We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Managua Backpackers Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Managua Backpackers Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Managua Backpackers Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

I liked this place, clean had everything you needed to stay and not leave close to supermarckets and the mal, we liked it. Clean big pool nice rooms. Big kitchen tv with Netflix pool was great. We would reccomend this plave to friends

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank billy F
Lahaina
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

No hot water would be a problem if it weren't 98 Degrees OUTSIDE! Cool of in the pool and fell safe while ypu get ready for the rest of you travels 👍 You don't want to spend much ti.e in managua anyway

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justin M
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for few days after been travelling and moving a lot, so needed to rest. I think this is a good hostel, it has a pool and tv with many options of movies and series... Just the kitchen has nothing... I mean, like one knife... Dont remember whatelse but dont expect to cook nothing very exoctic... The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aleconbotas
Mayo7121, Owner at Managua Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your feedback. Since you left this comment, we've taken an inventory of the kitchens (we have 2) and filled in some of the obvious gaps in equipment. We're always open to suggestions for any specific items that our guests may feel are lacking from the kitchens.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Great hostel near the Metrocentro and UCA bus terminal. Wi-Fi was good; I was able to update my blog. The hostel has lockers with chargers in it which is convenient. There are two kitchens but it’s lacking pots and pans, there are only a few. The free, purified, cold water was a bonus. The staff was friendly and were helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VincentCroos
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 11 October 2015

For 30 dollars there was a room with small fan and just one electricity charger. Breakfast costs like a dinner in the restaurant. Bathrooms are dirty and there is a little bit waterfrom tap. Don't stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrey K
Mayo7121, Owner at Managua Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Hi, We're sorry to hear about the poor experience you had during your stay with us. We pride ourselves on offering a secure/clean location at a reasonable price. After seeing your comments, we checked the room and noticed that indeed the pressure was low in the faucet in the sink, which we immediately repaired. We also made some changes to...

Reviewed 2 October 2015

I have mixed feeling about my stay here. On one hand I met great people and had a good night while I was there. On the other hand the staff was rude and the place did not live up to its price or reputation. The pool area seemed nice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NalvarezSF
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

It is not that bad is just to expensive for what you get. I would not get again. The pool was really dirty. There is a guy who walks around since 7 month during this time I guess I didn't have a shower😂

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pascal L
Bastad, Sweden
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

The receptionist stole around 1000 cordobas. I hope he gets fired and that no one will ever stay at this place again. I'm really pissed. Shame on you!! Do not stay here. Apparently you cannot trust all the members of the staff.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Axel L
Mayo7121, Owner at Managua Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

It's truly unfortunate that this happened at our hostel and for that, we feel responsible. In this case, your wallet, which you had apparently left behind in the guest kitchen overnight, was eventually turned in to our reception area by another guest. Luckily your ID was still in the wallet. Its unclear though whether the 1000 Cordobas which was in...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Managua Backpackers Inn has a great courtyard and pool. It is easy to meet people and start conversations. They also offer a tv with netflix which is nice for when it is too hot to go exploring. While they have lockers, they are near the entrance and not in the dorm rooms which is a slight inconvenience. It is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michelle86839
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

I stopped in Managua overnight on route to Granada. It was easy for the taxi driver to find and was a clean place with comfortable beds and a reasonable price. It's also close to a big shopping mall if you need to pick up any supplies. Dorms were very hot so the place could benefit from so more fans (however...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grace W

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
3.0 km away
Hotel Los Cisneros
Hotel Los Cisneros
#48 of 51 in Managua
39 reviews
0.4 km away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
0.8 km away
Hotel El Almendro Managua
Hotel El Almendro Managua
#16 of 51 in Managua
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#3 of 51 in Managua
568 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#10 of 51 in Managua
133 reviews
2.7 km away
Pandora Hostel
Pandora Hostel
#4 of 54 in Managua
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We, the owners and staff, have created Managua Backpackers Inn to serve backpackers and budget travelers of all ages as part of our vision to offer a hostel in Managua that provides the services to support the modern traveler . Whether you're just passing through Managua at the start of your trip or if your planning on spending an extended period of time in Managua, we offer the perfect social environment for the modern traveler. We are open 24 hours/365 days and are centrally located in the heart of the new modern downtown Managua. At 'MBI', we pride ourselves on being the best option for travelers in Managua. We offer a variety of room types including private rooms and dormitories to suit any budget along with FREE WIFI and shared computers. The neighborhood surrounding MBI is very clean and secure allowing guests to explore at any time taking normal safety precautions. We are just a short walk, bus or taxi ride from all major national sights, markets, and transportation terminals. In less than 10 minutes you can walk to the MetroCentro Shopping center, cinemas, parks, casinos, supermarkets, Zona Hippos, and over 50 restaurants, bars, and nightclubs. We also offer two shared fully equipped kitchen, large swimming pool, air conditioning, CCTV cameras in public areas, Netflix movies, 7/24 airport shuttle service (must be booked in advance), FREE Pancake breakfast and much much more. We also have 'Happy Hour Everyday' FREE STUFF includes: -Swimming pool -Wireless high-speed internet -Use of shared kitchen -Netflix access -Filtered drinking water -Secure Lockers -Gas BBQ -Book exchange -All Towels and Bed linens -Use of Shared Computer Our reception staff are all local Nicaraguans and are fully bilingual and will be happy to assist you in either English or Spanish. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Managua Backpackers Inn

Address: Colonial Los Robles, 3era etapa, Casa # 56 | Monte de Los Olivos, 1 cuadra al norte (lago), 1 cuadra al oeste y ½ cuadra al norte (lago), Casa #56, Managua, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Price Range: €9 - €25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Managua Backpackers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Managua Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Managua Backpackers Hotel Managua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Managua Backpackers Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 months ago
Charlottesville, Virginia

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Managua Backpackers Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The night breezes are most relaxing.”
 of 5 bubbles dhobby777, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Bring a lot of mosquito repellent ”
 of 5 bubbles greenie188, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Watch your head! The bottom bunk in our room was a double bed. It has a bent ladder which is helpful for climbing, but I smacked my head on it in the middle of the night. My own fault, totally. Just be aware! ”
 of 5 bubbles jasonxkeller, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“wifi idoes not have a good signal only at the comun areas .”
 of 5 bubbles 634karlac, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“None I had a dorm”
 of 5 bubbles SammyBready, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay