying with us. We had a special traditional blessing party for my new born son. I'm sorry that we could not give you enough care.

Paris, France
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Depending where you stay in Luang Prabang, it can be blissfully quiet or plain noisy. Long before dawn, monks chant and roosters crow. Then motorbikes pass by and construction projects begin. So many new hotels and guest houses are being built that that they are often side-by side, so there can be noise from inconsiderate travelers next door. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hal38
queensland
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Rooms are large and dark because they are all dark wood. Location is really good, one building back from the river and close to food and night markets. Breakfast was basic, but ok. We found it to be very quiet apart for the usual morning roosters! Fairly basic but comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunshinecoastal
Johannesburg
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We booked to stay 4 nights at this guest house but there was some muddle up and when we arrived we were put into a room at the next door guest house with many apologies and a promise of the front room upstairs when we moved in the next day. And so it was. They upgraded us to a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paula M
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this guesthouse,but it did'nt take them that long to open the safe in my room and steal all my cash and credit card,and then be so unhelpful about it,i have an idea who it was,but no proof,all i can say is he worked there,so people,beware, locked safe or not you will be relieved of your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david h
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I was very pleased with my stay here, the staff are friendly, and helpful . The bedroom is spacious and comfortable too, I would recommend this hotel to others . The hotel is situated at a very convenient place , walking distance to the Mekong River, where the restaurants are located. Also the market place is close by.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank B_b767

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 km away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#23 of 69 in Luang Prabang
294 reviews
0.0 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
734 reviews
0.0 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
227 reviews
0.0 km away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
256 reviews
0.0 km away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Villa Pumalin

Address: Ban Hoxieng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Price Range: €41 - €54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Pumalin 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Pumalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pumalin Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Villa Pumalin staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Villa Pumalin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower floor is cooler during hot time of year.”
Travelfan, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Ask for room 101 if you need reliable WiFi. The signals are strongest there.”
KKua, 15 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Don't go there at all.”
Nzdiver, 2 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have a small balcony”
sunshinecoastal, 10 Dec 2012 | Read review
“If u can ask for a front balcony”
61BrianS, 5 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$47
Agoda.com
Priceline
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates